2,509 Brands 451 Categories All Departments
Celestron Heavy Duty Alt-Azimuth Telescope, Binocular Tripod 93607
$88.99 $135.95 Save 35%
Average Customer Review (14 reviews)
Share your thought Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Celestron Heavy Duty Alt-Azimuth Telescope W/C90 Mak
Using this tripod with my C90 spotting scope has added a degree of control ...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review Celestron Heavy Duty Tripod 93607
The azimuth control is perfect - easy to adjust, then to lock, followed by ...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Celestron Heavy Duty Alt-Azimuth Telescope, Binocular Tripod 93607

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, AR Written on August 6, 2011
Used for long range target shooting and scoring. I have ysed several others, this is the best, even in windy conditions.
Pros: Easy Setup. Very stable
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good value for the money

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on April 10, 2010
C5 / C130 type of scope will reach limits of this mount. The mount is limited by quite small angle range when rotating. The parts can break or misalign easily. Max height not exciting. Still it's a good practical mount with quite good load and easy set up and slow precise motion.
Pros: Price
Cons: Not so rigid...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Celestron 93607 Alt-Azimuth tripod

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on December 2, 2009
Generally a very good value. I would like more worm drive travel range on both axis. One of the fine motion cable set screws broke off in my hand. A larger diameter set screw would help.
Pros: Inexpensive, able to handle large SCTs up to 8"
Cons: Poor quality on some hardware components...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Terrestrial 5 star, Celestial 2 star

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, OK Written on December 27, 2008
With a C130 Mak at 9.25 lbs this seems to be pushing the limits of this mount. It is excellent until your altitude excedes about 75 degrees above the horizon then the fine adjusting goes out the window. You can adjust it to go to higher angles but it has issues lifting itself back from them even after tightening the axis nut. The noise, reminiscent to an aluminum extension ladder, can be overcome by placing insulating material (foam, cloth, etc.) into the legs. I suppose the height issue could be resolved with an adjustable chair but it would have to get very low to the ground. Other than for higher altitude celestial viewing I would recommend this as a good tripod for the price.
Pros: simple, sturdy
Cons: noisy, sensitive, short, altitude adjustment strength...
Would recommend: Yes
7 of 7 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Celestron Tripod 93607

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, WI Written on December 24, 2008
I like it a lot for what I'm using it for, a Celestron wideview 102. It matches well, and makes more sense than the $300 tripod recomended by another dealer. Good choice for casual viewing, a very serios astronomer has more money to spend.
Pros: Price, stability
Cons: Slow motion controls a little sloppy...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Celestron tripod 93607

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MN Written on March 4, 2008
I received this tripod along with my c130 scope for about $50.00 extra,This makes it a fantastic value for the money. At the regular retail of $89.00 I would still call it a good value.
Pros: Good solid mount for scopes 12 lbs and under
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Defective product design / manufacturing failure

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CO Written on February 15, 2008
While using this tripod for third time this weekend the central shaft sheered completely off and the scope was nearly dammaged, and would have been, if I wasn't under it to catch it as it fell. The tripod is sold and recommended for use with the Celestron C130mm MAK Spotting Scope. It appears it may have a design/manufactuting defect with the central load bearing shaft being constructed of die-cast metal that broke completely off under just ~11 lbs of load. I am currently persuing the warranty with Celestron.
Pros: Good bundle price w/spotting scope
Cons: Defective design / manufacturing...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Nice Tripod

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, SC Written on February 14, 2008
Being new to Astronomy and viewing terrestrials, I feel this is a good versitle tipod.It is light enough to transport to remote places and strong enogh to take some abuse. I am a camper and enjoy taking my scope into the backwoods. Good value.

Optics Planet has a great support staff and stand behind their products. I am pleased with the purchase I have made from them.
Pros: Light in weight but built for heavy duty use....
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Defective product design / manufacturing failure

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CO Written on February 13, 2008
I bought this tripod on special (@$99 in Dec 2007) as it was offered ar a discounted price with the Celestron C130mm Mak Spotting Scope I purched at the same time. On the third use a few days ago, and luckily while setting it up inside my house before taking it outside, the main shaft of the tripod completely broke, droping the 11 pound scope into my arms. The shaft which is part of the mount, appears to be die-cast metal and should instead be a stronger material. I am now in the process of requesting a full refund.
Pros: Inexpensive and decent fine control
Cons: Defective design / manufacturing...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Not great for Astronomy

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, CA Written on November 18, 2007
I have used this tripod on both telescopes and binoculars and have never been satisfied with its perfomance in either. Perhaps useful on only the lightest of telescopes.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to transport
Cons: No way to lock down altitude, control immensely stiff...
Would recommend: No
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Celestron Heavy Duty Alt-Azimuth Telescope, Binocular Tripod 93607 Product Reviews Comments