2,509 Brands 452 Categories All Departments
Barska 40070, 88x Compact Refractor Telescope, 400mm x 70mm Telescope w/ Table Top Tripod & Carrying Case - AE10100
$86.49 $142.90 Save 39%
Average Customer Review (8 reviews)
Share your thought Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Barska 40070, 88x Compact Refractor Telescope
The telescope is just what it is - an entry level, inexpensive. Investing $40 to $80 in a Super Plossel eyepiece improves the performance many times ...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Great Little scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on December 16, 2011
This is a great small telescope. Good for travel, have reasonable magnification up to 100X. Should have included better eyepiece for greater Viewing
Pros: Good Optics
Cons: Should have better tripod, include better eyepiece...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Scope at a Bargain

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on September 1, 2011
Great optics. Fully Coated 70mm Achromatic objective give bright & sharp image up to 100X. These unit includeds a 20mm Coated Kneller eyepiece & 4mm Symmetrical Ramsen (SR) eyepiece with 3X Barlow. For this price, great optics & power definately
Pros: Great optics
Cons: Maybe need bigger tripod...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good Travelling Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on June 27, 2011
Great Traveling scope. Compact & yet you get a 70mm Objectives. The magnification is useful up to 100X with minimal chromatic aberation. Good sight seeing scope as compact & portable...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great starter pack of spotting scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on April 23, 2011
This scope is great. Fully coated optics. I can use up to 100X magnification, seeing birds from as far away as 1km. Watching saturn ring with this is good but the tripod is giving problem... it can't be adjusted to view zenith object plus it's 45 degree prism will break your neck, but hey anyway it is a just a spotting scope. If you ask me, it worth every penny to buy. Best of regards to opticplanets team for providing such a wonderful service to all it;s customer.
Pros: Large aperature, clear image
Cons: tripod was... ? unuseful...
Would recommend: Yes
11 of 12 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Compact & yet powerful scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on January 10, 2011
This is a good scope. Compact & portable. Chromatic aberration presence, but minimal. Useful magnification should be around 100X, without significant image darkening. I can see cloud bands of Jupiter, Saturn's ring, Orion nebula & much more with this telescope (But of course, you need basic astronomy knowledge to see all this) Worth the buy for this price. If they include a full sized tripod would be nicer. I you want to use with star diagonal, you can only reach focus with pulling out the diagonal & eyepiece a bit, so that I can reach the focal point.
Pros: Good light gathering capacity, can use high magnifications
Cons: Image appears soft...
Would recommend: Yes
9 of 10 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Barska Telescope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, OH Written on August 10, 2010
The unit that I received is actually a 100x and not 88x as it has a 20mm and a 4mm lens. Also it comes with a 3x Barlow lens instead of the advertised 2x one.
I'm having a ball with mine as it does everything I expected it to do.
Thanks

Pros: Very clear, easy to use/set-up
Cons: Tripod is a little light for the scope...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Fantastic !

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on July 16, 2008
I'm very satisfied with this scope.It looks and feels like a quality piece of equipment, and does a great job for its size and price . I have a 6 inch newtonian and this little 70mm scope is going to be a real good side-kick and competitor for it.
Pros: has more features than are advertised
Cons: the 4mm fl eyepiece is not very worthwhile...
Would recommend: Yes
12 of 13 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Barska 40070, 88x Compact Refractor Telescope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, WI Written on November 28, 2007
The telescope is just what it is - an entry level, inexpensive.
Investing $40 to $80 in a Super Plossel eyepiece improves the performance many times over.
What is impressive about Oprics Planet is their Customer Service - the greatest I've seen in years. Fast, accurate, responsive to all your inquires and problems.
Thank you, Optics Planet!
Pros: Good entry level telescope, easy to setup and operate
Cons: Lousy eyespieces - short eye relief...
Would recommend: Yes
22 of 25 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Barska 40070, 88x Compact Refractor Telescope, 400mm x 70mm Telescope w/ Table Top Tripod & Carrying Case - AE10100 Product Reviews Comments