2,400 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
GEN1M Armasight OPMOD GEN1M 1.0 Limited Edition Gen 1 Night Vision Monocular is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Armasight OPMOD GEN1M 1.0 Limited Edition Gen 1 Night Vision Monocular and other Night Vision by OPMOD.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.5 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.9 / 5
Usability 4.5 / 5
Features 4.3 / 5
Value for your money 4.6 / 5
Meets expectations 4.5 / 5

Armasight OPMOD GEN1M 1.0 Limited Edition Gen 1 Night Vision Monocular Review - Page 2 - Reviews from 11 to 20 out of 20

armasight OPMOD vega

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: bacon from denver ,CO on Jan 25, 2013
Pros:  durable construction, very clear image
Cons:  IR LED is so visible you can be located
Would recommend:  yes

bacon wrote:

after i opened the box i was amazed on its weight, it is so light that you will almost forgot you have them on when folded. very clear resolution, i tested it on 3/4 moon and i dont need to switch on the IR. the head mount is very sturdy and it folds up to a two position flip upwards, focusing the lenses are so easy, i just dont like its IR, coz cherry glow is too bright you can be easily detected. i just hope its IPX4 rating will work coz i cant see any O-rings on its battery compartment.

Was bacon's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

NZ hunter

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Grantf (verified customer) from NZ on Jan 17, 2013
Pros:  Easy to use, light and rugged. Comfortable head set
Cons:  Nothing major except could do with a bigger IR illuminator
Would recommend:  yes

Grantf wrote:

Very good NVG for the price. I am ex military and used to gen 2 gear but for gen 1 this is very good. I use it with an IR spotlight for hunting at night and I can clearly see 3 - 400m with it. I think it needs a better close range illuminator but other than that its great

Was Grantf's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Great GEN 1 Night Vision for the Price

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: justcoolin05 (verified customer) , Gadget Collector, from Scotia NY on Jan 14, 2013
Pros:  Absolutely Great Resolution for a GEN 1 Device for the Price
Cons:  Rubber eye cup could be better designed to conform to your eye contour more closely like the AN/PVS-14
Would recommend:  yes

justcoolin05 wrote:

This Armasight OPMOD GEN1M is a great NVD for a very fair price. At under $300 you can't go wrong with this device. Obviously it is not on pair with GEN2 or 3, but extremely clear for a GEN 1. In close pitch black rooms the built in IR illuminator does a great job of brighting the area up. Failr compact for being a commercial GEN 1 and light weight. The head mount can be adjusted to fit comfortably and snuggly on the head to support the monocular. The rubber eye cup could be better shaped to fit more snug around the eye area like the AN PVS-14. I have used military NVD's, and as this is not on the same level as those NVD's, it is an 1/8 of the price and great quality. There is little to no distortion and limited fisheye effect. This NVD come highly recommended for the price. Great for various uses.

Was justcoolin05's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Very good value for the money

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: andy909 (verified customer) , Andy from VA, from fairfax, va on Jan 13, 2013
Pros:  Very good for the price
Cons:  visable red dot for the infrared light
Would recommend:  yes

andy909 wrote:

Very good value for the price. Off course it is not as clear as a 2nd generation, but I don't want to spend $2000 on a night vision.

Was andy909's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

OPMOD GEN1M 1.0 Limited Edition an Excellent Value

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Dalem (verified customer) , College Graduate with BS in IT from Lamar University. , from Beaumont Texas on Dec 22, 2012
Pros:  Very nice monocular and excellent headgear - Money well spent
Cons:  Field of View is rather small and there is a little Fish Eye effect
Would recommend:  yes

Dalem wrote:

I had almost no experience with night vision when I started shopping to do some wildlife observation. I decided on the Vega because I liked what I heard on the Planet Optics video and all the reviews were good. I feel like I made a wise choice as this unit could have sold for at least $400 with such a nice headset and monocular. It is a nice set!I am planning to add the Armasight IR 810 Illuminator to reach out a little further. I am waiting on some moonlight to test the unit in stealth mode without using the Illuminator.

Was Dalem's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Good entry level

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Sgt brad from Somervile, Alabama on Dec 3, 2012
Pros:  Great head gear
Cons:  Typical gen 1fish eye limited fov
Would recommend:  yes

Sgt brad wrote:

Fairly lightweight with a great head mount. Limited gain without ir illumination. I got them on sale for 225.00 shipped. Hard to beat at that price. Yep gen 2 is better, but difficult to justify 5-6x the price unless your life depends on it. I think it's the best deal going on entry level nv. Thanks optics planet.

Was Sgt brad's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Armasight Opmod Gen 1 w/ Headgear

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Skey (verified customer) from Seattle, WA on Nov 30, 2012
Pros:  Fantastic Tube for a Gen 1
Cons:  I/R Illuminator looks like Visible Red LED on front.
Would recommend:  yes

Skey wrote:

I was quite surprised at the quality of the tube. It had very little to no edge distortion. The unit has the usual Gen 1 noise in the image but with the clarity of the tube it was a non-factor. It did not blow up (over drive)the image on background distant light, and it actually stayed pretty focused in the 15 to 40 meter range without re-focusing. For a Gen 1 the unit has very nice contrast between no and limited light areas. It is just short of my Litton M845(Gen 2+)to 50 meters in its ability to see unlit shadowed areas. The unit was tested at less than 1/4, moon in a rural area. The illuminator, although visible from the front, does a great job of lighting things up to about 40 meters. The illumination area is about 8 feet wide at 25 meters. Not to shabby. Considering it comes with the headgear, the unit is really a great deal for the price. NOTE: This is based on the unit I received.

Was Skey's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

A really, really great mono

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: ushawk1 from Caddo Mills, TX on Oct 2, 2012
Pros:  Price, quality, clarity
Cons:  headgear uncomfortable, limited FOV
Would recommend:  yes

ushawk1 wrote:

I have never used a Gen 1 and wasn't sure what to expect. I have used the latest the military has to offer, and I didn't get my hopes up for a cheap scope. I was shocked at its performance. It isn't going to rival anything the Army uses, but I have used PVS-7's that were worse than this Vega. Everything is sharp and clear. The fish-eye isn't that bad and there isn't any junk floating around. I am pretty sure I got a good tube! I tested it during a half moon with some hazy clouds. The night was lit up in a clear green hue. The IR works well in any place where there is no light. I tested it in my big walk in closet. Zero light gets in there, and without IR on I couldn't see anything. The IR made the whole room clear. For hiking at night, hunting trips, raiding barns, and any other night chore these hit the spot. My two main complaints are the headgear and very narrow FOV. The narrow FOV is probably inherent to the design of this monocular as I have used other monoculars with a way wider FOV. ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was ushawk1's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 16   not helpful: 0

Armasight OPMOD GEN1M

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: RobertC (verified customer) , Outdoorsmen with technical background., from Lakewood, CO on Sep 1, 2012
Pros:  Great features and usability
Cons:  Quality and support
Would recommend:  yes

RobertC wrote:

The Monocle performs well in low light and in closed spaces with the provided IR light. Operation is simple, one press of the button and the unit comes on, a second press and the IR light comes on and a third and both shut off. The head mount functions, with the flexibility to mount in front of either eye and flip the unit so the button is in your preferred position. I had 2 initial issues, the first; the unit won't mount to a 'standard' tripod as the mounts aren't threaded. The second issue was with the battery compartment, when using rechargeable batteries, RCR123a, the batteries won't make contact when the cap is closed tight. A word of warning; the case is held together by screwing the front lens to the image sensor, adjusting the focus can, and did, open the case. Some accessories would be nice, such as different eye piece and tripod mount, on the Armasight website it's impossible to know what would work with this model.

Was RobertC's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 14   not helpful: 1

Review

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: irsqu911 from Nebraska on Jul 25, 2012
Pros:  Outstanding Headgear
Would recommend:  yes

irsqu911 wrote:

I purchased two sets of these monoculars for myself and my family to use while watching animals along our river. Personally I have not used night vision for about 20 years while in the military and am going from what I remember. First, very fast shipping and product arrived as described. The headsets are outstanding, feel heavy duty and near military grade I believe. NEAR as the chinstrap is the weak link with a shorter velcro holder. However, that can be overlooked because the rest of the headset is outstanding, easy to use, seats tight, adjustment knobs are tight, firm and hold in place very well. The Monoculars themselves: My family (kids and wife) think they are outstanding and put on at least 10 hours in a week of testing. As for myself, I have to remind myself they are first gen. One tube is what I believe is above standard with a crisp sight out to about 50-75 yards and good IR light. The second tube is not as good. I am unable to obtain an as crisp picture and the IR light ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was irsqu911's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 26   not helpful: 1

Reviews - Page 2 - Armasight OPMOD GEN1M 1.0 Limited Edition Gen 1 Night Vision Monocular - UPC: 818470015109