2,462 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
785000 Bushnell ARES 5in Compact Truss Tube Dobsonian Exclusive Edition Telescope, Black, New is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Bushnell ARES 5in Compact Truss Tube Dobsonian Exclusive Edition Telescope, Black, New and other Telescopes by Bushnell.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.8 / 5
Easy To Set Up 5.0 / 5
Usability 4.9 / 5
Features 4.9 / 5
Value for your money 4.9 / 5
Meets expectations 4.8 / 5

Bushnell ARES 5in Compact Truss Tube Dobsonian Exclusive Edition Telescope, Black, New Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 17

Best Telescope For the Money

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: chavo360 (verified customer) from Tampa, Florida on Aug 24, 2012
Pros:  Ease of Use, Portability, Good Eyepieces, Good Mirror
Cons:  Must collminate every time used, finder scope is OK but not good
Would recommend:  yes

chavo360 wrote:

I am extremely happy with this telescope.It has a good 5" mirror so it will collect alot of light for its size. This thing is ultra portable and easy to use, just set up and you are on your way. It comes with two eyepieces that are very good quality and the finder scope is OK but alittle tricky to use.The only con I found is that the collmination get out of whack every time you close the telescope but that's the price you pay for the portability. Overall the best deal you can get on a telescope for the first time astronomer or even the the more experienced looking for something more portable than a 12" Dob.

Was chavo360's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Great Portable or Beginner Scope for the Money

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: johnharp303 (verified customer) , Not my first Scope, from Parkesburg,PA on Jul 7, 2012
Pros:  Portable with Good Optics
Cons:  tension knob
Would recommend:  yes

johnharp303 wrote:

Used it first time last nite. Two things to warn you about. !)The trusses are oiled and if you touch them do not touch your eyepieces. You will be oily too. 2)Watch closing the scope down. Mine slammed down to the base. you could damage the mirror or knock it out of alignment and tus need to collminate the scope. Hopefully this scope doesn't need collimating to often. It's a 300 dollar telescope for about half the price. It's nice. It's no toy. I was looking at a double star with it last nite. Good Optics-Super Plossls. To bad they don't sell filters for it. I'm suprised they don't send a collminator with it. Colminating is easy to do once you know how. It's common for refector telescopes to do this just to check alignment. Relax and enjoy the view It's nice.

Was johnharp303's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

Bushnell Ares 5 a Big Hit

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: dstreet , Astronomy Enthusiast. Astrophotography focus., from San Antonio on Jun 26, 2012
Pros:  Light, Compact, Excellent Workmanship.
Cons:  No Cons, as far as I'm concerned...
Would recommend:  yes

dstreet wrote:

I bought this scope originally just to get the mount as I had a 127 Mak that I wanted to use on a table top mount. I saw that the mount would accept a standard vixen/orion style dovetail, so I bought it. What I didn't expect, was to find that optics in the included telescope were excellent. In fact, they were so good and the scope was so easy to use, I never tried butting my Mak on the mount, I just use The Ares as is. The views of Saturn were razor sharp as were the craters on the moon. The Plossil Eyepieces are really first rate. I tried one of my expensive Televue Nagler 7mm Type 6 eyepieces, and HOLY COW. The views were stuning. Sharp focus through the entire field of view. For the money, this is a lot of telescope. I would recommend it as a really portable grap-n-go.

Was dstreet's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Big Bang for the Bucks

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: MAJOR WELT (verified customer) , retired , avid hunter , fisherman , tournament paintball player , from LEBANON, TN. on Jun 23, 2012
Pros:  easy set up focused right out of the box takes up very little space
Cons:  tension knob
Would recommend:  yes

MAJOR WELT wrote:

really pleased with this item . we live ouot abit where its dark when the sun goes down .. works well in the den grand daughters looking through glass doors at the moon ..gave it 4 on overall & usability because of the tension knob ..needs work..ok for an adult .takes astong grip..

Was MAJOR WELT's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

bushnell ares 5 in compact truss dobsonian

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: bob olson (verified customer) , have been in astronomy for some years now,but i normally deal with refractors, from washington on Apr 27, 2012
Pros:  easy set up,good optics for the money.
Cons:  had to be collimated,no big deal.
Would recommend:  yes

bob olson wrote:

this is an easy setup,and also good optics for this size.well worth the money.it came with the optics out of alignment.i used a celestron 2in 1 tool,and have clear crisp views.planet or stars.

Was bob olson's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

good first scope for me

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Michael (verified customer) , greying engineer ... budding astronomer, from Cape Elizabeth, ME on Apr 12, 2012
Pros:  size
Cons:  none so far
Would recommend:  yes

Michael wrote:

This is my first scope. I considered buying a larger Dobsonian, but I don't have much storage space at the house. This worked out very well to whet my appetite.

Was Michael's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Bushnell Ares 5in Compact Truss-tube Dobsonian

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Lawrence Carlino (verified customer) , I'm a dedicated amateur astronomer and equipment reviewer with over 50 years experience., from Lockport, NY on Feb 24, 2012
Pros:  Terrific optics, bargain price, ease of use
Cons:  none of significance
Would recommend:  yes

Lawrence Carlino wrote:

As an experienced amateur astronomer who has owned more than 100 telescopes, I've finally found an entry-level scope that won't disappoint. This Bushnell 5in. "flex-tube" design has amazed me with the quality of its optics and elegant mechanical design - all at a low price point. The 5-inch parabolic mirror star tests very well and delivers sharp, detailed images on all classes of celestial objects. Jupiter displays a good deal of belt and zone structure at 65x, and with the power boosted to the 125x range, shows irregularities in the equatorial belts, several minute details in the temperate and polar areas, clean satellite shadow transits, and the faded Great Red Spot. Double stars are resolved to Dawes'limit with nicely tight airy disks and well-defined first diffraction rings. Lunar detail is sharp and contrasty. Deep-sky objects such as the Great Orion Nebula show wonderful detail with a dark sky background, and open clusters such as M35 , M37, and the Pleiades sparkle with pinpoint ...
Read full review / Product Info

Was Lawrence Carlino's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 13   not helpful: 0

Wow!! great telescope for the money!!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: fyrwalker (verified customer) from somerville,al on Jan 1, 2012
Pros:  easy of use,clear views, and best of all,compact and easy to move around
Cons:  none.
Would recommend:  yes

fyrwalker wrote:

Got this for my son for Christmas, and he hasn't stopped using it!the quality of view's is awesome, now i'm looking in getting me one. :)

Was fyrwalker's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Super Portable

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: SORT333 (verified customer) from Harpers Ferry WV on Dec 29, 2011
Pros:  Super easy set up time, a lot of scope for the money
Cons:  Would be great if they made a cover for exposed truss section
Would recommend:  yes

SORT333 wrote:

Great scope for the money, set up in minutes. The most portable scope for the money.

Was SORT333's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Awesome value !!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Brendan Brigham (verified customer) , Not much to tell, just a very very amateur, astronomer :) , from Whitney Point, NY on Oct 9, 2011
Pros:  Great optics, great finder scope, very compact design.
Cons:  The only thing I have a b**** about is the focuser, while it does work well, it gets a little tight in spots when the temps drop.
Would recommend:  yes

Brendan Brigham wrote:

This recommended to me at Cloudy Nights forums, I'm glad I checked it out. I don't think there's a better value on the market for a first real telescope. The minor issue I have with the focuser doesn't detract from the value what so ever. I can probably lap the threads with some automotive valve lapping compound to resolve the issue. I highly recommend the ARES 5 as a first scope !

Was Brendan Brigham's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Reviews - Bushnell ARES 5in Compact Truss Tube Dobsonian Exclusive Edition Telescope, Black, New - UPC: 029757785008