2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
93970 Celestron SkyScout Personal Planetarium Handheld GPS Star Locator 93970 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Celestron SkyScout Personal Planetarium Handheld GPS Star Locator 93970 and other Telescopes by Celestron.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.3 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.3 / 5
Usability 4.1 / 5
Features 4.3 / 5
Value for your money 4.1 / 5
Meets expectations 4.2 / 5

Celestron SkyScout Personal Planetarium Handheld GPS Star Locator 93970 Review - Page 2 - Reviews from 11 to 18 out of 18

Very Pleased

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Shubox (verified customer) from Evart, Michigan on Jan 10, 2009
Would recommend:  yes

Shubox wrote:

We are enjoying our Sky Scout very much. Set-up software did not work well on computer software we had. We got help from Sky Scout. Our bundle included a rechargeable battery. It did not recharge. We returned and replaced it, but the second one did not charge either. Do not recommend the rechargeable batteries offered, but the Sky Scout is wonderful!

Was Shubox's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

Perfect Gift

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Nigel from California on Dec 2, 2008
Pros:  out of the box ease, "kids" size
Cons:  not pro
Would recommend:  yes

Nigel wrote:

This was a purchase for my neighbor's son who loves astronomy. I am a fan myself and saw this as a great gift. Given that it's not a professional gadget, (clearly shown by the price), it is easy and fun to use. He picked it up and was quick to adapt to it. Simply put, this is a gift item for the younger generation or for those who are just looking for a general view of the stars.

Was Nigel's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Sky Scout Personal Planetarium

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: NorthCoast1 (verified customer) , Own a CPC1100 and an older C-8. , from Cleveland on May 14, 2008
Pros:  Great concept, overall design, ease of use
Cons:  Lack of precision, a bit hard to read in the dark
Would recommend:  yes

NorthCoast1 wrote:

I bought this to donate to a kids science center. For that purpose, it is a great piece of equipment, although a bit pricey for what you get. For those more serious about astronomy, I believe they will find its accuracy below expectations. It gets you in the general vacinity, but often is off the mark by more than what I would like and sometimes does not repeat. Overall, great for beginners, but I would not recommend for those more serious about astronomy.

Was NorthCoast1's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 9

A fun twist on stargazing

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Brannon Mitchell from Nashville, TN on Nov 26, 2007
Would recommend:  yes

Brannon Mitchell wrote:

I am an intermediate astronomer and I found the SkyScout as a fun and very informative new twist on my hobby. It's a great tool or a toy for young and old alike. If you're looking for Hubble-quality images, this is probably not for you, but then again you should probably not expect to get that kind of technology at under $1,000 either! I definitely recommend.

Was Brannon Mitchell's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 26

High quality, fun product!!!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: JD Pricewell from Roswell, NM on Nov 8, 2007
Pros:  great for experienced astronomers, or kids/beginners
Cons:  gps a tad fussy, but very rarely
Would recommend:  yes

JD Pricewell wrote:

I am not an amateur astronomer; I've been into astronomy for almost 7 years and I think this is definitely NOT just a toy for beginners or kids (though it is great for them too). The SkyScout is really informative, even for those who've been into the hobby of astrology for awhile. It is nice and lightweight so kids could enjoy using it without getting tired. There are certainly a lot of stars and celestial objects to see in New Mexico, and SkyScout has helped me to locate and identify some of them I couldn't find before. The GPS is just the slightest bit fussy once in awhile (takes a little while to configure), but it really does not detract from the quality or appeal of this product. Besides it's worth the wait! Great price at OP, too. I think with Christmas coming up they'd make awesome gifts for just about anyone!

Was JD Pricewell's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 7   not helpful: 27

Sky Scout

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
1 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:1 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:1 / 5

Author: Ross Sheridan from Pilot Knob, NY on Nov 2, 2007
Pros:  NONE
Cons:  Real eye catcher - all marketing to beginners - don't be fooled
Would recommend:  no

Ross Sheridan wrote:

I purchased 3 of these units and they are of inferior design and sub standard. If you know the basics about GPS/astrology then you will understand and if you don't then you will think they are a great toy. They do not give accurate info. and seldom provide the same info for each unit so you figure - don't get burned!

Was Ross Sheridan's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 36

Awesome Gadget

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Matt from Ann Arbor, MI on Jul 20, 2007
Pros:  This device is so informative and very easy to use
Cons:  I was confused at first as to how to use the device and which buttons to press but that is because i did not read directions before starting.
Would recommend:  yes

Matt wrote:

I was really excited to finally try this Celestron skyscout gps. There are not a lot of other products like it. I absolutely loved how informative it is. The recorded voice is really pleasant. The SkyScout came nicely packaged in a box with all accessories stored neatly. The device itself already comes in a soft case. Great Addition! since i didn't have to buy one seperately. When you look at the sky through the opening the red light lets you know when you've found the object you're searching for. Overall, i was really pleased with this thing. It's light and easy to use. Make sure to read directions before starting!

Was Matt's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 17

Sky Scout Is Great Education For Kids

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: rattlesnakejake , I like disco dancing but I don't like girls that are, like, you know, artifical., from 60093 on Jul 18, 2007
Pros:  Easy To Use and Compact
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

rattlesnakejake wrote:

I took the SkyScout out of the box, put in thebatteries and started using it right away. I did not look at the instructions and, next thing I knew, I was identifying stuff in the sky. Well, I wasn't doing the identifying, the Sky Scout was, but it made me feel like a rocket scientist. Even the GPS satellite stuff was easy to use. Can I get HBO on this thing? The first time I used it I was so excited that I was yelling for my neighbor (I was in my back yard) to look at it because I know it would be perfect for her kids. I used my head phones to listen to the description of the planet I pointed at and it was very interesting, and not boring stuff. The audio quality is very good and I fell in love with the smart lady on the recording who knows so much about astronomy. I love the portability and just toss it in my back pack and take it to the beach whenever I want. Everyone who sees it is amazed.

Was rattlesnakejake's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 7   not helpful: 13

Reviews - Page 2 - Celestron SkyScout Personal Planetarium Handheld GPS Star Locator 93970 - UPC: 050234939706