2,540 Brands 452 Categories All Departments
BSA Optics Matte Black Sweet 17 6-18X40 w/Side Focus/Standard Duplex Reticle S17-618X40SP
$157.49 $209.95 Save 25%
Browse by Rating
(8 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Excellent Scope for the Money!
I own a Leupold Mark 4 8.5-25x50mm LR/T M1 Illum. Reticle mounted on a Barrett Model 95 50BMG and a Nikon Monarch 5-20x44SF mounted on a Savage 300 Wi...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

NOT AS EXPECTED

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on January 10, 2014
I know bsa aren't the best scopes available because I have 3 of them. But this sweet 17 6-18x is very flimsy feeling. If you want target turrets do NOT get this scope. These turrets don't lock, take very little effort to adjust, and stick way out which makes them prone to losing zero. spend another $100 on a weaver is what I've learned. You wont need 18x with a weaver cause the optical quality is far superior to bsa. I did not even see how accurate the calibrated turrets were cause after mounting the scope I tried to find something good about the scope, but just couldn't. So I have boxed up the scope and will be exchanging for the weaver classic rimfire for my savage 93 17hmr.
Pros: calibrated elevation turret for 17 hmr
Cons: turrets do not lock and stick out which makes them very prone to losing zero...
Would recommend: No
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

BSA Sweet 17 6x18

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, IN Written on July 23, 2013
I haven't put it through its paces yet, but I went to the range and was put up dime size groupings at 42 ft. with a Savage Arm 93r17 rifle. Can't wait to stretch it out to 100yds to see what it really does.
Pros: Quality of materials that make the scope are good, simple instructions,
Cons: A little hazy at max magnifcation...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Decent rimfire scope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, PA Written on July 13, 2011
This is a fairly good little scope, I have it on my high end 22 mag rifle and I find the range settings to almost match up very close out to 200yds, only issue is that the clarity past 150yds isn't the best, you may want to consider looking at Barska varmint scopes or rimfire scopes for the price but I cant confirm the quality of those.
Pros: low price, decent quality
Cons: Not so clear past 150yds...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Lots of squinting

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on January 7, 2011
I have not tried this scope out past 100 yards yet.
The optics are fairly bright.
The problem is that you need to have your eye positioned PERFECTLY when shooting. There is very little variance when acquiring the target which means a lot of squinting, at least in my case.
Pros: Price
Cons: Eye relief...
Would recommend: No
2 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

BSA Sweet 17

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on June 7, 2010
The Savage Model 93 would not take off-the-shelf scope mounts.....make sure you by Savage mounts.
Pros: value packed
Cons: finicky about mounts on the Savage model 9e...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

REALLY SWEET 17 BSA SCOPE

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NC Written on January 22, 2010
Vast improvement over original model(see pros).
Since I shoot both 17 and 20 grain ammo this scope offers almost instant flexibility.
The design improvements make this new model a must have for your 17.
I used a silver sharpie pen to accent the little pointers on the turret bodies so I could see the adjustment point.
Great value for the price.
Pros: Super Upgrades & clarity
Cons: Hard to see turret adjustments without touch up....
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Excellent Scope for the Money!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on December 17, 2009
I own a Leupold Mark 4 8.5-25x50mm LR/T M1 Illum. Reticle mounted on a Barrett Model 95 50BMG and a Nikon Monarch 5-20x44SF mounted on a Savage 300 Win Mag. an have used many other scopes over the years and this BSA is impressive for the money, its mounted on a Savage 93R17BTVS, ROYAL JACARANDA LAMINATE stock. And as advertised on the scope it is a Sweet 17! 5 shot group smaller then a dime at 50yds, smaller then a quarter at 100yds. BSA scope dialed right in with no issues and the turrets are accurate, only tested to 150 yds so far.
Pros: Very clear optics, excellent eye relief even on 18X power
Cons: Have not found any yet?...
Would recommend: Yes
14 of 16 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

best scope for the money

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on May 25, 2009
The only draw back is the 1/4" MOA instead of 1/8". But what would you expect for such a low price. I would give it "TWO THUMBS UP"!
Pros: trajectory compensation is great
Cons: 1/4" moa instead of 1/8"...
Would recommend: Yes
10 of 13 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 8 User Reviews of BSA Optics Matte Black Sweet 17 6-18X40 w/Side Focus/Standard Duplex Reticle S17-618X40SP