2,510 Brands 452 Categories All Departments
Leupold 4-12x40mm Matte VX-R Riflescope
Starts at $599.99
Purchase
Average Customer Review (11 reviews)
Share your thought Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review 1st Leupold
This was my first Leupold after owning better and definitely worse scopes, I was SO bummed when it came, no cover and the rubber on the eyepeice was d...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Leupold VX-4-4-12 Firedot 4 Reticle

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, SC Written on September 7, 2013
Great scope for the money and no need to pay $1000 for a scope when this is perfect for most hunting situations.
Pros: Quality of product; visibility in low light
Cons: Can't find any...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

leupoldblankslate

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, VA Written on July 16, 2013
a highly useful scope designed for the field
Pros: excellent optics & rugged construction
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Oregon boy

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on July 10, 2013
Fire dot works as advertised, but the optics are so-so and the tracking was off initially.
Turret too easy to turn and WILL move in gun case!
Biggest draw back for me is lack of parallax adjustment that hinders performance at longer range.
I feel it is a reasonable scope for mid range hunting in cover, but would not buy another.
VX3 with AO is better IMO.
Pros: Reasonable price and good company
Cons: No parallax adjustment...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Cant Beat A Leupold

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, PA Written on June 17, 2013
This is an amazing peice of glass. I have a VXR 3-9 40mm on my Colt AR-15 and I loved it so much that I bought the VXR 4-12 40mm for my Rem 700. Outstanding Eye relief (Best in its Class) and a very wide feild of view. Not to mention you get a Crystal clear picture and a sweet illuminated red dot to help you target. All around fantastic scope. Liked it so much that I bought 2 of them. I would highly reccomend this scope to any shooter in anyt situation....
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leupold = Great scopes

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, IN Written on April 4, 2013
I just installed this on my Colt LE 901. It took 4 shots to zero it in. I was shooting in very bright sunlight, and the firedot was totally visible. Love the ballistic reticle. I have quite a few Leupold scopes, but I think this is the very best one I own.
Pros: Extremely clear, sharp reticle
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

VX-R-4X12

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on February 20, 2013
Another great scope by Leupold. The ballistic reticle is great.It has sharp optics and shoots 1" groups at 100 yards with only 6 shots to sight it in with my AAC 300 blackout on AR 15 platform.
Pros: Great sharp red dot
Cons: NONE...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, AL Written on January 18, 2013
Good value, dot works as advertised. ...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Scope!!!!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on November 24, 2012
I mounted this scope on my .308 rifle and it works great. I trust the Leupold name along with the optic planet website. Both are great.
Pros: quality, dependable.
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

1st Leupold

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, OR Written on April 19, 2012
This was my first Leupold after owning better and definitely worse scopes, I was SO bummed when it came, no cover and the rubber on the eyepeice was dangling off. Obviously someone got this, sent it back without the bikini cover and it went right back onto the shelf. Thankfully, the folks at Leupold sent me a new eyepiece and bikini cover within days. It's an awesome scope but the crosshair is so thick, over 1 MOA, yes you read that right. So trying to get any more accurate than 1" is pointless, that's disapointing considering the rifle I put it on will do 3x better than that!
Pros: Great clarity and light transmission
Cons: Very coarse cosshair reticle...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

mounted on AR-15

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MS Written on February 27, 2012
True Leupold quality with the FireDot 4 reticle makes for very precise aiming. Good adjustment of intensity for daylight or low light. Mounted it myself. Handles recoil.
Pros: FireDot 4 reticle, clarity, eye relief, auto shut-off
Cons: does not hold extra battery...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 11 User Reviews of Leupold 4-12x40mm Matte VX-R Riflescope