2,509 Brands 451 Categories All Departments
Leatherwood Red Dot 1x50 Sight with Mount
$97.99 $119.00 Save 18%
Average Customer Review (10 reviews)
Share your thought Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Good choice!
I don't have a ton of money to spend on "dressing out" my AR, so when I saw...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review Strike 3
First off, Hat off to Optics Planet! Superb customer service, prompt repli...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Strike 3

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, WA Written on July 1, 2012
First off, Hat off to Optics Planet! Superb customer service, prompt replies and fast shipping. Willing to go above and beyond.

As for the Leatherwood HI-LUX 50MM RDS, after strike 3, of receiving a damaged product, I decided we'd wasted enough money on shipping and that I'd chock this up as a loss.
First scope arrived with a horrible assembly of the front angled lens. Too much reflection in the optics (in ANY light condition).
Second scope arrived, scratched front lens (or possible debris stuck to the inside of the lens) again, red DOT was more of a pixelated "L" shape.
3rd arrived, lens construction was clear and debris free, scratches inside the aluminum tube which can be seen from the outside, front flip up lens had a crack. This time the red DOT was pixelated, but a jagged star shape this time.
Sadly, there are not many options for 50MM RDS out there, and from my research they all seem to be made by the same person with different tags for who's distributing them.

In conclusion, I even tried to contact Leatherwood/HI-LUX direct. Never answered their phone (during day or night, PST) nor ANY of the e-mails...

Lesson Learned.

Pros: 50MM RDS, period.
Cons: horrible construction...
Would recommend: No
5 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Nice red dot sight

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, FL Written on April 29, 2012
I bought this as my first red dot sight for 2-gun IDPA matches. I put it on a S&W M&P 15-22 and it looks great and works well. The brightness settings are easily adjustable and I have no problems seeing the dot even on the sunniest of days. The objective lens is huge and lets in plenty of light. I really like the fact that it cowitnesses with my iron sights without need of any additional elevation. Although I do like it, if I had my druthers, I'd have bought the model with in the smaller (30mm) size. This one is a bit too bulky. I also wish it had an auto off switch because it's way too easy to forget to turn it off.
Pros: Huge objective lens, cowitnesses with my iron sights
Cons: Weight, no auto off...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

I bought the wrong scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NV Written on April 20, 2012
This looks to be a really great unit for someone that shoots at night. However I don't, so this scope is useless to me. I realize now that I needed a green dot scope. I would really like to exchange it for a green dot.
Pros: Looks to be very well made and easily useable.
Cons: This is a night scope, no good for daytime shooting....
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leatherwood ES1X50TP

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MO Written on March 31, 2012
Super-Wide Field-Of-View Is Very Comfortable Both In Single Eye Viewing And Double Eye (Rapid) Sighting. Clear With Installed Covers Up. Less So With Covers Down But Still Useful. Covers Tend To Pop Open Spontaneously When The Weapon Is Fired.
Pros: Large, Clear FOV
Cons: Red Dot On;y, Better If It Had Both Colors...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

buy it

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on March 23, 2012
i was looking for a low budget red dot that is could use in low light, after checking several budget ones i decided on this one because of the big aperture of 50 mm since i wanted to be able to keep both eyes open,owning a eotech i can compare and see the difference, but for the price this is a no frills budget decent sight
Pros: easy to use both eyes open specially convinient in low light and best bang for the buck , easy to install , it allso allows my ar 15 flattop to use the iron sights if needed thru the scope , the 50mm is big enough to alow it
Cons: is not able to work under full sunlight...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

blurred red dot

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on November 7, 2011
On the left 50% of the optic and when eye relief is increased the red dot degraded into a cloud/smeer.
Pros: large optic/price
Cons: red cloud not a dot...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Better than expected

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on November 5, 2011
Rapid, both-eyes-open sight acquisition!

This sight maintained a solid zero on my Saiga-12 after firing x50 slugs and 20 shells of 00 buck. I think that says it all, considering that almost no other weapon that this sight would be mounted on would create near as much recoil/shock. As soon as I had it dialed in, a 3" group of slugs was produced at 50 yards. The 0-11 settings of light intensity was plentiful during bright daylight at an outdoor range and more than enough at night. The low settings in dark areas allow you to look around normally with both eyes without an over-bright or tell tale laser. I am ordering another for my AR after posting this review. This sight delivered more than I expected which inspired me to post my first ever review of any product. Hope you have the same results!
Pros: big 50mm offers rapid, both eyes open acquisition. Full range intensity dial. Held solid zero on Saiga 12 slugger
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
8 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MO Written on November 15, 2008
Seem like it will be a good scope - my wife will be using it and she said the dot size was large enough - I don't agree though. Haven't set it up yet, but it should be simple. Only thing I would say is do a little more homework than I did. There are many other red dots that look exactly like this one with the same features for much less money. For all I know, there could be one mfgr making these & putting a wide variety of prices on them - then again, maybe not. It still seem like a good red dot.
Pros: bright red dot
Cons: the dot could be a little larger...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 23 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good choice!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NC Written on September 10, 2008
I don't have a ton of money to spend on "dressing out" my AR, so when I saw this item for less than $100 I thought that I would give it a try. It arrived on my doorstep in around 3 days. I took it out of the box, put it on my AR, and I was ready to go. I like the 1 MOA...Its not to big and not too small. There are 11 brightness adjustments which is good for low light and full sun. I haven't "0'd" it in yet, but the instructions seem simple enough. On top of everything else, it came with two batteries, one already installed. It's light, so it doesn't weigh my AR down and it looks good. I'm sure a $1000 trijicon or aimpoint is better, but for the money, this is a great product.
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing...
Would recommend: Yes
19 of 24 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

EXCELLENT RED DOT

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, AZ Written on April 25, 2008
RED DOT HAS A LARGE, EASY TO VIEW 50MM TUBE. MOUNTS EASILY ON PICATINNY RAIL. IT IS A LITTLE PRICIER THAN SOME RED DOTS BUT IS WORTH THE MONEY
Pros: LARGE TUBE
Cons: NONE...
Would recommend: Yes
16 of 22 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Leatherwood Red Dot 1x50 Sight with Mount Product Reviews Comments