2,510 Brands 452 Categories All Departments
Leupold 20 - 60 x 80 SX1 Ventana Angled Spotting Scope
Starts at $376.99
Purchase
Average Customer Review (10 reviews)
Share your thought Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Perfect Scope with Bushnell Advanced Titanium Tripod
Great one time "life time" purchase. Cudos to OpticsPlanet Technical Staff who helped me select the right tripod. Highly recommend purchasing the Bus...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

First Spotting Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on April 14, 2014
This is my first venture into the purchase and use of a spotting scope, for use in sighting-in a rifle. Overall, it has been just what I needed to get an excellent down range picture of my shots up to 200 yds. I have not tried to utilize it beyond that as I do not intend to target anything beyond that distance. Chalk that up to old age and diminished eyesight. The scope is excellent in optic quality for viewing bullet hits clearly and crisply, with its focusing adjustments. I do also like and appreciate the adjustable eye relief provided on the eye piece. Some reviewers have been critical of the quality of the hard case, but in my opinion, its quite adequate for the purpose and provides a good secure storage. It appears to be well padded, with foam to protect the scope from most general bumps and thumps. Is it going to hold up to the type of handling and trashing by airport baggage handlers? No, its not, but I don't think thats what Leupold had in mind in the design. My main criticism is that either the tripod does not provide a good support at bench level, for the size of the scope, or the scope to tripod mount cannot be tightened enough to keep even a mild breeze from causing the scope to shake and creating difficulties in good steady visual field. Other than that, I think it was a great purchase for my purposes and needs. Bottom line you really can't go wrong with a Leupold product.
Pros: Usual Leupold Quality
Cons: Tripod to scope connection could be better...
Would recommend: Yes
8 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leupold Spotting Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on August 23, 2013
Expected better resolution at highest power. I put UV lens filters on all good glass if possible. If I get a scratch I don't want it on the high dollar glass. This scope doesn't appear to be threaded for that purpose.
Pros: Fairly crisp image at 100 yards
Cons: Not threaded for lens filter to protect glass...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Perfect Scope with Bushnell Advanced Titanium Tripod

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, FL Written on July 14, 2013
Great one time "life time" purchase. Cudos to OpticsPlanet Technical Staff who helped me select the right tripod. Highly recommend purchasing the Bushnell Advanced Titanium Tripod along with the Leupold Ventana scope if you will use the Ventana while standing or as a multi-purpose scope. Tripod has 3 axis controls, and it will easily pan to follow moving animals, boats, planes etc. I'm also extremely happy with this configuration for a benchrest application which only needs 2 axis controls. Prior buyer comments steered me away from the scope kit that includes the case/tripod. Two important points for the Ventana/Bushnell setup are I'm a little over 6 ft tall (a benchrest consideration), and you'll need to get a separate travel case to tote the scope and tripod. This is a one time purchase for the best affordable equipment within my budget which is much more important than purchasing the kit with a lesser quality tripod and less functionality. Getting clear optics at a 1000+ yards which is so much more than expected!
Pros: Ease of Use, Clarity, Crisp Optics even in Low Light.
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
13 of 13 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Abs on the Trail

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on May 13, 2013
I bought the Ventana spotting scope from a recommendation of a seasoned hunter. Initially, I had bought a less expensive spotting scope from a different manufacturer. When I proudly displayed all of my optics (spotting scope, binoculars and rifle scope), he looked at me and told me "don't even take those out of the box."
I'm old enough to know you get what you pay for. The only problem is, I keep forgetting that.
During a family outing, I decided to take the Leupold to the park next to a trailhead. I was more than pleased with the clarity. I was able to clearly see the details of leaves - through the heat waves - over 2000 feet away. That was something I hadn't expected.
Shortly into my exploration my two young kids pulled me away to do some exploring of their own. From a distance away, I could see my wife glued to the scope. This was odd because she is rarely interested in my toys.
When I returned she said "you've got a nice toy there. I could see the abs on that hiker on the side of that mountain. Nice."
I'm not sure if she meant the scope was nice or the hiker's abs.
I didn't purchase the scope with the tripod. I already have two to choose from.
The Ventana spotting scope is easy to use, has exceptional clarity (even through heat waves), and lives up to the Leupold name.
Pros: Clear, Easy to Use...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Angled Spotting Scope Kit

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MD Written on March 2, 2013
This scope is typical Leupold quality, in other words a really great piece of equipment. The only improvement I can see is to bump up the quality of the tripod head, plastic just doesn't cut it.
Pros: Great optics, east to work with.
Cons: Tripod head could be better, seems too light weight for the scope....
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Optics for the price

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, GA Written on March 1, 2013
I use this spotting scope for target shooting. Several years ago, I went cheap on my first spotting scope and it started fuzzing-up at 100 yards - see the target, but not the holes. this Leopold has awesome clarity and great field of view at 200 yards (limit of my range). I also recommend the Optics Planet write-up on selecting a spotting scope.
Pros: Excellent Clarity, Good field of vision...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Enjoying my new Leupold SX-1 Ventana

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on January 5, 2013
I am happy with my purchase, just wish the tripod was more stable when rotating for angled tabletop applications, but great value for $
Pros: Fantastic optics, very clear, good construction
Cons: Angled piece doesn't rotate, so tripod takes some massaging for tabletop...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good Value for the money

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on September 17, 2012
Works fine. Get a heavy duty bipod. Some of the material protecting the scope bubbled up.
Pros: Clear Optics; easy to use
Cons: Cheap case. Cosmetic issues...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great, high quality product.

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on August 6, 2012
The scope is just incredible, but throw the tripod in the trash!
Pros: Incredibly clear optics.
Cons: Tripod...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Well worth the money

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on June 14, 2012
I've had this spotting scope for a month now and have made several trips to the range with it. Everything has met my expectations.
Pros: A good buy
Cons: None so far ...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 10 User Reviews of Leupold 20 - 60 x 80 SX1 Ventana Angled Spotting Scope