2,540 Brands 452 Categories All Departments
Bushnell ARES 6 inch Compact Dobsonian Telescope OpticsPlanet Edition
Browse by Rating
(13 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Great Scope - Can'y Beat the Price
This is a great 6" scope. Manufactured by the same company that makes Orion and Skywatcher scopes, so high quality. Great optics, great features, so...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

My first telescope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on November 13, 2011
Recently got into viewing the night sky, planets and stargazing and I wanted a quality telescope that gave me decent views of the objects I wanted to see in space and was also affordable within my budget.
I came across the "Bushnell Ares 6" DOB" and after comparing it to other telescopes that had similiar options and specs. I believe it is the best value for all the telescope you receive.

On my first night just using the 2 eyepieces supplied with this telescope I was able to see jupiter and it's 4 moons with very good clarity, viewing our moon was breathtaking, and after increasing the magnification by dropping in a 2X Barlow lens I had purchased separately the views were just awesome! I was just able to make out some detail on Jupiter and got some jawdropping closeup views of the countless craters on our moon.

Very Happy with this purchase, Excellent telescope at an excellent price!

Pros: Easy to use, quality parts, image quality, Great Price!
Cons: Size - A little bigger than I thought it would be....
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

VERY good, especially considering money spent

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MA Written on October 27, 2011
Almost ordered another more expensive 6-inch.
Came across this via word of mouth from astronomy forums. Two eyepieces, price, and free shipping made this the OBVIOUS choice for someone looking for first real telescope who didn't want to/couldn't break the bank. (fyi Bushnell - don't change anything re: price, shipping, eps or risk losing positive vibes/reviews this telescope is now receiving)
Extremely satisfied and excited about the telescope.

Pros: Solid, good contruction, TWO eyepieces, price, free shipping, oh, and great telescope!
Cons: Allen wrench, BARELY made it through assembly. (use your own, shouldnt complain about free wrench I guess)...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Bushnell ARES DOB 6in. Dobsonian Telescope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, PA Written on October 10, 2011
Have owned a DOB manufactured by a another company that cost over 150 dollars more. I can see little if any difference in optics or quality of construction. Jupiter and its 4 largest moons observed sharp and clear. Its not a grab and go type scope, but it is easily taken apart in two pieces and transported in my small SUV. This is a great beginners scope, enabling one the opportunity to get into astronomy at a very reasonable cost.
Pros: Price, optics, quality of construction.
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Best In Class!!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on October 4, 2011
Just assembled and used this telescope last night! The sides of the base need the nylon top-hat bushings pointing out to be correct. The instructions refer to a logo not present and you cannot go by this. Otherwise, this is a fantastic bargain! I was able to view Jupiter w/cloud bands and spherical depth of two of the four moons. Pleiades was nothing but awesome! The moon....Well, does craters inside of craters inside of craters say anything? If you are on a budget, this is the best you'll find! Promise!!!
Pros: Excellent Optics Quality For The Price
Cons: Assy. Instructions For Base Needs Updating...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great scope at a great price!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on September 17, 2011
This is my first "real" telescope, and I'm incredibly pleased with it so far! When I got the scope, I was immediately impressed by its quality. For a scope that costs just over $200, you might expect lots of plastic and poor construction, but most of the parts on this scope are metal, and the quality of the construction is readily apparent. Prior to this, I owned a Bushnell 60mm refractor that was very cheaply made, so I was a bit scared away from this scope at first because of the brand name. However, the Ares 6 is in an entirely different league, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone with interested in astronomy. It's a bit heavy, but more than manageable enough for me to carry in one piece. You could spend more for a bigger Dobsonian, but the Ares 6 is a great telescope at a phenomenal price.
Pros: Quality parts/construction, solid mount, value (a lot of aperture for the price)
Cons: Slightly stiff azimuth movement...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Big Bang For The Buck :-)

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NY Written on August 20, 2011
I ordered it on Wednesday morning and received it Friday night. I had it put together in about 45 minutes. It didn't need to be collimated when I check it. Not bad for a long trip on a UPS truck. All parts were packed very nicely with foam block, foam sheets, cut to fit cardboard and bubble wrap. I did not need a tool to put it together because they came in the parts bag. It has a metal tube covered in what I think is plastic and all the parts are metal. Almost no plastic with the exception of the dust caps on the eyepieces and scope. It looks real nice in person and feels like a quality build. This scope feels like it is going to last me for years. The only thing I am going to add is a right angle finder scope to it and a few more eyepieces. From what I can see is that this is a very complete kit/scope for anybody. It is easy to tote around and small enough to to fit in my small apartment without taking up much room when I am not using it. I have used it only a two times and yet I can say I love it especially for the price I got it for. I hope this helps someone with making there choice for this scope. You can't go wrong.
Pros: Awesome price, 2' focuser, metal tube, came with all the tools you would need, packaging was excellent, shipping was very fast (2 days to my house) and I paid about a 3ed less that other brand dobsonian telescopes of the same size and quality. It is a rweal deal !
Cons: None that I can see yet....
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Outstanding 6" dobsonian telescope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on April 10, 2011
I've owned many telescopes, including some that are direct competitors of this Bushnell dobsonian. What sold me on the Bushnell was its 2" focusser, but now that I've used it, I find that it doesn't skimp on anything! It's a wonderful, powerful, small telescope!
Pros: perfect optics, no vibration
Cons: heavy...
Would recommend: Yes
7 of 7 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Scope - Can'y Beat the Price

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on March 20, 2011
This is a great 6" scope. Manufactured by the same company that makes Orion and Skywatcher scopes, so high quality. Great optics, great features, solid construction, awesome first telescope. Out of the box, my Skywatcher version of this scope was perfect. I didn't even need to adjust the mirrors. It is relatively lightweight for its size, so it is easy to move. Great for planets and star-clusters. You really can't go wrong with this scope for the cost. Purchase a cheap Barlow along with this and you will have 4 useful magnifications (48x, 120x + 96X (25mm w/Barlow) and 240x (10mm + Barlow).
Pros: Quick to Set-up, easy to move, incredible features for the price
Cons: The azimuth (left/right) movements are a bit stiff...
Would recommend: Yes
16 of 17 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Telescope for the Money!

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, IL Written on March 15, 2011
Bought this telescope b/c I knew it would simple to use, and b/c I thought it was going to be my "take it everywhere" scope. I was wrong about the 2nd part. If you have a compact car (Corolla/Civic/etc.) it will take up your entire trunk. That's the only bad part about it. Because of its size, it's really powerful and everyone who was there for our first moon viewing session was stunned by what they saw.

The other thing I should add is that you will need to do your research if you want to see less obvious things in the sky, and learn how to properly align the finderscope if you're going to use more powerful eyepieces. It's just you and the telescope, no fancy bells and whistles telling you where to point it (or rotating the scope for you).

Finally, I am convinced that there is no way you will get a scope this nice at a price this low. A couple of people who have used mine now are already talking about getting one for themselves. If you want a more compact version check out the 5" Bushnell DOB that is even cheaper!
Pros: Powerful, Simple & Easy to Use
Cons: Larger than Expected (read specs)...
Would recommend: Yes
10 of 11 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good Product

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on February 13, 2011
Everything was how I expected it, no problems.
Pros: The whole thing
Cons: Nothing...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 13 User Reviews of Bushnell ARES 6 inch Compact Dobsonian Telescope OpticsPlanet Edition