2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
21049 Celestron PowerSeeker 127 EQ Newtonian Telescope - 21049 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Celestron PowerSeeker 127 EQ Newtonian Telescope - 21049 and other Telescopes by Celestron.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.2 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.3 / 5
Usability 4.0 / 5
Features 3.9 / 5
Value for your money 4.5 / 5
Meets expectations 4.0 / 5

Celestron PowerSeeker 127 EQ Newtonian Telescope - 21049 Review - Page 2 - Reviews from 11 to 19 out of 19

Quality, and value

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: shadowrider (verified customer) from Wichita, KS on Aug 16, 2009
Pros:  quality, ease of set-up and use
Would recommend:  yes

shadowrider wrote:

I was very pleased with the entire transaction and product. Product was shipped and received in a very timely manner.

Was shadowrider's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 4

Great for the price

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: KD5NRH (verified customer) from Stephenville, TX on Jun 17, 2009
Pros:  Low price, good beginner's Newtonian
Cons:  Could be better designed in some minor ways
Would recommend:  yes

KD5NRH wrote:

It would be hard to find a better 5 inch reflector under $200. The primary cell is a bit difficult to remove and reinstall, so it would have been nice if Celestron had premarked the center of the mirror for collimation. On the other hand, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this scope to someone looking for a low-priced hobbyist's starter. I would also strongly recommend getting a collimation eyepiece and motor drive with this scope.

Was KD5NRH's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 7   not helpful: 2

What a deal !

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: seabelow from Port Orange, Fl. on May 10, 2009
Pros:  cheep ! 100 times better than a 10 x 50 or a 7 x 35
Cons:  I hear no support from Celestron
Would recommend:  yes

seabelow wrote:

Directions suck but I have ben down that road before... 1st night out used the 20mm eyepiece and filled the eye with a 99% full moon. Look 100% sharp but the finder scope needs upgraded.

Was seabelow's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 1

HELP PLEASE!!!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
2 / 5
Easy To Set Up:2 / 5
Features:2 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Cooper15 from Wales, Uk on Feb 6, 2009
Would recommend:  yes

Cooper15 wrote:

Hi all, Just looking for some advice/help if anyone's willing. I'm not a pro at this yet, but I really want to get into planetry obs so I bought this scope. I know I can locate venus and saturn, but they are SO small (just like dots) and no matter what magnification I use, just can't seem to work it out! Thanks H

Was Cooper15's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 19

Good scope for beginners

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: matrix27 (verified customer) , Amateur astronomer, from Pharr, Texas on Dec 16, 2008
Pros:  Price, quality, easy to assemble
Cons:  Tripod shaky, low quality eyepieces, useless finderscope
Would recommend:  no

matrix27 wrote:

This telescope is great for beginners, it offers power and quality at an excellent price. I would suggest vibration supression pads for the tripod and better quality eyepieces. Finally a collimation tool may be necessary to optimize or realign the telescope's optics as needed.

Was matrix27's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 9   not helpful: 1

Very low "easy to setup" score

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:1 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: toftat (verified customer) from Orlando on Oct 15, 2008
Pros:  value for money, ease of use once initial setup complete
Cons:  extensive collimation needed (I almost got to the point of returning it to Celestron)
Would recommend:  yes

toftat wrote:

my telescope arrived well out of collimation, and being a newbie to the hobby, I made it much worse before I got it better. Now it is properly collimated, I couldn't be any happier with my results, the other night I pointed it at Jupiter, and immediately got re hooked on astronomy

Was toftat's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

Celestron needs more quality control

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: RedBeard , I am a new astronomy hobbiest., from Orlando, Fl on Jun 11, 2008
Pros:  Price Point on a good sized dob
Cons:  Poor quality in many areas
Would recommend:  yes

RedBeard wrote:

Celestron's packaging shows no concern for their product. No packing material at all. The focuser is so sloppy that I had to take it apart and re-shim it. The tripod does not get any flimsier. In even a moderate wind it is all over the place.

Was RedBeard's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 5

Well worth the price!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: phaethon (verified customer) , Male, 40, 2 children, from Springfield on Mar 7, 2008
Pros:  price, quality and optics
Cons:  view finder
Would recommend:  yes

phaethon wrote:

This telescope is well worth its cost. The set-up is fairly straight forward. The images it produces are very clear. I was able to see some incredible images of the moon with minimal effort (with both of the included lenses). Because it is a Newtonian telescope, the view may be inverted, so it is a little more difficult to find stars. The attached view finder can move a bit -- in my case it does not align exactly with what is lined up in the actual lense. The software included with this purchase is cool; the star tracking/searching capability (along with the exact location of the star) makes it easy to find them in the sky. Now, translating those directional numbers into useful input when positioning the telescope is another matter....

Was phaethon's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 0

For the money.... Good job

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: ipm2404 (verified customer) , Amature Astronomer, from or on Jul 27, 2007
Pros:  for the money the biggest mirror you can buy
Cons:  flimsy tripod... difficult to use EQ mount
Would recommend:  yes

ipm2404 wrote:

After I constructed my own tripod and mount for $30US, this `scope is wonderful. A little collimation and a Rigel Systems laser spoter rounds out my setup. These tuneups makes this an amazeing toy my 5 year old nephew loves. And I spend hours observing Saturn and Jupiter. You can even see the phases of venus with clarity.

Was ipm2404's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 19   not helpful: 4

Reviews - Page 2 - Celestron PowerSeeker 127 EQ Newtonian Telescope - 21049 - UPC: 050234210492