2,540 Brands 452 Categories All Departments
Leupold Kenai 30x / 25-60x80mm HD Spotting Scope, Straight, Gray/Black
Starts at $899.99
Purchase
Browse by Rating
(9 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Leupold gets it right
I've said that if Leupold brings out an HD spotting scope, I'd buy it. Well...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review keivn
would not recomand to any body.The kit not worth the money.The scope falls ...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Perfect Spotting Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on August 19, 2013
I have used it at the range for a month now and have had no issues with clarity or function of the product. I would recommend this unit to all my friends.
Pros: Worth the money
Cons: None at this time...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Love this Spotting Scope / Kit

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, TN Written on March 3, 2013
Overall I really like this spotting scope and the kit as well. Great scope. Easy controls. Well made. Nice hard and soft cases. Tripod not hard to mount, but would have preferred a non-detachable base for the screw. Not a huge deal. Overall a winner. Glad I sprand for the kit.
Pros: Clear, easy controls, tight, well made
Cons: Tripod mounting a bit clunky...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

keivn

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, OR Written on September 7, 2012
would not recomand to any body.The kit not worth the money.The scope falls way short of expectations,the 25x60x eye piece hard to see out of. focus exstreamly hard to turn.Tri pod junk. I'm supprised leupold sells this product and they won't back there product up.
Pros: 30x eye piece ok
Cons: kits bad, tri pod sucks, 25x60x eye piece sucks,focus hard to turn...
Would recommend: No
7 of 35 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Best Spotting Scope for the Money

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on August 26, 2012
It's easy to see why this scope earned Optics Planet's 2011 Brilliance Award. I have used scopes costing much more than this that have not performed any better.

I've used this scope at distances from 50 feet out to 1000 yards and it performs brilliantly at all points in between. The optics are crystal clear at all magification levels, and its controls are centrally located and easy to manipulate.

This is a large scope best suited to range use. It is extremely well made and solid, yet is simple to use.

I do not like the fact that it is made in China, a communist country, but it is made to Leupold specs - and these folks do not compromise quality, ever. The scope also comes with Leupold's ironclad lifetime warranty. The more expensive European scopes are made in socialist countries and there is not much difference between socialism and communism, so it is what it is.

This scope provides outstanding value for the money and is highly recommended. The only thing I would change if I could (aside from making it in America)would be that it should come with a heavy duty hardcase as is included with Leupold's combination kit instead of just a padded soft case.

All things considered, this may very well be the best general purpose spotting scope at any price.
Pros: Many- see below
Cons: Not American Made...
Would recommend: Yes
18 of 19 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good Product

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NV Written on September 8, 2011
Good scope, but the tripod will not lock into place, and it jiggles. It totally distracts from the over all quality and use of the product. I cannot believe that quality control let this kind of design flaw get by. Just buy the scope, forget the tripod it's junk!
Pros: clear optics, good features
Cons: tripod is horrible...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leupold Kenai 30x, 25-60x80mm HD Spotting Scope Straight Gray/Black

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on September 3, 2011
good scope with good clarity. I'm not sure why you have to mount the scope on an mounting plate before mounting it into the tripod?? very awkward. Also no fine adjustment knob on the tripod.
Pros: very clear image
Cons: poorly designed tripod and attachment...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leupold Kenai 30x, 25-60x80mm HD Spotting Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, OK Written on February 10, 2011
This product is one of the best Leupold products I've purchased. Recently learned that a compact spotting scope is not advantage over binoculars while scanning a mountain for elk. At the range in several different light conditions, this scope is very clear, easy to focus and the eye relief is good. For the money, it's a real bargain, I only wish I'd bought a spotting scopee of this caliber years ago.
Pros: Amazing power and clarity
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
10 of 10 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Kenai

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on October 15, 2010
Appears to be a great buy for the money. Might not be quite as good as the high end stuff, but for an average user, for 2 grand less, it's tough to beat. Thumbs up for the two eyepieces!
Pros: Bright and Clear
Cons: Heavy, but comparable to others of its size...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 9 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leupold gets it right

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on August 19, 2010
I've said that if Leupold brings out an HD spotting scope, I'd buy it. Well, they did and I did and here are a few observations. I hope they're helpful. The barrel mounted focusing ring was somewhat tight and does cause a bit of jiggling when focusing but not enough to become frustrating. The threaded lenses lock-up tightly on the body. The 25-60x lens clarity is adequate but the excellent 30x wide angle lens makes this scope shine. If we could get Leupold to offer a 25-50 wide angle accessory lens, this spotter would be a barn burner. With the 30x lens focusing on a city water tower at 973yds the Kenai rendered the image and it's detail crystal clear. At 303yds, 1 inch sign lettering was easily read. At the range at 500yds, I could not see the 6.5mm bullet holes with 30x but I could with 60x. This was at 7:30am and,in all fairness,low light conditions. Also, with the 30x lens looking at the early morning shadows at the range tree line, I could readily see into the darkest of them. This is usually a good indicator of quality glass. Yes,the box is stamped Made in China. If you can't live with that then your next stop is likely an HD from Swarovski, whose optics are near breath-taking, or Kowa or Zeiss at up to four times the price of the Kenai. All in all: High Definition is the way to go, Leupold is still a reputable, consumer oriented American company and the quality Kenai gives you your money's worth....and maybe a little more.
Pros: A quality spotting scope
Cons: 25-60x...
Read More...
Would recommend: Yes
146 of 148 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 9 User Reviews of Leupold Kenai 30x / 25-60x80mm HD Spotting Scope, Straight, Gray/Black