2,400 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
93970 Celestron SkyScout Personal Planetarium Handheld GPS Star Locator 93970 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Celestron SkyScout Personal Planetarium Handheld GPS Star Locator 93970 and other Telescopes by Celestron.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.3 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.3 / 5
Usability 4.1 / 5
Features 4.3 / 5
Value for your money 4.1 / 5
Meets expectations 4.2 / 5

Celestron SkyScout Personal Planetarium Handheld GPS Star Locator 93970 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 18

Does the Job!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: cnwade from Iredell, TX on Jul 31, 2012
Pros:  Meets every expectation!
Cons:  Battery life a little short, but well used!
Would recommend:  yes

cnwade wrote:

Excellent product for the money invested. Great tool for the beginning /casual observer or the seasoned astronomer.

Was cnwade's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

*Warning* Will not work with Windows Vista/7 64 bit

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:1 / 5

Author: sekhmet56 (verified customer) from Oakland, CA on Feb 11, 2012
Pros:  easy to setup, good features, excellent idea
Cons:  software doesn't work with a lot of windows OS's
Would recommend:  no

sekhmet56 wrote:

I read all the reviews, but not ONE mentioned the fact that the update software was incompatible with Windows Vista or 7 64 bit operating systems. Whats more, this has been a known issue since 2008 and Celestron has posted no warning in their literature! There is no way to update the goodies for the gadget! I'll be returning mine ASAP. They obviously have a "we don't care we don't have to" apparoach to customer service.

Was sekhmet56's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 12   not helpful: 1

A very disapointed buyer

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
1 / 5
Easy To Set Up:1 / 5
Features:1 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:1 / 5

Author: epat (verified customer) from Kansas City MO on Dec 31, 2011
Pros:  None
Cons:  Not worth the money
Would recommend:  no

epat wrote:

I am now in possesion of a second unit. My wife purchased the first one as a gift. The first time I used it the unit shut itself off whenever I tried to listen to the audio. I wanted a refund but was refused by both Optics Planet and Celestron. This new unit will not locate any objects in the sky but the audio works...go figure!!

Was epat's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

Must Have

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: gzu53 , Daniel Massicotte, from Sorel-Tracy,QC on Oct 27, 2011
Pros:  Nice features and very useful for learning
Cons:  Slighthly offset sometimes
Would recommend:  yes

gzu53 wrote:

It has nice features like what is up tonight so it propose you some interesting targets depending on what is up at the time you ask it. The only issue I had so far with it, is when locating sometimes its a little offset.

Was gzu53's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

93970: Celestron SkyScout

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: L.J. Mutchie (verified customer) , Tech Field, USN Aircraft Maint., from SLC UT on Oct 16, 2011
Pros:  Handy?
Cons:  Learning the control functions, no tactile/audible feedback.
Would recommend:  yes

L.J. Mutchie wrote:

Very handy device, otherwise I initially would not know what I was looking at. No tactile/audible feedback with the buttons (bummer). Wish they could use dlp tech to create a constellation overlay in a viewfinder...but I guess they would call that a "delux" personal planetarium then.....

Was L.J. Mutchie's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 1

The SkyScout

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Robert Blake from Louisiana on May 16, 2011
Would recommend:  yes

Robert Blake wrote:

My need was to gain a working knowledge of the 57 (58 counting Polaris) stars used for navigational purposes at sea. I knew very little of the night sky, and thus started from scratch-- virtual ignorance. Within two weeks the SkyScout permitted a reasonable grasp of the night sky. No kidding! The SkyScout has proved to be worth the investment as it easily fulfilled my specific need. It allowed me to quickly orient myself with all the navigational stars available from my geographic position, during the current season. Factually, I was amazed by its performance, and when used in combination with a star chart accelerated the learning curve beyond what Id hoped. The battery life seems to run a bit over than the three hours, using 2450mAh rechargeables, which I found reasonable considering it offers both audio descriptions and a small database. The only negative Id remark on is that when two stars are close together the SkyScout will almost always identify only the brighter star as the ...
Read full review / Product Info

Was Robert Blake's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Flyer (verified customer) , Retired pilot, avid shooter, from Tampa, FL on Feb 6, 2011
Pros:  Ease of use, accuracy
Cons:  need to move head to read display
Would recommend:  yes

Flyer wrote:

I am new to astronomy. The Sky Scout is a lot of fun. After wondering for some time which stars I was looking at every night, I bought the Sky Scout. I already had a powerful spotting scope, so I just ask tit o find "tonights best objects (planets, stars, nebula, etc)" and it points the way. I then lay it on top of the scope to get the scope sighted on the object and let it tell me about what I am looking at. When done with the first object the scout arrows point the way to the next object and so on. It will also point you to anything you may wish to look by locating the name on the internal list or if you just point it at something, what it is called. My family andI have now seen the rings of Saturn, the moons of Jupiter and dozens of other objects I had no idea one could really see with binoculars or a small scope just by asking the sky scout where to look. Amazing. I would buy it again in and plan to buy others as gifts.

Was Flyer's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

celestron skyscout personal plenatarium

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: paul (verified customer) , retired electronics technician, from central new mexico on Aug 29, 2010
Would recommend:  yes

paul wrote:

THE DISPLAY IS A LITTLE HARD TO READ NOT BRIGHT ENOUGH. OTHERWISE GREAT.

Was paul's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Celestron Skyscout Planetarium

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: fordisjobone (verified customer) , steve anderson, from Ontario Canada on Apr 18, 2010
Pros:  Fun and easy to use
Cons:  Initial GPS set up-location
Would recommend:  yes

fordisjobone wrote:

This product retailed for $350 in Canada and I thought this was too much money. I found this product in the USA for $200 and with shipping I saved $100 versus buying in Canada. I was excited to receive the device and eagerly set it up. The device took a little longer than I would like for the initial set up with the satelites (gps). Once it was up and running the device was excellent. It told me way more information that I thought it would about each star. In some cases the device told me about future stars and their paths of travel. I also like the "tonights highlights" section. In this area the device will tell you about the stars and planets that are best visible in my area. I bought it for my kids to use as my knowledge about the constellations and stars is limited to the big and little dipper. When my kids ask me what that star is I can now tell them. I would recommend this device to everyone and have done so.

Was fordisjobone's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

cilistron skyscout

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Steven McAlpin (verified customer) from Great Falls MT on Dec 14, 2009
Pros:  easy to use
Cons:  does not come with external speaker
Would recommend:  yes

Steven McAlpin wrote:

very easy to use and understand. had to order an external speaker. speaker will not work in the unit with out the speaker extension cable that comes with the speaker.

Was Steven McAlpin's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Reviews - Celestron SkyScout Personal Planetarium Handheld GPS Star Locator 93970 - UPC: 050234939706