2,546 Brands 452 Categories All Departments
Konus 65-160cm Photo / Camera / Spotting scope Tripod w/ Carrying Case
Browse by Rating
(8 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Konus Spotting Scope
I bought this scope for my father for Christmas. It was an excellent scope for the price. Although we found that it had a crack on an internal lens....
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Great for light use

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on April 29, 2013
This is an update after three years. Things that I wrote are still true. On fragility, the camera plate attachment lost one screw so that the old tripod is no longer as stable. I am in the market for a new tripod for a chronograph and still think that this is the best deal.

Here is the write-up from three years ago: "I was looking for a tripod to hold a chronograph when testfiring handloads. While the shorter Konus models (e.g. 1952) might work well at fixed benchrest ranges, I wanted something that would work in field situations where someone might need to set up off of something higher than a bench rest, like a car or shooting sticks. This model of Konus has the extra length. It's lightness is also nice is taken along into a field situation. However, it is so light that I intuitively feel that one must treat it as fragile. I have a heavy duty camera tripod in the 200-300 dollar range, but it is bulkier and heavier than this Konus, so I am glad to have the Konus for use with a chronograph. I am very happy with my purchase."
Pros: price, extended height
Cons: fragility...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good choice for low price

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on January 24, 2012
This tripod its perfect for little use, not for hard use! For me its fits perfectly. I recommend it
Pros: Light, compact, solid, low price
Cons: Some parts low quality...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Konus 65-160cm Spotting Scope Tripod w/carrying case

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, PA Written on January 10, 2011
Recommendation is that this tripod is nice for the money. However, the first time we used the tripod the base plate broke, two of the four ears broke off.
Manufacturer should think about using a stronger material for the base plate. Konus should at the very least, replace the broken base plate with a new one.
Pros: Easy setup, light weight, nice carrying case
Cons: Base plate cheaply made, two of the four ears broke off...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Konus Photographic Tripod 1950 review

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, AZ Written on October 16, 2010
This tripod is an excellent buy for the price. It works well for general use. If however you want to look at distant objects (planets, moon), you will want to use a somewhat heavy achoring weight (like a 6 - 8 lb mushroom boat anchor or a sack of sand) to further steady the tripod. Works better thiis way.
Pros: Well made for the price
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

KONUS 65 x 160 Tripod

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, TN Written on September 4, 2010
I purchased this tripod for use with my KONUSPOT 100 which is a fairly bulky spotting scope. The scope is well made and this drove my decision to purchase a KONUS tripod to use with the scope. There's a lot to like about the tripod, built in levels, carrying case etc. What's not to like is the flimsy feel to the product. I was really nervous trusting a $300+ scope to this tripod. The mount "appears" somewhat lacking and the scope did shake slightly in a small breeze. Overall you get what you pay for, but KONUS should have a top line tripod option for this great ( but large) spotting scope.
Pros: Inexpensive, relatively easy to use
Cons: Appears somewhat flimsy...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Konus tripod 65-160 perfect for chronographs

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on June 3, 2010
I was looking for a tripod to hold a chronograph when testfiring handloads. While the shorter Konus models (e.g. 1952) might work well at fixed benchrest ranges, I wanted something that would work in field situations where someone might need to set up off of something higher than a bench rest, like a car or shooting sticks. This model of Konus has the extra length. It's lightness is also nice is taken along into a field situation. However, it is so light that I intuitively feel that one must treat it as fragile. I have a heavy duty camera tripod in the 200-300 dollar range, but it is bulkier and heavier than this Konus, so I am glad to have the Konus for use with a chronograph. I am very happy with my purchase.
Pros: tall extension, light weight, low price
Cons: light materials feel they maybe fragile...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good Tripod for spotting scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on April 4, 2010
A good solid base for a heavy spotting scope. I used this base to watch while my so sighted a 25-06. When the wind gusts hit 25 - 30 mph it vibrated a little but we were having to wait for the wind to die down a little for the next shot anyway.
Pros: solid base, stable
Cons: allows a little vibration in high winds....
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Konus Spotting Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, NY Written on August 9, 2007
I bought this scope for my father for Christmas. It was an excellent scope for the price. Although we found that it had a crack on an internal lens. Optics Planet took it back and replaced it for us without any problems. My dad now enjoys seeing rare birds far out in Lake Michigan.
THANKS!!!
Pros: Easy to use and high quality
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 8 User Reviews of Konus 65-160cm Photo / Camera / Spotting scope Tripod w/ Carrying Case