Products
2,519 Brands 481 Categories All Departments
Leupold 4-12x40mm Matte VX-R Riflescope
Starts at $599.99
Purchase
Browse by Rating
(15 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Great scope!
Great scope, just one word of caution. Leupold suggests that most 40mm scopes can be mounted with Low style rings. This one probably could be, but on ...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

VX-R 4x12x40 30mm CDS

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on June 17, 2014
This Idaho boy now agrees with Oregon boy's review. The VX-3 is better than the VX-R. For example, the VX-3 3x10x40 on my 7mm is better at 3 power than my VX-R 4x12x40 at 4 power. Plus, the VX-3 is a bighter and has more clear picture. I now wish I had got another VX-3 for my 300 RUM or saved my money and got a VX-6 with Firedot. The VX-R is a good scope but not worth the extra money when compared to the VX-3, IMHO.
Pros: Good Scope and Firedot is a nice feature
Cons: Not as clear as a VX-3...
Would recommend: No
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leupold VX-4-4-12 Firedot 4 Reticle

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, SC Written on September 7, 2013
Great scope for the money and no need to pay $1000 for a scope when this is perfect for most hunting situations.
Pros: Quality of product; visibility in low light
Cons: Can't find any...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

leupoldblankslate

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, VA Written on July 16, 2013
a highly useful scope designed for the field
Pros: excellent optics & rugged construction
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Oregon boy

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on July 10, 2013
Fire dot works as advertised, but the optics are so-so and the tracking was off initially.
Turret too easy to turn and WILL move in gun case!
Biggest draw back for me is lack of parallax adjustment that hinders performance at longer range.
I feel it is a reasonable scope for mid range hunting in cover, but would not buy another.
VX3 with AO is better IMO.
Pros: Reasonable price and good company
Cons: No parallax adjustment...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Cant Beat A Leupold

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, PA Written on June 17, 2013
This is an amazing peice of glass. I have a VXR 3-9 40mm on my Colt AR-15 and I loved it so much that I bought the VXR 4-12 40mm for my Rem 700. Outstanding Eye relief (Best in its Class) and a very wide feild of view. Not to mention you get a Crystal clear picture and a sweet illuminated red dot to help you target. All around fantastic scope. Liked it so much that I bought 2 of them. I would highly reccomend this scope to any shooter in anyt situation....
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leupold = Great scopes

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, IN Written on April 4, 2013
I just installed this on my Colt LE 901. It took 4 shots to zero it in. I was shooting in very bright sunlight, and the firedot was totally visible. Love the ballistic reticle. I have quite a few Leupold scopes, but I think this is the very best one I own.
Pros: Extremely clear, sharp reticle
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

VX-R-4X12

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on February 20, 2013
Another great scope by Leupold. The ballistic reticle is great.It has sharp optics and shoots 1" groups at 100 yards with only 6 shots to sight it in with my AAC 300 blackout on AR 15 platform.
Pros: Great sharp red dot
Cons: NONE...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, AL Written on January 18, 2013
Good value, dot works as advertised. ...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Scope!!!!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on November 24, 2012
I mounted this scope on my .308 rifle and it works great. I trust the Leupold name along with the optic planet website. Both are great.
Pros: quality, dependable.
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Excellent Scope!

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on July 8, 2012
Very pleased with this Leupold VX-R 4-12x40mm FireDot Duplex. Great choice for a DMR type build. Fast shipping too!
Pros: Sharp micro firedot, Great glass, Lightweight
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 15 User Reviews of Leupold 4-12x40mm Matte VX-R Riflescope