2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
52275 Celestron C130mm Mak Spotting Scope 52275 (C130 mm Maksutov scope) is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Celestron C130mm Mak Spotting Scope 52275 (C130 mm Maksutov scope) and other Spotting Scopes by Celestron.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings

Celestron C130mm Mak Spotting Scope 52275 (C130 mm Maksutov scope) Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 15

130 MM MAK

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: CAPTAIN WAYNE (verified customer) , CAPTAIN VALLEY FIRE SERVICES, from VALLEY SPRINGS CALIF. on Mar 14, 2009
Pros:  WELL MADE GREAT ON PLANETS CLEAR
Cons:  FINDER SCOPE NOT ADJUSTABLE
Would recommend:  yes

CAPTAIN WAYNE wrote:

I LIKE THIS SCOPE VERY MUCH IT HAS A LARGE F RATIO,I BELIEVE YOU COULD USE A RICH-FIELD LENS TO DROP THE F-RATIO TO ABOUT F-7 FOR DEEP SKY,I WILL TRY THIS NEXT TIME IT IS CLEAR,THE FRONT LENS IS WELL COATED AND THE VIEWS ARE CRISP AND BRIGHT.I ORDERED A RED DOT FINDER.I HAVE BEEN USING TELESCOPES SINCE 1980 AND THIS ONE IS ONE OF THE NICER MODELS I OWN,THANKS FOR A GOOD PRODUCT.

Was CAPTAIN WAYNE's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Celestron C130

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Ryan Mc Guire (verified customer) , Commercial Photographer, from Clarkston, WA on Feb 12, 2009
Pros:  Nice light gathering design
Cons:  Aligning finder scope was a bit of a chore
Would recommend:  yes

Ryan Mc Guire wrote:

A very fine powerfull scope for the price.

Was Ryan Mc Guire's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Celestron C130 Mak spotting scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: James Jordan (verified customer) , beginning astronomer, from Trinidad, Colorado on Feb 8, 2009
Pros:  dual use- excellent scope for land, moon, and planets. Portable
Cons:  very touchy to focus, especially at high magnifications. eyepiece that comes with it is of marginal quality
Would recommend:  yes

James Jordan wrote:

This is my first spotting/telescope purchase and my viewing of the moon, planets, wildlife, and landscapes have been delightful. Portability is a plus for backyard astronomy, but a minus for backbacking. Focusing is very touchy and I think a better tripod than the (co-called) heavy-duty alt-azimuth tripod would help this because the slightest touch vibrates the image. The multi-coated 32mm eyepiece included is marginal compared to a fully multi-coated one. I also purchased a 8mm-24mm zoom eyepiece and love it. A lower powered eyepiece would also be desirable. Excellent scope for the money.

Was James Jordan's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Great scope and tripod for $299

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: 94bamf (verified customer) from Kansas City, Mo on Dec 18, 2008
Pros:  Good price, nice quality, good optics
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

94bamf wrote:

I like this scope very much for the price. I seen many bad reviews for the tripod, but it works ok for me. Planets look good with this scope..

Was 94bamf's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

A Great Scope for the Money

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: bamamach1 (verified customer) , Naturalist, from Talladega, AL on Jul 24, 2008
Pros:  Price, Case, Large Focus Knob, Solid
Cons:  Somewhat large, but manageable
Would recommend:  yes

bamamach1 wrote:

Just purchased, so haven't used a lot, but what I see so far is impressive. Sets up quickly, easy to use, clear images. When purchased, I depended heavily on staff and user reviews, so thanks.

Was bamamach1's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

WORST QUALITY

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
1 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:1 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:1 / 5

Author: MDSKY from North Bethesda MD on Mar 24, 2008
Pros:  Nothing
Cons:  Can not focus
Would recommend:  no

MDSKY wrote:

I have tried two set of this spotting scopes. BUT I can not focus them. I am asking for the third one. Do not waste your time and money. Celestron's quality control is worst.

Was MDSKY's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 3

Spotting Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: hoover from munfordville KY on Mar 10, 2008
Pros:  very clear , easy to use
Cons:  kind of on the heavy side , get a good tripod and a better finder scope
Would recommend:  yes

hoover wrote:

Very nice scope , haven't used to view night objects yet , but I'm sure I'll be impressed

Was hoover's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 1

excellent spotting scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: palomar (verified customer) from Corvallis, OR on Mar 5, 2008
Pros:  good overall optical quality, maintains collimation well, smooth focuser motion with zero image shift
Cons:  flip mirror assembly a little loose and needed repositioning to avoid vignetting, finder scope is inverting
Would recommend:  yes

palomar wrote:

I am an astronomer and purchased this scope as a gift. The 2000mm focal length is huge and makes it easy to get close-up views of the moon and planets, as well as terrestrial objects. Optical quality is good, except for a couple of clear lenses apparently intended to seal the tube. All they do is blur the image and introduce secondary reflections; remove them and you will be very pleased with the results. 5-inch aperture is plenty for the planets and daytime viewing, about as big as a scope can be and still be portable.

Was palomar's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 12   not helpful: 0

Celestron C130mm scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: taa1959 (verified customer) , mid level optics collector , from Isanti, MN on Mar 4, 2008
Pros:  Low cost, large objective size
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

taa1959 wrote:

For the money, this is a very versatile scope. It is a little large for a spotting scope, and the eyepiece that comes with it gives a 63X magnification, which is also a little high for most terrestrial use. Lunar and planetery views are crisp and sharp, although the focus adjustment is a little coarse. Deep space viewing is marginal, but that is not what this was designed for. If it is to be used mostly as a spotting scope, a lower power eyepiece would be needed. All around a great value at $300.00

Was taa1959's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

Metropolitan Insurance Group LLC.

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: metroins from glen burnie on Dec 3, 2007
Pros:  Best Camera Ever
Cons:  None!
Would recommend:  yes

metroins wrote:

Great Camera for our website http://www.metroins.biz

Was metroins's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 13

Reviews - Celestron C130mm Mak Spotting Scope 52275 (C130 mm Maksutov scope) - UPC: 050234522755