2,380 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
AE10100 Barska 40070, 88x 70mm Compact Refractor Telescope, w/ Tripod & Carrying Case - AE10100 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Barska 40070, 88x 70mm Compact Refractor Telescope, w/ Tripod & Carrying Case - AE10100 and other Telescopes by Barska.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.3 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.2 / 5
Usability 3.9 / 5
Features 3.9 / 5
Value for your money 4.3 / 5
Meets expectations 4.1 / 5

Barska 40070, 88x 70mm Compact Refractor Telescope, w/ Tripod & Carrying Case - AE10100 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 9 out of 9

owner

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:2 / 5
Features:2 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: william from CA on May 4, 2012
Would recommend:  no

william wrote:

Not so good.........I do not recommend this item.

Was william's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 23

Good Travelling Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Peter Tos (verified customer) , Sky & Bird watcher, from Oregon on Jun 27, 2011
Would recommend:  yes

Peter Tos wrote:

Great Traveling scope. Compact & yet you get a 70mm Objectives. The magnification is useful up to 100X with minimal chromatic aberation. Good sight seeing scope as compact & portable

Was Peter Tos's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 2

Great starter pack of spotting scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Tai (verified customer) , Pro Astronomer, from Singapore on Apr 23, 2011
Pros:  Large aperature, clear image
Cons:  tripod was... ? unuseful
Would recommend:  yes

Tai wrote:

This scope is great. Fully coated optics. I can use up to 100X magnification, seeing birds from as far away as 1km. Watching saturn ring with this is good but the tripod is giving problem... it can't be adjusted to view zenith object plus it's 45 degree prism will break your neck, but hey anyway it is a just a spotting scope. If you ask me, it worth every penny to buy. Best of regards to opticplanets team for providing such a wonderful service to all it;s customer.

Was Tai's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 11   not helpful: 1

Compact & yet powerful scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Sebastian (verified customer) , Casual Sky & Bird watcher, from Malaysia on Jan 10, 2011
Pros:  Good light gathering capacity, can use high magnifications
Cons:  Image appears soft
Would recommend:  yes

Sebastian wrote:

This is a good scope. Compact & portable. Chromatic aberration presence, but minimal. Useful magnification should be around 100X, without significant image darkening. I can see cloud bands of Jupiter, Saturn's ring, Orion nebula & much more with this telescope (But of course, you need basic astronomy knowledge to see all this) Worth the buy for this price. If they include a full sized tripod would be nicer. I you want to use with star diagonal, you can only reach focus with pulling out the diagonal & eyepiece a bit, so that I can reach the focal point.

Was Sebastian's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 1

Barska Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: rayclarkk (verified customer) from Franklin, OH on Aug 10, 2010
Pros:  Very clear, easy to use/set-up
Cons:  Tripod is a little light for the scope
Would recommend:  yes

rayclarkk wrote:

The unit that I received is actually a 100x and not 88x as it has a 20mm and a 4mm lens. Also it comes with a 3x Barlow lens instead of the advertised 2x one. I'm having a ball with mine as it does everything I expected it to do. Thanks

Was rayclarkk's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 1

Great Telescope for a Beginer

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Robert Manznailla from North Hollywood, CA on Mar 15, 2010
Pros:  Inexpensive and easy to set up. Good clarity.
Cons:  The tripod is limited due to size, but very portable.
Would recommend:  yes

Robert Manznailla wrote:

Great value. This is my first telescope, so I have no basis for comparison. But this thing does not disappoint. Looking at the moon through this is amazing.

Was Robert Manznailla's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Ummmmm...... okay

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:2 / 5
Features:1 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: LoveitAll from Ny,Ny on Jan 12, 2010
Would recommend:  yes

LoveitAll wrote:

Wow i was expecting much better and did not get what I wanted, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! Shaky and very hard for vertical viewing only works along the horizon. Extremely Dissapointed.

Was LoveitAll's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 7

Fantastic !

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: JHD (verified customer) , 64 yr old male college security officer, from Albia Iowa on Jul 16, 2008
Pros:  has more features than are advertised
Cons:  the 4mm fl eyepiece is not very worthwhile
Would recommend:  yes

JHD wrote:

I'm very satisfied with this scope.It looks and feels like a quality piece of equipment, and does a great job for its size and price . I have a 6 inch newtonian and this little 70mm scope is going to be a real good side-kick and competitor for it.

Was JHD's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 12   not helpful: 1

Barska 40070, 88x Compact Refractor Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Aborigen (verified customer) from WI on Nov 28, 2007
Pros:  Good entry level telescope, easy to setup and operate
Cons:  Lousy eyespieces - short eye relief
Would recommend:  yes

Aborigen wrote:

The telescope is just what it is - an entry level, inexpensive. Investing $40 to $80 in a Super Plossel eyepiece improves the performance many times over. What is impressive about Oprics Planet is their Customer Service - the greatest I've seen in years. Fast, accurate, responsive to all your inquires and problems. Thank you, Optics Planet!

Was Aborigen's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 22   not helpful: 2

Reviews - Barska 40070, 88x 70mm Compact Refractor Telescope, w/ Tripod & Carrying Case - AE10100 - UPC: 790272824144