2,462 Brands 451 Categories All Departments
786100 Bushnell ARES DOB 6in. Dobsonian Telescope, Exclusive Edition 786100 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Bushnell ARES DOB 6in. Dobsonian Telescope, Exclusive Edition 786100 and other Telescopes by Bushnell.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
5.0 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.7 / 5
Usability 4.8 / 5
Features 4.8 / 5
Value for your money 5.0 / 5
Meets expectations 5.0 / 5

Bushnell ARES DOB 6in. Dobsonian Telescope, Exclusive Edition 786100 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 13

My first telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: mjuaner (verified customer) from San Diego, CA. on Nov 13, 2011
Pros:  Easy to use, quality parts, image quality, Great Price!
Cons:  Size - A little bigger than I thought it would be.
Would recommend:  yes

mjuaner wrote:

Recently got into viewing the night sky, planets and stargazing and I wanted a quality telescope that gave me decent views of the objects I wanted to see in space and was also affordable within my budget. I came across the "Bushnell Ares 6" DOB" and after comparing it to other telescopes that had similiar options and specs. I believe it is the best value for all the telescope you receive. On my first night just using the 2 eyepieces supplied with this telescope I was able to see jupiter and it's 4 moons with very good clarity, viewing our moon was breathtaking, and after increasing the magnification by dropping in a 2X Barlow lens I had purchased separately the views were just awesome! I was just able to make out some detail on Jupiter and got some jawdropping closeup views of the countless craters on our moon. Very Happy with this purchase, Excellent telescope at an excellent price!

Was mjuaner's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

VERY good, especially considering money spent

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Newguy (verified customer) from Boston MA on Oct 27, 2011
Pros:  Solid, good contruction, TWO eyepieces, price, free shipping, oh, and great telescope!
Cons:  Allen wrench, BARELY made it through assembly. (use your own, shouldnt complain about free wrench I guess)
Would recommend:  yes

Newguy wrote:

Almost ordered another more expensive 6-inch. Came across this via word of mouth from astronomy forums. Two eyepieces, price, and free shipping made this the OBVIOUS choice for someone looking for first real telescope who didn't want to/couldn't break the bank. (fyi Bushnell - don't change anything re: price, shipping, eps or risk losing positive vibes/reviews this telescope is now receiving) Extremely satisfied and excited about the telescope.

Was Newguy's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 1

Bushnell ARES DOB 6in. Dobsonian Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: John Zoltowski (verified customer) , Senior Citizen, from Wernersville PA on Oct 10, 2011
Pros:  Price, optics, quality of construction.
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

John Zoltowski wrote:

Have owned a DOB manufactured by a another company that cost over 150 dollars more. I can see little if any difference in optics or quality of construction. Jupiter and its 4 largest moons observed sharp and clear. Its not a grab and go type scope, but it is easily taken apart in two pieces and transported in my small SUV. This is a great beginners scope, enabling one the opportunity to get into astronomy at a very reasonable cost.

Was John Zoltowski's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Best In Class!!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: John (verified customer) , Avid Lover of Life!, from Louisville Kentucky on Oct 4, 2011
Pros:  Excellent Optics Quality For The Price
Cons:  Assy. Instructions For Base Needs Updating
Would recommend:  yes

John wrote:

Just assembled and used this telescope last night! The sides of the base need the nylon top-hat bushings pointing out to be correct. The instructions refer to a logo not present and you cannot go by this. Otherwise, this is a fantastic bargain! I was able to view Jupiter w/cloud bands and spherical depth of two of the four moons. Pleiades was nothing but awesome! The moon....Well, does craters inside of craters inside of craters say anything? If you are on a budget, this is the best you'll find! Promise!!!

Was John's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 1

Great scope at a great price!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Jesse89 (verified customer) from Canton, Ohio on Sep 17, 2011
Pros:  Quality parts/construction, solid mount, value (a lot of aperture for the price)
Cons:  Slightly stiff azimuth movement
Would recommend:  yes

Jesse89 wrote:

This is my first "real" telescope, and I'm incredibly pleased with it so far! When I got the scope, I was immediately impressed by its quality. For a scope that costs just over $200, you might expect lots of plastic and poor construction, but most of the parts on this scope are metal, and the quality of the construction is readily apparent. Prior to this, I owned a Bushnell 60mm refractor that was very cheaply made, so I was a bit scared away from this scope at first because of the brand name. However, the Ares 6 is in an entirely different league, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone with interested in astronomy. It's a bit heavy, but more than manageable enough for me to carry in one piece. You could spend more for a bigger Dobsonian, but the Ares 6 is a great telescope at a phenomenal price.

Was Jesse89's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Big Bang For The Buck :-)

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: mekaone (verified customer) , I have been in to astronomy for many years and love it., from Troy, NY on Aug 20, 2011
Pros:  Awesome price, 2' focuser, metal tube, came with all the tools you would need, packaging was excellent, shipping was very fast (2 days to my house) and I paid about a 3ed less that other brand dobsonian telescopes of the same size and quality. It is a rweal deal !
Cons:  None that I can see yet.
Would recommend:  yes

mekaone wrote:

I ordered it on Wednesday morning and received it Friday night. I had it put together in about 45 minutes. It didn't need to be collimated when I check it. Not bad for a long trip on a UPS truck. All parts were packed very nicely with foam block, foam sheets, cut to fit cardboard and bubble wrap. I did not need a tool to put it together because they came in the parts bag. It has a metal tube covered in what I think is plastic and all the parts are metal. Almost no plastic with the exception of the dust caps on the eyepieces and scope. It looks real nice in person and feels like a quality build. This scope feels like it is going to last me for years. The only thing I am going to add is a right angle finder scope to it and a few more eyepieces. From what I can see is that this is a very complete kit/scope for anybody. It is easy to tote around and small enough to to fit in my small apartment without taking up much room when I am not using it. I have used it only a two times and yet I can ...
Read full review / Product Info

Was mekaone's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 1

Outstanding 6" dobsonian telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: RAB from Alhambra California on Apr 10, 2011
Pros:  perfect optics, no vibration
Cons:  heavy
Would recommend:  yes

RAB wrote:

I've owned many telescopes, including some that are direct competitors of this Bushnell dobsonian. What sold me on the Bushnell was its 2" focusser, but now that I've used it, I find that it doesn't skimp on anything! It's a wonderful, powerful, small telescope!

Was RAB's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 7   not helpful: 0

Great Scope - Can'y Beat the Price

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Josh Graves , New to astronomy., from Munich, Germany on Mar 20, 2011
Pros:  Quick to Set-up, easy to move, incredible features for the price
Cons:  The azimuth (left/right) movements are a bit stiff
Would recommend:  yes

Josh Graves wrote:

This is a great 6" scope. Manufactured by the same company that makes Orion and Skywatcher scopes, so high quality. Great optics, great features, solid construction, awesome first telescope. Out of the box, my Skywatcher version of this scope was perfect. I didn't even need to adjust the mirrors. It is relatively lightweight for its size, so it is easy to move. Great for planets and star-clusters. You really can't go wrong with this scope for the cost. Purchase a cheap Barlow along with this and you will have 4 useful magnifications (48x, 120x + 96X (25mm w/Barlow) and 240x (10mm + Barlow).

Was Josh Graves's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 16   not helpful: 1

Great Telescope for the Money!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: PastFutureAstronaut (verified customer) , I was obsessed w/ all things "space" as a kid, now I'm hoping to revisit that love once again, from Aurora, IL on Mar 15, 2011
Pros:  Powerful, Simple & Easy to Use
Cons:  Larger than Expected (read specs)
Would recommend:  yes

PastFutureAstronaut wrote:

Bought this telescope b/c I knew it would simple to use, and b/c I thought it was going to be my "take it everywhere" scope. I was wrong about the 2nd part. If you have a compact car (Corolla/Civic/etc.) it will take up your entire trunk. That's the only bad part about it. Because of its size, it's really powerful and everyone who was there for our first moon viewing session was stunned by what they saw. The other thing I should add is that you will need to do your research if you want to see less obvious things in the sky, and learn how to properly align the finderscope if you're going to use more powerful eyepieces. It's just you and the telescope, no fancy bells and whistles telling you where to point it (or rotating the scope for you). Finally, I am convinced that there is no way you will get a scope this nice at a price this low. A couple of people who have used mine now are already talking about getting one for themselves. If you want a more compact version check out the 5" ...
Read full review / Product Info

Was PastFutureAstronaut's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 10   not helpful: 1

Good Product

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Tom from Coatesville on Feb 13, 2011
Pros:  The whole thing
Cons:  Nothing
Would recommend:  yes

Tom wrote:

Everything was how I expected it, no problems.

Was Tom's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 6

Reviews - Bushnell ARES DOB 6in. Dobsonian Telescope, Exclusive Edition 786100 - UPC: 029757786104