2,509 Brands 452 Categories All Departments
Celestron C130mm Mak Spotting Scope 52275 (C130 mm Maksutov scope) With Free Luxury Case
Average Customer Review (9 reviews)
Share your thought Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review excellent spotting scope
I am an astronomer and purchased this scope as a gift. The 2000mm focal length is huge and makes it easy to get close-up views of the moon and planet...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

130 MM MAK

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on March 14, 2009
I LIKE THIS SCOPE VERY MUCH IT HAS A LARGE F RATIO,I BELIEVE YOU COULD USE A RICH-FIELD LENS TO DROP THE F-RATIO TO ABOUT F-7 FOR DEEP SKY,I WILL TRY THIS NEXT TIME IT IS CLEAR,THE FRONT LENS IS WELL COATED AND THE VIEWS ARE CRISP AND BRIGHT.I ORDERED A RED DOT FINDER.I HAVE BEEN USING TELESCOPES SINCE 1980 AND THIS ONE IS ONE OF THE NICER MODELS I OWN,THANKS FOR A GOOD PRODUCT.
Pros: WELL MADE GREAT ON PLANETS CLEAR
Cons: FINDER SCOPE NOT ADJUSTABLE...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Celestron C130

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, WA Written on February 12, 2009
A very fine powerfull scope for the price.
Pros: Nice light gathering design
Cons: Aligning finder scope was a bit of a chore...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Celestron C130 Mak spotting scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on February 8, 2009
This is my first spotting/telescope purchase and my viewing of the moon, planets, wildlife, and landscapes have been delightful. Portability is a plus for backyard astronomy, but a minus for backbacking. Focusing is very touchy and I think a better tripod than the (co-called) heavy-duty alt-azimuth tripod would help this because the slightest touch vibrates the image. The multi-coated 32mm eyepiece included is marginal compared to a fully multi-coated one. I also purchased a 8mm-24mm zoom eyepiece and love it. A lower powered eyepiece would also be desirable. Excellent scope for the money.
Pros: dual use- excellent scope for land, moon, and planets. Portable
Cons: very touchy to focus, especially at high magnifications. eyepiece that comes with it is of marginal quality...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great scope and tripod for $299

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MO Written on December 18, 2008
I like this scope very much for the price. I seen many bad reviews for the tripod, but it works ok for me. Planets look good with this scope..
Pros: Good price, nice quality, good optics
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

A Great Scope for the Money

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, AL Written on July 24, 2008
Just purchased, so haven't used a lot, but what I see so far is impressive. Sets up quickly, easy to use, clear images. When purchased, I depended heavily on staff and user reviews, so thanks.
Pros: Price, Case, Large Focus Knob, Solid
Cons: Somewhat large, but manageable...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

excellent spotting scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, OR Written on March 5, 2008
I am an astronomer and purchased this scope as a gift. The 2000mm focal length is huge and makes it easy to get close-up views of the moon and planets, as well as terrestrial objects. Optical quality is good, except for a couple of clear lenses apparently intended to seal the tube. All they do is blur the image and introduce secondary reflections; remove them and you will be very pleased with the results. 5-inch aperture is plenty for the planets and daytime viewing, about as big as a scope can be and still be portable.
Pros: good overall optical quality, maintains collimation well, smooth focuser motion with zero image shift
Cons: flip mirror assembly a little loose and needed repositioning to avoid vignetting, finder scope is inverting...
Would recommend: Yes
13 of 13 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Celestron C130mm scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MN Written on March 4, 2008
For the money, this is a very versatile scope. It is a little large for a spotting scope, and the eyepiece that comes with it gives a 63X magnification, which is also a little high for most terrestrial use. Lunar and planetery views are crisp and sharp, although the focus adjustment is a little coarse. Deep space viewing is marginal, but that is not what this was designed for. If it is to be used mostly as a spotting scope, a lower power eyepiece would be needed. All around a great value at $300.00
Pros: Low cost, large objective size
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Very good first scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MS Written on July 25, 2007
Since this is my first and only scope, I don't really have any prior experience to compare with. However, I believe this to be an excellent scope for its size. It is very light and portable and images of the moon and planets seem very clear to me. Once I knew what to look for, I viewed many Deep Space Objects with this scope including the Ring Nebula, some star clusters, and Andromeda galaxy.
I did not like the finder scope included, so I purchased a 1x red dot finder which made objects much easier to sight in.
In damp conditions, the glass protector for the eyepiece hole sometimes fogs up on the inside enough to create a glowing orb around bright objects such as jupiter. If this glass piece could be removed without damaging the scope I believe I would want to.
Other than these two issues I haven't had any other problems and would recommend it at least for a starter scope!

Pros: Very portable, clear images, easy focuser
Cons: Glass under eyepiece holder sometimes fogs up...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Celestron C130 Spotting Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, IL Written on July 13, 2007
This is my first spotting scope. I love the high magnification. It will definitely come in handy both for astronomy, for my grandkids, and for wildlife observation for myself. I love the case! Despite being heavier than I thought it'd be, the case makes traveling and carrying the scope a breeze.
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Heavier than I thought...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Celestron C130mm Mak Spotting Scope 52275 (C130 mm Maksutov scope) With Free Luxury Case Product Reviews Comments