2,534 Brands 453 Categories All Departments
Leaper 5th Gen Bug Buster 3-9 x 32mm AO Mini Rifle Scope SCP-M392AOMDL
Browse by Rating
(16 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Better than i thought
I was surprised on the clarity of the optics, i have paid a lot more money ...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review Super short eye relief
For $70 it's hard to be too critical. This scope needs to be no more than ...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Value for money, but temper expections

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on January 6, 2013
First, let's remember that this si a $75 dollar scope. If you're purchasing this scope with the expectation that it's equal to a $300+ scope, prepare to be disappointed.

If I'm being critical I'm going to point out three things that you will get if you pay more money for a scope.

1) The single biggest "flaw" in this scope is that there is some parallax (watch this vid I did http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Opm0r7GOCuE) even when you adjust the AO parallax compensation.

2) The cross hairs are thick. It's a minor point, but I'd guess based on my tests that the lines of the crosshairs will cover 3/4" at about 100yds at the 9X setting or about 3" at the same distance at 3X.

3) It's heavy for it's size weighing in (on my scale its about 14oz (+4oz for the rings, which by themselves are very heavy.

1) On the positive side it's built like a tank.

2) It has very respectable optics

3) Has lock-down features on the MOA ajustment

4) comes with tool- less removable rings

5)Lots of extras under $100

6) Great price.

If you temper your expectations and are shooting under 100yds (or arnt expecting sub MOA accuracy at long range), I think you'll be happy.
Pros: Solidly built, Clear optics, lots of features and well built for price point
Cons: Parallax, heavy...
Would recommend: Yes
10 of 11 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Truman

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NC Written on February 12, 2012
Clear, works well and is a great value. I will buy another for a similar AR.
Pros: Good value, as advertised
Cons: requires medium/high rings for flat top and should be stated in description....
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

OK Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on January 1, 2012
Eye relief is short. I used an offset scopemount that put the scope back an extra 2". Glass good but must refocus if you change magnification.
Pros: Glass is good, good price
Cons: Does not stay in focus when you change magnification...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Product is "so-so"...

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on December 23, 2011
OpticsPlanet has terrible customer service and they have attempted to cheat me out of money on 2 seperate occasions.. Do yourself a favor and buy from Amazon !! Avoid the Optics-Headache..
Pros: Leapers is "ok"
Cons: Dealing with OpticsPlanet is the mistake.....
Would recommend: No
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Well worth the money

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on October 28, 2011
I purchased this scope after reading many, many reviews on a couple different forums as well as here on Optics Planet. It performs well and looks even better on my M&P 15-22. I will be ordering Leapers scopes in the future.
Pros: Price, Works good, Looks cool
Cons: 150 Rounds and none yet...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leaper UTG Bug Buster 3-9 x 32mm AO Mini Rifle Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, TX Written on July 14, 2011
Mounted on 5.56x45 AR-15 SBR Carbine.
Responded well to Windage & Elevation changes during sight-in. Performs as expected. Ideal for my application but eye relief is a bit short. May need extended rear ring to bring scope to a comfortable position.
Pros: Compact size - Mildot - A/O - Illuminated Recticle
Cons: Short eye relief...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Outstanding Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, FL Written on April 27, 2011
This is a truly excellent product regardless of pricing. I bought it for use as an enhanced broad-spectrum battle scope for a customized CZ/D-Technik vz.58 rifle and could not be more impressed with its durability and performance in the field in virtually any tactical scenario. It certainly helps the vz.58 to realize its full potential, yet is compact and reasonably light. I have installed and used a variety of other scopes, some of which were very expensive high-end items with excellent features and performance, on this same rifle, and have found the Bug Buster to still be the best all-around choice. The price is quite amazing considering its capabilities. Also, I have not experienced the eye relief issues which some other reviewers seem to have had, so Leapers may have tightened its QA/QC protocols. As usual, Optics Planet was quick and efficient in filling this order and the staff definitely deserve to be commended for outstanding service!
Pros: Adjustable magnification, superb optical clarity, AO, illuminated reticle, zero-locking turrets, Mil-Dot range estimating capability, solidly built, user-friendly ergonomics.
Cons: Battery capacity is good but could still be easily improved with a minor modification on the production line....
Would recommend: Yes
8 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leapers 3x9 32mm air rifle scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on March 24, 2011
So far this scope has preformed better that the other 5 I have had on my Benjamin Legecy 1000, one didn't even make it throught the sighting-in stage. That one was from a big name scope co.
Pros: the lighted reticle and mil dots
Cons: would like to see a lock ring on the focus ring....
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leaper UTG Bug Buster 3-9

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on February 4, 2011
the eye relief is maybe 2 in. at most fills like less than 1 in. when you put your eye up to it. for this reason i would only recommend this scope for a youth shooter with a 22. or BB gun. If you are using any other rifle get something else. i had to give this an over all rating of 3 because the scope it self other than the eye relief was great and it stayed zeroed in and was clear but like i said the 1 in. eye relief makes it useless.
Pros: it can focus in at 3 feet its a clear scope
Cons: the eye relief makes the scope unuseable...
Would recommend: No
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Super short eye relief

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on December 10, 2010
For $70 it's hard to be too critical. This scope needs to be no more than 1/2" from your eye socket in order to get the full field of view. Because of this, it's not likely a good idea to put this on a rifle that has any noticeable recoil/"kick". To accomplish such close placement to the eye, I used Leapers 38mm (1.5") offset mount RGWMOFS38-25H4 on my Ruger 10/22 rifle. Even with this mount, the six-position ATI stock needs to be set to the second shortest position to get my eye close enough. At this stock setting, the rifle is held very close to the body because the whole assembly is so short...which may be perfect for a child shooter. As an adult shooter, I will need to replace this scope in order to see the whole field of view with the stock in the most comfortable, fully-extended position.
Pros: Small, nicely made
Cons: 1/2" eye relief, tiny field of view...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 16 User Reviews of Leaper 5th Gen Bug Buster 3-9 x 32mm AO Mini Rifle Scope SCP-M392AOMDL