2,535 Brands 453 Categories All Departments
Celestron NexStar Schmidt Cassegrain 8SE Telescope
Starts at $1,199.00
Purchase
Browse by Rating
(12 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Hitchhikers guide to the Nexstar 8SE
I'd been eyeing this telescope for some time and finally was able to afford it. I didn't want to get a smaller one and end up wondering how much bett...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

telescope Celestron NexStar Schmidt Cassegrain 8SE Telescope

by marie, from United States, FL Written on August 27, 2014
I was happy with optic planet for the scope we didn t have the chance to do so much cause I m living in Florida. It s raining a lot
For the the GpS we had to change the lat and.... cause it doesn t aligned very good .
We are trying next sat again.
Marianne...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Awesome telescope

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on September 16, 2013
This is a great telescope -- it is super easy to set up, and with the Goto feature, you can quickly locate planets, nebulae, galaxies, stars, etc. I was able to quickly see Neptune and Pluto without any problems (not to mention Saturn and Venus...Jupiter and Mars are too early in the AM right now for me). It really is a great scope and has increased my desire to look at the stars.
Pros: Easy to use, simple set-up, quality construction
Cons: heavy, bulky...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Celestino 8SE

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, TX Written on September 2, 2013
The 8se is a good option for the serious amateur and photographer. It has a solid base and is stable in light wind. The clarity and resolution are excellent. You'll get good viewing on less than optimal conditions. It has the resolution to discern faint double stars and features on neighboring planets. The large aperture means the camera exposures happen in less time
Pros: Easy to set up
Cons: Antiquated computer interface ...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

I would change only one thing

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on February 16, 2012
This is a very good scope. Excellent value, fun to use. I would definitely recommend this.

I suggest Celestron upgrade the finder scope.
Pros: Easy to setup, very portable. Nice clear images, easy to use.
Cons: The supplied finder scope is too flimsy too be very useful....
Would recommend: Yes
20 of 22 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Light Bucket on the go

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on March 2, 2011
This is a must buy scope. Great computerized system makes this scope great. With 8'' mirror will gather around 850X more light than our eye can. View of saturn is sharp even at 318X (with my 6.4mm meade super plossl eyepiece)Jupiter is great, easily spot the GRS with more than 7 cloud bands seen. Tracking is smooth provided you set the time properly & level the tripod.
Pros: All
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
30 of 30 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Scope for the price

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, WA Written on February 16, 2011
The Celestrone 8SE is my first telescope. After doing months of research on what to get I decided on the Celestron 8SE. The scope comes in several boxes (within one big box) but is actually very easy to put together. I'm glad I purchased it and the purchase experience through Opticsplanet.com made it very easy and pleasant. Plus you can't beat the free shipping.
Pros: excellent views
Cons: little heavy...
Would recommend: Yes
9 of 9 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Light Bucket on the go

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on January 17, 2011
Great scope on travel. With 8'' mirror, it can gather 843X more light than human eye. Tracking was accurate & setup was easy. This scope really can be moved around as it is about 30lb only. The single fork arm mount tend to be unstable & vibrates easily, but this makes it a much lighter telescope, ease for travel purpose. It fulfill it's main purpose as a portable computerized scope with awesome light bucket. Recommended for all!!!
Pros: Small, can be setup by 1 person
Cons: Unstable single fork arm mount ...
Would recommend: Yes
11 of 11 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

starting over

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WI Written on December 10, 2010
This would be a fine scope for a beginner or someone looking to get back in the hobby as was the case with me.Computerized GOTO is a wonder.This system works well when you get up to speed with it.And please ignore the "star pointer off" notification...your star pointer is OK! The views are swell, webcam photos of the planets are a blast, and a lot of DSO's I couldnt find 30 years ago are right in the eyepiece.The downside to the SE8 is the OTA weighs too much for the mount. She's a shaky thing at higher powers. Just dont touch it, buy a 12 volt battery pack, a webcam, a few eyepieces and enjoy. Smart telescopes are very cool.
Pros: lightweight,good optics
Cons: lightweight...
Would recommend: Yes
14 of 15 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Celestron Nexstar 8se

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on November 11, 2010
Great Scope. The optics arrived spotless and setup was a breeze. The GoTo feature is taking some time to master but is a great feature.Highly recommend this scope.The view with this scope is breathtaking.
Pros: East setup
Cons: Learning the "goto" feature....
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Hitchhikers guide to the Nexstar 8SE

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, TX Written on December 11, 2008
I'd been eyeing this telescope for some time and finally was able to afford it. I didn't want to get a smaller one and end up wondering how much better the bigger one would have been. As far as visual quality, I couldn't be happier. The views through the telescope are wonderful and the SkyAlign feature works pretty good. I do notice a little drift from time to time, but I think I'll be able to get a handle on that as I use it more or add a wedge. My only complaint is that this model just doesn't work very well on batteries. I spent a whole night messing around with the tracking system wondering why it wouldn't slew properly only to discover that my new AA batteries had been drained by only about an hour of casual use. As it turns out, running on batteries in even moderately cold weather just doesn't play well on this telescope at all. Once I plugged it into AC power the drives worked like a champ. I know the design incorporating the batteries into the base is space-limited and probably wouldn't allow for C or D cells, but I feel that this should have been explained better in the docs for this scope by Celestron. So if you want this scope I'd suggest purchasing the AC adapter for home use and/or the power tank for mobile use. Using batteries just isn't practical. That stuff aside, its a very nice scope and I'm still glad I purchased it.
Pros: Quality construction and good visual quality
Cons: Portability limited by underpowered battery capacity...
Would recommend: Yes
57 of 58 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 12 User Reviews of Celestron NexStar Schmidt Cassegrain 8SE Telescope