2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
31045 Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ Equatorial Reflector Telescope, New - 31045 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ Equatorial Reflector Telescope, New - 31045 and other Telescopes by Celestron.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
3.8 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.5 / 5
Usability 3.8 / 5
Features 3.7 / 5
Value for your money 4.2 / 5
Meets expectations 3.6 / 5

Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ Equatorial Reflector Telescope, New - 31045 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 13

Not Bad at All for the price I paid

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: No Be Scare from Guelph on Jul 14, 2010
Pros:  excellent optics for price
Cons:  finder is tough to aim to get close to objects
Would recommend:  yes

No Be Scare wrote:

Local camera shop had it on for 1/2 price. Paid $170 CDN for it. well worth the price considering what you get. Wouldn't pay full price for it. Can easily hit the usual targets, Jupiter, Saturn, etc. still trying to get to nebula's etc. maybe too much light pollution.

Was No Be Scare's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

CELESTRON ASTROMASTER 130 EQ

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Willard (verified customer) , retired teacher, from Clarksburg, WV on Feb 12, 2010
Pros:  QUALITY INSTRUMENT!
Cons:  NONE!
Would recommend:  yes

Willard wrote:

Very pleased with this telescope. I have owned several in the past and this is the best. Very easy to assemble and all parts of the highest quality.

Was Willard's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 7   not helpful: 0

A Good Buy

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: RBorges (verified customer) from Yauco, PR on Feb 5, 2010
Would recommend:  yes

RBorges wrote:

I Bought this scope as a step-up from my old refractor and and I am impressed. For an instrument this price it is sturdy and well built, with pretty good optics too. I also bought mine with the Celestron Eyepiece & Filter kit, which adds a lot more observing possibilities. The finder is a little tricky to use and (as some other reviewers said) the Dec knob slightly interferes with the R.A. circle. Apart from that, the scope works great.

Was RBorges's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Look at the price

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: JJRambo , USC Astronomy club, from LA on Dec 14, 2009
Pros:  Pound for pound the best telescope
Cons:  Planetary optics are weak
Would recommend:  yes

JJRambo wrote:

I read some of the other reviews for this and I have to wholeheartedly disagree. If you're going to drop under $200 on a scope you cannot expect perfection. Per dollar spent, this is the best telescope I own. It has its faults but I wouldn't trade it in for a scope that's worth $50-$75 more. If you're willing to spend more than that, then get something else.

Was JJRambo's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

Not a good deal

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
2 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:1 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:1 / 5

Author: BSJ (verified customer) from Grand Isle, VT on Jul 28, 2009
Pros:  OK tripod when used with a smaller scope
Cons:  Sloppy focuser
Would recommend:  no

BSJ wrote:

Lots of problems with this set up. Poor quality screws with pre-striped heads! Finder is useless. Focusers is sloppy plastic junk. I wish I'd bought something eles.

Was BSJ's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 7

I hope for more!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: lindensg (verified customer) , Beginner., from Oregon City, Oregon on May 19, 2009
Cons:  No real usable optics, and adjustment gears not sufficient.
Would recommend:  yes

lindensg wrote:

The counter weights are too heavy for the fine adjustment screws. The planetary optics are very poor. I would have expected to be informed that different optics would need to be added to see anything more than views that I could see with my binoculars. The basic unit is sound, but I think that Celestron oversold the ability of this unit.

Was lindensg's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 1

A Useful Rich-Field 'scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: Kopernic (verified customer) , military retiree, amateur astronomer, from Beach Lake, PA on Jan 16, 2009
Pros:  good f5 parabola mirror
Cons:  finder scope next to useless, EQ mount inconvenient
Would recommend:  yes

Kopernic wrote:

I have replaced the red-dot finder with a Rigel Quickfinder, and changed to a sturdy Alt-az tripod mount. After careful collimation, good view obtained up to 55-60X. A good aftermarket eyepiece helped a great deal. Not the best choice for planets or doublestars, but useful within the limits of an RFT. (Far more light gathering than my old 80mm WA RFT). By all means, look for a discount price.

Was Kopernic's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

godd but defective

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: sathni (verified customer) from Macon, GA on Dec 4, 2008
Would recommend:  no

sathni wrote:

i purchased this for my son, as his xmas present... i purchased in early november, and i am glad i gave myself plenty of lead time... after setting up, the "dec shaft" - which allows the scope to move smoothly, was bent... i called celestron, and instead of sending a replacement part, they asked me to send the WHOLE scope for repair... when i contacted optics planet, they tried to intervene, but to no avail.. i am sending this unit back for a refund as this is defective... i will purchasing a much simpler scope (i.e. refractor, instead of reflector) and AZ mount, instead or EQ mount... i am hoping Optics Planet will follow thru with their promise to give me a full refund...

Was sathni's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

Very bad mount

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
1 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: jians5 (verified customer) from London Ontario on Jul 3, 2008
Pros:  Good Optics
Cons:  Mount Mount Mount!
Would recommend:  no

jians5 wrote:

I bought this telescope a couple months ago. At first I loved it, and gave it an excellent review. However, I have now noticed that there is a serious design flaw in the mount. The locking screws thread in to a metal ring, which locks the legs in place. The ring is only attached to the plastic, and there's nothing that holds it there but pressure. Tightning the screw, pushes out the metal ring, and the leg will not lock. So now, I can't extend the telescope's legs.

Was jians5's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 2

Excellent value

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Steve T (verified customer) , Avid amateur seeking dark skies, from Klamath Falls, OR on May 13, 2008
Pros:  quality primary
Cons:  finder difficult to use
Would recommend:  yes

Steve T wrote:

I bought this scope to be a more portable alternative to my 8" SCT and 13.1" Dob. The optics are excellent and do benefit from eyepiece upgrades. The included 20mm erecting eyepiece is fine for terrestrial use but suffers from internal reflections in astro use. Surprisingly smooth focuser with negligible backlash. The CG3 mount is sturdy with average settle down time although the dec lock knob interferes with the RA circle. The jury is still out on the Star Pointer finder. However, the 650mm fl f/5 wide low power views make simply sighting along the tube effective. At Optics Planet's steeply discounted price, the Celestron AstroMaster is an excellent value for the beginning or advanced amateur alike.

Was Steve T's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

Reviews - Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ Equatorial Reflector Telescope, New - 31045 - UPC: 050234310451