2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
21048-OP Celestron PowerSeeker 80EQ Refractor Telescope Package w/ Motor Drive, Tripod is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Celestron PowerSeeker 80EQ Refractor Telescope Package w/ Motor Drive, Tripod and other Telescopes by Celestron.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.8 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.5 / 5
Usability 4.7 / 5
Features 4.7 / 5
Value for your money 5.0 / 5
Meets expectations 4.7 / 5

Celestron PowerSeeker 80EQ Refractor Telescope Package w/ Motor Drive, Tripod Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 20

Excellent choice for any astronomer

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Tbmichael (verified customer) , Hobby Astronomer, from Houston TX on Jan 5, 2014
Pros:  simple, big diameter, great price, sturdy scope
Cons:  cheap mount, tripod, finder
Would recommend:  yes

Tbmichael wrote:

This is an excellent little scope. I own several larger reflector and catadioptric scopes, but they're a pain to take outside sometimes, especially in the cold. This one is dead simple to use, and although the mount is pretty shaky the price and low weight make up for the drawbacks. I bought this to share with my 7 year old daughter, and she loves it. Beginners care most about things they've seen without a scope or binoculars, and she's no different - Jupiter is awesome, the moon is great, and several deep sky objects (NGC 865, for example) are plain as anything. Not a lot of false color, which is the benefit of having a high F-ratio in a refractor scope. The finder isn't much use, but it will work for the big stuff. For a budding astronomer a good pair of 10x70 binoculars is always best, but this is the next best thing, and a good first step into scopes. The 9V drive is a good thing to have for later, but you won't want to use it at first. For this price this is the best telescope ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was Tbmichael's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 7   not helpful: 0

Good Beginner Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Sebastian (verified customer) , Casual Sky & Bird watcher, from Malaysia on Nov 2, 2013
Would recommend:  yes

Sebastian wrote:

Refractor are always good choice for beginner. Simple to use, great optics, the celestron 80mm powerseeker is an average medium sized telescope. 80mm optic is not much. but it will still allow you to see better than what galileo can see 350 years back. In fact you can see surface of jupiter's detail, mar's surface detail and also saturn's ring and it track well with the motor drive, if you set it up correctly. If you are on bugdet, this is always a 1st recommendation!

Was Sebastian's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 13   not helpful: 0

Refractor Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Peepr from Lanoka Harbor, NJ on Jun 29, 2013
Pros:  Excellent value!
Would recommend:  yes

Peepr wrote:

My grandson absolutely loves his new telescope.

Was Peepr's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 6

Good scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Bonanza7 (verified customer) , Amateur, from Phoenix Az on Jun 10, 2013
Pros:  Good optics
Cons:  EQ mount not the best
Would recommend:  yes

Bonanza7 wrote:

Mount difficult to set up. Not the sturdiest tripod. Very good optics

Was Bonanza7's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Good First Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: geochem (verified customer) from Vicksburg, MS on Mar 24, 2013
Would recommend:  yes

geochem wrote:

Vast improvement over my previous 70AZ telescope. Bands on Jupiter and Galilean moons are distinct, waiting on Saturn to get high enough to try out on the rings. Little disappointed in the eyepiece selection, 20 and 4 mm EPs have limited magnification options with 3x Barlow lense, would be nice to have a midpoint EP.

Was geochem's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 7   not helpful: 0

Great First Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: ES Maestro (verified customer) , Retired, from Eureka Springs, AR on Mar 23, 2013
Pros:  Value, quality, ease of set up.
Cons:  Somewhat large.
Would recommend:  yes

ES Maestro wrote:

This is my first telescope as I have recently located to an area where the sky is clear enough to make one practical. I have had an interest in astrology for several years and now as a retiree I have the opportunity to pursue this hobby. The Celestron PowerSeeker 80EQ seemed a good value to me and I am not disappointed. The set up was not difficult even though I had no previous experience. I am just now learning the operation but so far am very satisfied. I would recommend it for the beginner.

Was ES Maestro's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

RT from Medway, MA

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: RT from Medway, MA on Feb 16, 2013
Pros:  clear instructions, easy to use, portable
Cons:  finder scope and barlow lens could be better
Would recommend:  yes

RT wrote:

Purchased for 7 year old grandson. Telescope is not complex to use but a 7 year old will need supervision. This is a fine instrument for a beginner and intermediate user.

Was RT's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 1

Xmas gift

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: john from covington,ga on Jan 3, 2013
Pros:  Not Bad....lots of fun
Would recommend:  yes

john wrote:

my wife bought this very nice looking scope as an axmas gift.We have a nice back year to view the clear night.Love the view of the moon.im not sure if its good enough to see jupider,i hope so

Was john's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 3

Good entry astronomical telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Peter Tos (verified customer) , Sky & Bird watcher, from Oregon on Oct 3, 2012
Pros:  Good optics
Cons:  Bit small & weak power
Would recommend:  yes

Peter Tos wrote:

This telescope is good for entry level astronomy. 80mm Optics with good corrected colour are excellent for astronomy usage. Easy to set up and use. The 80mm optics are slightly small for high power planets like mars, perhaps a 100mm model would be better if one need for planetary observation. But overall for the price, this is a good telescope

Was Peter Tos's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 11   not helpful: 1

Great for any level.

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: John from Palm Bay, FL on Mar 7, 2012
Pros:  Fast setup, easy to operate.
Cons:  Barlow could be better.
Would recommend:  yes

John wrote:

My wife bought me this scope for Christmas and I really like it. I am a beginner and was suprised at how good it was. It would be a good scope for any level.

Was John's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 1

Reviews - Celestron PowerSeeker 80EQ Refractor Telescope Package w/ Motor Drive, Tripod - UPC: CI-TS-21048-O