2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
11069 Celestron NexStar Schmidt Cassegrain 8SE Telescope 11069 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Celestron NexStar Schmidt Cassegrain 8SE Telescope 11069 and other Telescopes by Celestron.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.9 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.9 / 5
Usability 4.7 / 5
Features 4.7 / 5
Value for your money 4.8 / 5
Meets expectations 4.7 / 5

Celestron NexStar Schmidt Cassegrain 8SE Telescope 11069 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 9 out of 9

I would change only one thing

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Postwaste from Lubbock Texas on Feb 16, 2012
Pros:  Easy to setup, very portable. Nice clear images, easy to use.
Cons:  The supplied finder scope is too flimsy too be very useful.
Would recommend:  yes

Postwaste wrote:

This is a very good scope. Excellent value, fun to use. I would definitely recommend this. I suggest Celestron upgrade the finder scope.

Was Postwaste 's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 19   not helpful: 2

Great Light Bucket on the go

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Sebastian (verified customer) , Casual Sky & Bird watcher, from Malaysia on Mar 2, 2011
Pros:  All
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

Sebastian wrote:

This is a must buy scope. Great computerized system makes this scope great. With 8'' mirror will gather around 850X more light than our eye can. View of saturn is sharp even at 318X (with my 6.4mm meade super plossl eyepiece)Jupiter is great, easily spot the GRS with more than 7 cloud bands seen. Tracking is smooth provided you set the time properly & level the tripod.

Was Sebastian's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 29   not helpful: 0

Great Scope for the price

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: JonB (verified customer) , Amature, from Seattle WA on Feb 16, 2011
Pros:  excellent views
Cons:  little heavy
Would recommend:  yes

JonB wrote:

The Celestrone 8SE is my first telescope. After doing months of research on what to get I decided on the Celestron 8SE. The scope comes in several boxes (within one big box) but is actually very easy to put together. I'm glad I purchased it and the purchase experience through Opticsplanet.com made it very easy and pleasant. Plus you can't beat the free shipping.

Was JonB's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 0

Great Light Bucket on the go

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Tai , Amateur astronomer, from Kuala Lumpur on Jan 17, 2011
Pros:  Small, can be setup by 1 person
Cons:  Unstable single fork arm mount
Would recommend:  yes

Tai wrote:

Great scope on travel. With 8'' mirror, it can gather 843X more light than human eye. Tracking was accurate & setup was easy. This scope really can be moved around as it is about 30lb only. The single fork arm mount tend to be unstable & vibrates easily, but this makes it a much lighter telescope, ease for travel purpose. It fulfill it's main purpose as a portable computerized scope with awesome light bucket. Recommended for all!!!

Was Tai's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 11   not helpful: 0

starting over

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: herr464 , not getting younger, 50 yr. old luddite, first time computer user, from chetek,WI on Dec 10, 2010
Pros:  lightweight,good optics
Cons:  lightweight
Would recommend:  yes

herr464 wrote:

This would be a fine scope for a beginner or someone looking to get back in the hobby as was the case with me.Computerized GOTO is a wonder.This system works well when you get up to speed with it.And please ignore the "star pointer off" notification...your star pointer is OK! The views are swell, webcam photos of the planets are a blast, and a lot of DSO's I couldnt find 30 years ago are right in the eyepiece.The downside to the SE8 is the OTA weighs too much for the mount. She's a shaky thing at higher powers. Just dont touch it, buy a 12 volt battery pack, a webcam, a few eyepieces and enjoy. Smart telescopes are very cool.

Was herr464's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 14   not helpful: 1

Celestron Nexstar 8se

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: John Beale (verified customer) from Ashland,Alabama on Nov 11, 2010
Pros:  East setup
Cons:  Learning the "goto" feature.
Would recommend:  yes

John Beale wrote:

Great Scope. The optics arrived spotless and setup was a breeze. The GoTo feature is taking some time to master but is a great feature.Highly recommend this scope.The view with this scope is breathtaking.

Was John Beale's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

Hitchhikers guide to the Nexstar 8SE

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: cnelson (verified customer) , Computer geek turned wannabe astronomer., from Austin, TX on Dec 11, 2008
Pros:  Quality construction and good visual quality
Cons:  Portability limited by underpowered battery capacity
Would recommend:  yes

cnelson wrote:

I'd been eyeing this telescope for some time and finally was able to afford it. I didn't want to get a smaller one and end up wondering how much better the bigger one would have been. As far as visual quality, I couldn't be happier. The views through the telescope are wonderful and the SkyAlign feature works pretty good. I do notice a little drift from time to time, but I think I'll be able to get a handle on that as I use it more or add a wedge. My only complaint is that this model just doesn't work very well on batteries. I spent a whole night messing around with the tracking system wondering why it wouldn't slew properly only to discover that my new AA batteries had been drained by only about an hour of casual use. As it turns out, running on batteries in even moderately cold weather just doesn't play well on this telescope at all. Once I plugged it into AC power the drives worked like a champ. I know the design incorporating the batteries into the base is space-limited and probably ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was cnelson's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 54   not helpful: 1

Awesome Telescope for the Money

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Scott007 (verified customer) from Houston Texas on Aug 24, 2008
Pros:  Clarity, Price, 8 Inch Telescope
Cons:  Orange is not my favorite color.
Would recommend:  yes

Scott007 wrote:

I loved astronomy as a kid, so my grandfather bought me a Celestron C8 way back when. This is a much improved model for my kids.

Was Scott007's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 14

expect to take vacation to enjoy telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: jaime luna (verified customer) from Colombia on Mar 3, 2008
Would recommend:  yes

jaime luna wrote:

Expectacular is the word to describe this fabulous telescope, only I hope to to invite my family and grandson to enjoying of in my next vacations

Was jaime luna's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 9   not helpful: 13

Reviews - Celestron NexStar Schmidt Cassegrain 8SE Telescope 11069 - UPC: 050234110693