2,537 Brands 453 Categories All Departments
Kowa Interchangeable Eyepieces for Kowa 66mm / 60mm / 82SV Spotting Scopes
Starts at $240.00
Purchase
Browse by Rating
(7 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Kowa TSE-9Z : Kowa 20-60x Zoom Eyepiece
I purchased this eye piece along with the Kowa TS 663 spotting scope. I have owned a Leupold 25 X spotting scope for about 25 years. I recently t...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Superb Quality Eyepice of Kowa TE-9Z

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, UT Written on September 29, 2012
I purchased the TE-9Z through Optics Planet/Dvor. I'm very impressed with the Kowa TE-9Z eyepiece. I pair it with a Kowa 664 ED 66mm spotting scope. It's a great combo.

The TE-9Z eyepiece makes sure you take full advantage of the superb optics offered in the compatible Kowa spotting scopes. The eyepiece is usable practically through the entire range of the zoom and offers excellent optics, making it a very versatile eyepiece.

I've had various other spotting scopes, and most eyepieces are the weak link in the design of the scopes. Not the case with the Kowa TE-9Z. It is the best eyepiece I have used on all my spotting scopes. I'm very pleased with it. I believe it is a good value for the money. While not super cheap, it offers generous eye relief through entire zoom, great optics, twist eye cups, and a secure locking system.

I'm very happy with the combo of the Kowa eyepiece and spotting scope. I would absolutely recommend this eyepiece to anyone. When paired with a compatible Kowa scope, you've got a world class setup.
Pros: Usable through entire spectrum, good eye relief, excellent optical quality...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Kowa 20-60X Zoom Eyepiece

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on February 20, 2012
I purchased the 20-60X eyepiece for the Kowa 82SV scope. Both the eyepiece and scope body are top-of-the-line and are highly recommended. I shoot .223/5.56mm in High Power matches and can see the small bullet holes at 200 yards all of the time and at 300 yards on a decent day. This is my 4th spotting scope. I started at the bottom of the price range and worked my way up. The Kowa is by far the sharpest and clearest of all the scopes I looked at, including ones at much higher prices. I found that I didn't need the long eye relief eyepiece even though I wear glasses. The 20-60 zoom is handy in that I can tailor the power to both the distance and conditions. 60X is tough to use unless the stand is solid and the day isn't too dark- cloudy is OK, just not heavily overcast. The 82SV body has and 82mm objective lens so the exit ratio is 82/60 = 1.37. A ratio of 4 or more allows the eye to use all of the available light. Less than 4 and images could appear darker. The bottom line here is you get what you pay for- in this case the very high quality justifies the high price. Don't bother with the cheaper scopes and just go for the Kowa, you won't be sorry.
Pros: Quality, Clarity, Sharpness, Great Zoom, Bayonet Mount
Cons: Price (Ouch!)...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Kowa 664 kit

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on December 31, 2010
This spotting has been recommended by the lady(My assumption due to name) who reviews them for Optics Planet for a couple of years. I finally bought one and am totally pleased. I would absolutely not spend money on anything less than this Kowa 664, and there is no need to spend any more for another brand or a step up in size. Read what she has to say in the forum. She knows what she is talking about.
Pros: Excellent clarity and easy to operate
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Kowa TSE-9Z : Kowa 20-60x Zoom Eyepiece

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, KY Written on February 28, 2010
I purchased this eye piece along with the Kowa TS 663 spotting scope.

I have owned a Leupold 25 X spotting scope for about 25 years. I recently took up long range Hi Power rifle shooting and needed an angled eyepiece, more magnification and clarity to see bullet holes and shot markers at ranges past 200 yards.

I really like the angled eyepiece for prone shooting and objects are still clear when there is no mirage at 60 X magnification.

The Kowa is four times the price I paid for the Leupold. Is it four times better than the Leupold? There is no way for me tell how clear objects would be at 60 X in the Leupold.

Setting the Kowa at 25 X and viewing the same objects at the same time, I am still trying to convince myself that there is an optic advantage other than the ability to magnify up to 60X and the angled eyepiece which I desperately needed.

My suggestion to prospective buyers is to do a lot of research, more than I did.

You may find something that allows you to see what you expect at considerable less money.

Pros: Simplicity, Clarity...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 7 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

KW-WA-Eyepiece-TSE-Z9B

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NH Written on May 18, 2008
I have an old Kowa TS601 with an old 20-60X eyepiece. Wanted to upgrade but could not currently afford new scope & eyepiece. Forum suggested getting the TSE-Z9B eyepiece as a compromise. Works great, like having a new scope and can use the eyepiec whan upgrade to the TSN-6603 next year!
Pros: Adds new life to old Kowa scope!
Cons: Will eventually want a new scope to match eye piece!...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Super eyepiece with crummy eye cup

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MI Written on July 25, 2007
Great eyepice even in low light. Watched an owl at twilight last evening from 125 yards or more. For eyeglass wearers who need the LER you shoudl throw out the rubber eyecup and buy the $60 clear screw on cover.
Pros: Great clarity and long eye relief
Cons: Useless rubber eyecup defeats LER...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Zoom LER eyepiece the way to go

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MI Written on July 25, 2007
Great versatile eyepiece; I can see .22 caliber holes at 200 meters on 60X no problem under most conditions.

Eye relief is not that long at higher zooms, I still remove my glasses when using high magnification.
Pros: 60X rocks! eye relief great at 25X
Cons: Eye relief still short at 60X...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 7 User Reviews of Kowa Interchangeable Eyepieces for Kowa 66mm / 60mm / 82SV Spotting Scopes