2,462 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
31145 Celestron NexStar 130 SLT Series Newtonian Reflector Telescope - 31145 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Celestron NexStar 130 SLT Series Newtonian Reflector Telescope - 31145 and other Telescopes by Celestron.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
3.9 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.2 / 5
Usability 3.8 / 5
Features 4.0 / 5
Value for your money 3.8 / 5
Meets expectations 3.8 / 5

Celestron NexStar 130 SLT Series Newtonian Reflector Telescope - 31145 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 9 out of 9

Celestron NexStar 130 SLT Series Newtonian Reflector Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: davidnich , Novice, from Texas on Jun 19, 2012
Pros:  Easy for beginners!
Cons:  DOES NEED to be co-limated!
Would recommend:  yes

davidnich wrote:

This is a great telescope... IF you understand a few basics! MOST of the reviews I have seen are from other novices, like ME! HOWEVER... given a little more time, and effort. this CAN be a GREAT telescope! BUT... it DOES require a little knowledge, and understanding! Once you aquire some DEEPER understanding about how the scope works, ALL "double images", and the "tracking issues" etc. are GONE! In short... Ya gotta be smarter than the telescope! Just learn HOW to use it properly!

Was davidnich's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 4

this is a terrable scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
1 / 5
Easy To Set Up:1 / 5
Features:1 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:1 / 5

Author: opticboy from ross, ca on Jun 5, 2011
Cons:  go to not usable, optics are poor, celestron did not fix it
Would recommend:  yes

opticboy wrote:

Never in your life buy this scope, it is worthless, the go to system is not usable,the optics are blurry, if you purchase it you will regret doing so, if I were you I would get something more expensive

Was opticboy's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 41

Celestron NexStar 130 SLT Series Reflector Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: Mike (verified customer) from Honolulu on Jan 12, 2009
Pros:  Unknown
Cons:  ZERO support from Celestron
Would recommend:  yes

Mike wrote:

Since this was our first telescope we didn't have anything to compare with. The step-by-step instructions are very easy to follow. At first we thought that the collimation was off but after trying I noticed that I could see the inside of the tube when the eye was centered. Celestron was closed for the holidays until the 5th of Jan. I called and waited 25 minutes only to speak with a person who knew nothing about telescopes. I asked to speak with someone that did and he said there was no one else. I asked for his name and requested to speak with a supervisor and he claimed that he wasn't permitted to release his name or forward the call. I contacted Opticsplanet to replace it. They have an easy online system to request returns. Unfortunately, I threw away the outer shipping box to send the telescope back to Opticsplanet for a replacement. They on the other hand have been quick and courteous. The product arrived very quickly. Chicago to Honolulu in 4 days after ordered but the post office ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was Mike's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 14   not helpful: 8

Low Quality Mirror

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: Senske (verified customer) from Spokane, WA on Jan 10, 2009
Pros:  Easy to Setup and Use. Finderscope is Great
Cons:  Bad Mirror, SkyAlign Fails Often
Would recommend:  no

Senske wrote:

I have really mixed feelings about this telescope. For the most part it works as expected, but after the first night of viewing in cold weather (about 10F) the mirror coating has started to deteriorate, causing what appears to be significant bubbling or pitting around the entire perimeter of the mirror and less significant imperfections across the surface of the mirror. This is my first telescope, so I'm no pro, but I'm guessing this mirror failure is due to the expanding and contracting of the relatively low-quality mirror. If you're looking for an excuse to buy a really high-quality telescope with zero-expansion optics just keep this in mind. The hand control display doesn't work well in cold weather, either. The scrolling text on the LCD screen is unreadable and response to input is slow. At 35F - 40F this isn't an issue. Battery life at 10F was about 2 hours. SkyAlign worked the first time (thank goodness for that), but hasn't worked since. I've switched to using Solar System ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was Senske's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 13   not helpful: 1

Good scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: RBrooksC from Baltimore, MD on Mar 10, 2008
Pros:  Easy Set up, easy use of SkyAlign
Cons:  Neutral lenes, aperture is small to see all the deep space objects
Would recommend:  yes

RBrooksC wrote:

This is a very nice, high end beginner scope. For those who complain about having to use it in the cold, or the SkyAlign not working really need to take a look at themselves. When the sky is clearest, it is winter. The SkyAlign works great if you get the scope set up properly and take the time to use the alignment. If you are looking for the best scope for the money and you are just starting out or need to get a smaller scope for certain things, this would be the one to get.

Was RBrooksC's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 17   not helpful: 1

Excellent

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Eddie (verified customer) from Alexander, NC on Jan 14, 2008
Pros:  Easy to setup, Excellent optics, Great price
Cons:  9mm eyepiece is a little cheap
Would recommend:  yes

Eddie wrote:

Great scope for the money, very easy to use and great optics. Highly recommended.

Was Eddie's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 2

great x-mas present!!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Gloria W. from Ellettsville, IN on Nov 26, 2007
Would recommend:  yes

Gloria W. wrote:

My entire family loves this telescope and we have had hours of fun, quality time using it together. None of us knew anything about astronomy before, but it has been very easy to use and is a nice balance as a mid-range telescope for the price-- it's sophisticated but not so much that we're afraid to use it!

Was Gloria W.'s review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 2

Merle

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Edgarinna from edgar, ne on Nov 7, 2007
Would recommend:  yes

Edgarinna wrote:

Don't know much about computers or the stars, but I got this to work first time out. If I can do it, anyone can!

Was Edgarinna's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 0

Great Beginner Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Larry from Hartford, CT on Nov 6, 2007
Would recommend:  yes

Larry wrote:

I received this scope as a birthday gift from my father. I know little to nothing about astronomy, other than what I have read on the Optics Planet forums and articles. I can say that this scope was easy to use. The instructions were clear and the setup was easy. I can see how the alignment process will only get quicker ans easier with time and practice. I would recommend this scope to any beginner or intermediate backyard astronomer.

Was Larry's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 13   not helpful: 2

Reviews - Celestron NexStar 130 SLT Series Newtonian Reflector Telescope - 31145 - UPC: 050234311458