2,534 Brands 453 Categories All Departments
Alpen 20-60x80mm Angled Waterproof Spotting Scope - 45 degree Eyepiece
$489.95 $800.00 Save 39%
Browse by Rating
(9 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Alpen 20-60X80mm 788 angled eyepiece Spotting Scope
I have used the scope primarily as a tool to assist me with long range rifle competition. Being able to see the detail of my rounds hitting the target...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Alpen 20-60x80

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on March 4, 2014
Have it about 2 years. The stand knob did strip but a call the the company and they sent a new one right away. I have two spotters and the Alpen I use @ 200 & 300 yards. You can see clearly but after the 300 yards will be difficult. All in all it works fine. I guess the main con is -- Its big !
...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

What a value

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on February 21, 2014
5 stars you cannot beat this scope for the money,Great for bird watching,dialing in your rifle scope, or hunting. You WILL NOT FIND A BETTER GRADE PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY.Bonus being it is guarenteed for life, What more could you want?
Pros: Quality for price
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

excellent value at a reasonable price

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MA Written on March 24, 2012
I take bird counts for Audubon and bring this scope into the woods to stations along a cranberry marsh. It is easy to transport and a full size tripod also fits into the carrying bag. It has made identifying ducks a lot easier.
Pros: clarity, ease of zoom and adjustment, weight
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Alpen Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MN Written on June 8, 2011
The trade off was brightness VS size. You can't have both. Very little chromatic aberration, only evident at full zoom. Love the way the eye cup rotates easily for a quick distance change for those with glasses. This feature appears as though it will hold up to frequent use. The scope is overall far better than what I expected for the bargain price. It compares favorably to far more expensive scopes I have used. High enough quality for any birder.I intend to travel with this scope and appreciate the provided soft case. The little tripod is well made but useless for a birder but target shooters will be pleased with how well the tripod is made, not a cheap extra piece of junk. Ordering was easy and the scope arrived early. Pleasure doing business.
Pros: Bright, sharp, well made, close focus, great eye cup.
Cons: It's large...
Would recommend: Yes
12 of 12 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Alpen spotting scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MA Written on January 18, 2011
The quality and sharpness is excellent.Great value
Pros: clarity
Cons: wish the focus knob was a bit larger...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Not for eyeglass wearers.

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, LA Written on June 17, 2010
Purchased for long range shooting and target viewing. Compared with a similar Bushnell model. Both claimed to have extended eye relief. Both unusable with glasses above 20X power. Other than the eye relief/glasses issue, good optics and build quality for the money.
Pros: Optical clarity, build quality
Cons: Poor eye relief above 20 X power...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Alpen 788 spotting scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MI Written on January 14, 2010
all in all I am fairly pleased with it. It is definitely better than another brand of scope in the same price range that I had.
Pros: solid, easy to set up and use
Cons: poor eye relief at high power, some distortion at edges of image....
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Alpen 20-60x80 Waterproof angled spotting scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, TX Written on May 22, 2009
Use at the range for 100yd targets;plenty of clear magnification to see every bullet strike.Tripod handles this large scope and has nice adjustment features.Sturdy soft field case with shoulder strap makes it easy to carry when you also have other equip.
Pros: good optics,even at high mag,,smple but sturdy tripod
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
10 of 11 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Alpen 20-60X80mm 788 angled eyepiece Spotting Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on July 24, 2007
I have used the scope primarily as a tool to assist me with long range rifle competition. Being able to see the detail of my rounds hitting the target helps me to adjust for windage and elevation. The same also applies to scoring other competitors.

I have compared my scope to others that are twice as expensive and found that this scope meets my needs satisfactorily from 50 to 600 yards.

In using the scope in competition shooting the use of an adjustable mount that does not impede my positioning is important therefore I do use a different type of tripod than the one that came with the scope. The angled eyepiece allows me to view the targets without getting out of position which is critical in this type of shooting.
Pros: clarity is great, magnification meets my expectations, field of view is excellent
Cons: Mirage sometimes affects viewing at high temperatures and extended range, Parallax affects view just a bit but is not significant...
Would recommend: Yes
66 of 70 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 9 User Reviews of Alpen 20-60x80mm Angled Waterproof Spotting Scope - 45 degree Eyepiece