Products
2,519 Brands 483 Categories All Departments
Barska Blueline 10x40 Close Focus Monocular AA10320
Browse by Rating
(12 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Finally, an affordable LER monocular
Glasses-wearers and anyone who needs to wear protective eyewear have tradit...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review Good concept let down by poor optics
I tested this scope extensively during day and night conditions, and althou...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Barska for glasses wearers

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on February 24, 2012
As a tri-focal glasses wearer I wanted a monocular that would be like my rifle scope for checking out the heads of deer for antlers. I found the barska 10 x 40 mono to be just the thing. Lenses are very clear and do the job admirably.
Pros: works great while wearing transitiona tri-focal glasses
Cons: none that I can see...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good concept let down by poor optics

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on December 20, 2010
I tested this scope extensively during day and night conditions, and although I really liked the concept of a 10x42 monocular, the optics were not good enough. A large area around the circumference of the lenses is not ground and polished sufficiently, leaving objects out of focus. The central optics area is of average to low quality.

In my opinion, the scope I received had around 7 or 8 x magnification - not 10 x as stated on the scope. I compared it to several other scopes and binoculars, and I am quite certain that actual magnification was lower than stated.

The focus ring can be turned beyond infinity - not a good idea. The focus ring is also quite hard to turn, although movement is smooth. It is often difficult to determine whether the scope is in focus or not.

Will someone make a version of this scope with first-class optics, please?
Pros: 42 mm lens, 10x magnification = great idea.
Cons: Unacceptable optical quality...
Would recommend: No
8 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great 10x40 monoscope, clear, easy to use

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on February 5, 2010
great scope that was clear and easy to use. Was great for seeing target .223 bullets holes up to 50 yards but not at 100 yards. I am so please with it I am going to look at a higher magnification scope of this brand for my other needs.,
Pros: price, view quality, good constuction,...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

good optics; poor details

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on January 30, 2010
This monocular works well well for me and I'm generally pleased with its mechanical and optical characteristics.

But the printing on the monocular is shoddy and almost appears to have been "smudged'' while wet. The nylon case reflects poor workmanship and doesn't close neatly.
Pros: solid optics
Cons: details a little shoddy...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Barska Blueline 10x40 Monocular

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, PA Written on November 25, 2009
Someone reviewed this product and said that 40mm was the smallest objective he'd recommend for a monocular. I concur. Purchasing a monocular is a compromise vs binoculars but if you understand that going in you will not be disappointed with this product. It's light and portable. The lenses are clear enough and focus pretty well. I hunt in PA so lots of woods but this item does allow one to look "inside" a treeline to see what might be hiding therein. I had something loose rolling around inside the mono tube which while not pleasing did not affect the optics. Overall pretty decent quality for $50.
Pros: Light
Cons: It's a monocular!...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Best Monocular for the Price

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, NY Written on February 19, 2009
Compared to other monoculars (NC Star & Brunton), this Barska Monocular is by far the best. It has a huge 40mm objective lense and 10X power. I prefer using this monocular over binoculars for hunting due to its size and light weight, magnification, and FOV. The only thing better would if it had a variable zoom like 4-12X. Sometimes trying to find a bird in a tree at 10X is a bit difficult. Overall great monocular for the price. Nice job Barksa!
Pros: Large Objective Lense
Cons: No variable zoom...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

basic, affordable

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on March 3, 2008
quality at a low price. fast shipping!...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Surprisingly good

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, OK Written on February 6, 2008
This is a good piece of glass (plastic?) for the price and surprisingly clear. I haven't noticed any spherical aberration in the image. It is a little darker than I expected for a 40mm objective but it may just be tinting from the coatings. You have to find the 'sweet spot' to eliminate the chromatic aberration around the edges of dark objects against a bright background (or vice verse) - but at least the 'sweet spot' is there. There is just enough fuzziness that you can't read street signs at 600 yards but you unless you're TRYING to read street signs at 600 yards you'd never notice. This may sound pretty critical but I'm really just nit-picking, I'm actually impressed with this optic. Overall it seems to be good quality, time will tell if it stands up in the field. Surprisingly good for the price and definitely worth it.
Pros: decent optics, (relatively) compact, solid, seems to be well made, smooth mechanism, focuses close as claimed
Cons: not quite as bright as you'd expect from 40mm coated objective lens, ever so slightly out of focus at long range, need to find the 'sweet spot' for best viewing...
Would recommend: Yes
13 of 13 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Worthy Monocular

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, PA Written on December 19, 2007
Very clear scope, easy to use, but not water proof. Sometimes will not focus at advertised 7 feet distance. Best monocular for the money though.
Pros: Price, ease of use, clarity
Cons: Not water proof, sometimes won't focus at 7 feet....
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Barska monocular for stargazine

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on July 25, 2007
I have only one good eye, so binoculars don't help me, and this monocular had good power, and was light and easy to use.
Pros: lightweight, inexpensive, fairly good optics...
Would recommend: Yes
8 of 10 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 12 User Reviews of Barska Blueline 10x40 Close Focus Monocular AA10320