2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
746884 Caldwell Fire Control Front Rest 746884 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Caldwell Fire Control Front Rest 746884 and other Shooting Accessories by Caldwell.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
3.9 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.4 / 5
Usability 3.8 / 5
Features 4.3 / 5
Value for your money 4.0 / 5
Meets expectations 3.8 / 5

Caldwell Fire Control Front Rest 746884 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 14

Great rest fo benchrest

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: WS6Man (verified customer) , shoot target and benchrest, from Norwalk Ohio on Mar 25, 2013
Pros:  easy set up and position changes are smooth
Cons:  Could use a position lock
Would recommend:  yes

WS6Man wrote:

I shoot 200-400 yard target and this rest was very helpfull in working up some great long range loads.

Was WS6Man's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Excellent Value

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: DGZNHGZ from Honey Creek, IA on Oct 28, 2012
Pros:  Very easy to use and works as advertised
Cons:  Can't think of any
Would recommend:  yes

DGZNHGZ wrote:

I used this rest to win the latest f-class match at the range that I belong to. Meets my expectations

Was DGZNHGZ's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Prefilled bag

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Bill (verified customer) , I am 79 years old and needed some help getting a 17 lb rifle on target, This rest solved my problem., from Conyers, GA on Aug 18, 2012
Pros:  Bags easy to install
Cons:  Prefilled bag not wide enough for my 2 inch F Class rifle and unfilled bag was too wide, had to order a medium.
Would recommend:  yes

Bill wrote:

Set-up and use was great for my sporting rifles. I plan to use the rest for F Class 600 and 1000 yd shooting. In practice it worked great.

Was Bill's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Caldwell Fire Control front rest

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: zipollini from Huber Heights Ohio on Jul 26, 2012
Pros:  Good value for the money, easy to set up, nice features
Cons:  Joystick adjustments are just a little too course for competitive benchrest shooting.
Would recommend:  yes

zipollini wrote:

A good rest with lots of features at a reasonable price. That's what Caldwell rests are all about and this one delivers. The unit is solidly built and should last a lifetime. I just wish that the joystick control adjustments were a little finer. Adjustments are just too course for serious benchrest competition but should serve 99% of shooters wishing to test their guns and ammo.

Was zipollini's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Caldwell Fire Control Front Rest

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Snakepit (verified customer) , Long Range Shooter, from Texas on Jul 20, 2012
Pros:  Good Price
Cons:  I was missing a few parts in the parts bag but a call to Caldwell and I had them in a couple of days. The rest had to be adjusted as it would not hold on target after each shot. But I am shooting a .308, 30" heavy bull barrel so I had to adjust the adjusting screws to compensate. It stays steady now but nomooth when you adjust it due to the tighter adjustment.
Would recommend:  yes

Snakepit wrote:

Great front rest for the price. Very stable but the elevation would collapse after each shot. I am shooting a .308 with a 30" heavy bull barrel. I adjusted the adjusting screws following their directions with the allen wrench they supplied and it works ok now. This is the 4th different Caldwell rest I have purchased and I would recommend every one of them.

Was Snakepit's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Caldwell Fire Control

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Frank (verified customer) from Avon, CT on Jan 29, 2012
Pros:  Very easy set-up and adjustability
Cons:  None so far
Would recommend:  yes

Frank wrote:

Perfect rest for the range.

Was Frank's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Fire Control Front Rest

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: agmubx (verified customer) from San Angelo, Texas on Jan 27, 2012
Pros:  OpticsPlanet created value in this purchase
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

agmubx wrote:

I ordered it on 1-25-12. I was told it would come 1-30-12 but it was received on 1-27-12. I was packed box in a box and it was labeled delicate instrument/fragile. You can't do more. When I unpacted it I was further pleased with the way it was pacted. When I put it together I was further impressed. The gross elevation adjustment knob had to be put into place with a lite tap with a rubber mallet. There was absolutely no slop in any movement in the joy stick or gross adj. The weight created a stable base.

Was agmubx's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Well Built Lacks Adjustability to Hold Firearm

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
2 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: PNelsonlex from Lexington, KY on Jan 11, 2012
Pros:  Solid Well Built
Cons:  Had 4 rifles was unable to firmly support any of them
Would recommend:  no

PNelsonlex wrote:

I had 4 guns (Ruger Mini 14, Marlin 1894CC, Anschutzs 22 and AR-15) that I was looking to sight in. This rest would not hold any of these securely. It is to short front to back for the Mini 14 and the AR. The front bag even after adjusting it all the way in would not secure the rifle forearm on any of these rifles. The rear support would not accept any of the guns (sling clips to wide, butt stock to wide, etc) I think the front bag issue can be resolved with a smaller front bag. They give you a wider front bag but not a narrower one (they are not or the same quality of the bag that came on it). When I ordered my gut told me to buy just the front rest that way with sandbags it give much more adjustability but I opted for the full length that was a BAD DECISION. This rest cannot be used without the rear attached if I decide to keep it I would drill some additional holes so that I can move it forward (I inquired to Caldwell about purchasing another rear assembly that I could cut shorter ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was PNelsonlex's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Caldwell Fire Control Rest Full length

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Jackjoy from Shellman Bluff, GA on Jan 6, 2012
Pros:  Easy to adjust
Cons:  Not all guns would fit because of the joy stick
Would recommend:  yes

Jackjoy wrote:

For the 64 SBR and 64 MPR this rest works great

Was Jackjoy's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Fire Control difficiencies

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
2 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: wsbranham (verified customer) , Research Biologist, benchrest shooter, from Little Rock AR on Oct 3, 2011
Pros:  Joy stick operated
Cons:  Much too much "play" in the joy stick
Would recommend:  yes

wsbranham wrote:

I am currently use the Farley Coaxial front rest, which is the Cadillac of front rests, but is quite expensive. Not wanting to mess up the flat bag I use for my benchrest rifles with 3 inch flat fore ends, I purchased the Fire Control for rifles I own with more typical fore ends. However, I found that the joy stick freely rotates and has a lot of "slop or wiggle" in its movement. In other words you can move the joy stick before it actually moves the front rest. On the Farley there is no slop. The Caldwell is also not as smooth as the Farley. I will probably only use the Caldwell when I am shooting some old military rifles I own.

Was wsbranham's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

Reviews - Caldwell Fire Control Front Rest 746884 - UPC: 661120468844