2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
788 Alpen 20-60x80mm Angled Waterproof Spotting Scope - 45 Degree Eyepiece, Nylon Case, Portable 12in Swivel-Head Tripod is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Alpen 20-60x80mm Angled Waterproof Spotting Scope - 45 Degree Eyepiece, Nylon Case, Portable 12in Swivel-Head Tripod and other Spotting Scopes by Alpen.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.6 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.9 / 5
Usability 4.3 / 5
Features 4.7 / 5
Value for your money 4.7 / 5
Meets expectations 4.2 / 5

Alpen 20-60x80mm Angled Waterproof Spotting Scope - 45 Degree Eyepiece, Nylon Case, Portable 12in Swivel-Head Tripod Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 9 out of 9

Alpen 20-60x80

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Pa.Bill (verified customer) , In the shooting sport for 37 years., from Biglerville on Mar 4, 2014
Would recommend:  yes

Pa.Bill wrote:

Have it about 2 years. The stand knob did strip but a call the the company and they sent a new one right away. I have two spotters and the Alpen I use @ 200 & 300 yards. You can see clearly but after the 300 yards will be difficult. All in all it works fine. I guess the main con is -- Its big !

Was Pa.Bill's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

What a value

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: tom jasmin from houston on Feb 21, 2014
Pros:  Quality for price
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

tom jasmin wrote:

5 stars you cannot beat this scope for the money,Great for bird watching,dialing in your rifle scope, or hunting. You WILL NOT FIND A BETTER GRADE PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY.Bonus being it is guarenteed for life, What more could you want?

Was tom jasmin's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

excellent value at a reasonable price

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: John Zmud (verified customer) , retired teacher; angler, from Onset, MA on Mar 24, 2012
Pros:  clarity, ease of zoom and adjustment, weight
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

John Zmud wrote:

I take bird counts for Audubon and bring this scope into the woods to stations along a cranberry marsh. It is easy to transport and a full size tripod also fits into the carrying bag. It has made identifying ducks a lot easier.

Was John Zmud's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

Alpen Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Birder (verified customer) , I am a photographer and appreciate good optics., from Mpls, MN on Jun 8, 2011
Pros:  Bright, sharp, well made, close focus, great eye cup.
Cons:  It's large
Would recommend:  yes

Birder wrote:

The trade off was brightness VS size. You can't have both. Very little chromatic aberration, only evident at full zoom. Love the way the eye cup rotates easily for a quick distance change for those with glasses. This feature appears as though it will hold up to frequent use. The scope is overall far better than what I expected for the bargain price. It compares favorably to far more expensive scopes I have used. High enough quality for any birder.I intend to travel with this scope and appreciate the provided soft case. The little tripod is well made but useless for a birder but target shooters will be pleased with how well the tripod is made, not a cheap extra piece of junk. Ordering was easy and the scope arrived early. Pleasure doing business.

Was Birder's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 11   not helpful: 0

Alpen spotting scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: P. Greenwood (verified customer) , birder, from Harwich, Ma on Jan 18, 2011
Pros:  clarity
Cons:  wish the focus knob was a bit larger
Would recommend:  yes

P. Greenwood wrote:

The quality and sharpness is excellent.Great value

Was P. Greenwood's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Not for eyeglass wearers.

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: John (verified customer) , Long time shooter, from Amite, LA on Jun 17, 2010
Pros:  Optical clarity, build quality
Cons:  Poor eye relief above 20 X power
Would recommend:  yes

John wrote:

Purchased for long range shooting and target viewing. Compared with a similar Bushnell model. Both claimed to have extended eye relief. Both unusable with glasses above 20X power. Other than the eye relief/glasses issue, good optics and build quality for the money.

Was John's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Alpen 788 spotting scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: rt (verified customer) , long time shooter/ hunter, from shelby, mi. on Jan 14, 2010
Pros:  solid, easy to set up and use
Cons:  poor eye relief at high power, some distortion at edges of image.
Would recommend:  yes

rt wrote:

all in all I am fairly pleased with it. It is definitely better than another brand of scope in the same price range that I had.

Was rt's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Alpen 20-60x80 Waterproof angled spotting scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Rusty C. (verified customer) from Dripping Springs,TX on May 22, 2009
Pros:  good optics,even at high mag,,smple but sturdy tripod
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

Rusty C. wrote:

Use at the range for 100yd targets;plenty of clear magnification to see every bullet strike.Tripod handles this large scope and has nice adjustment features.Sturdy soft field case with shoulder strap makes it easy to carry when you also have other equip.

Was Rusty C.'s review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 9   not helpful: 1

Alpen 20-60X80mm 788 angled eyepiece Spotting Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Dr. Thomas C. Hewett (verified customer) , One of my hobbies is high power shooting, the hobby that requires the use of precision spotting scopes. I am a college professor and teach marketing management., from Marietta, Georgia on Jul 24, 2007
Pros:  clarity is great, magnification meets my expectations, field of view is excellent
Cons:  Mirage sometimes affects viewing at high temperatures and extended range, Parallax affects view just a bit but is not significant
Would recommend:  yes

Dr. Thomas C. Hewett wrote:

I have used the scope primarily as a tool to assist me with long range rifle competition. Being able to see the detail of my rounds hitting the target helps me to adjust for windage and elevation. The same also applies to scoring other competitors. I have compared my scope to others that are twice as expensive and found that this scope meets my needs satisfactorily from 50 to 600 yards. In using the scope in competition shooting the use of an adjustable mount that does not impede my positioning is important therefore I do use a different type of tripod than the one that came with the scope. The angled eyepiece allows me to view the targets without getting out of position which is critical in this type of shooting.

Was Dr. Thomas C. Hewett's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 64   not helpful: 3

Reviews - Alpen 20-60x80mm Angled Waterproof Spotting Scope - 45 Degree Eyepiece, Nylon Case, Portable 12in Swivel-Head Tripod - UPC: 637148107881