2,544 Brands 453 Categories All Departments
Leupold VX-3 4.5-14x40mm Rifle Scope
Starts at $549.99
Purchase
Browse by Rating
(30 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Standard Leupold Excellence
I have used the VX-3 scope line for years, but only started using the Boone & Crocket reticle system a few years back when I went on Safari in South A...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Good Scope but Diminishing Returns per Dollar

by JLC, from United States, IA Written on September 6, 2014
This is a Leupold scope and is well constructed as are all Leupolds.
Comparing this against a Leupold VX-1 it replaced, the clarity and resolution is better but not stunningly so. Compared against a VX-2 very little difference. That probably says as much about the lower-priced Leupolds as it does about the VX-3. For low-light use all of them are usable down to most legal shooting hours anyway.

You do get the twin-bias erector assembly and that is a good thing especially for heavy-recoiling calibers.

The scope cover provided with the VX-3 is cheesy. Gets in the way cleaning and picks up solvents. I much prefer the simple bikini covers that come with the other lines.

Got the CDS option for this. I suppose it will be useful. But I have been trying to contact Leupold to get a dial and I refuse to spend an hour on hold. Why they can't provide a simple Web-based order-entry form is a mystery. It's not rocket science it's just ballistics. If you buy this scope in September to hunt with it in October good luck. First you have to get customer support then wait 6 weeks to get the dial. There must be some little old guy with a jewelers' lope tuck in his eye engraving the dials....
Pros:
  • Leupold Quality
  • Twin Bias Erectors
Cons:
  • Low Value per Dollar
Would recommend: No
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Quite Probably my All-Time Favorite Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, IL Written on May 28, 2014
While one of my favorite scopes is Leupold's VX 3,3.5-10x40mm, this 4.5-14X40mm model may surpass it only because of the additional power factor. It's easy to overscope one's rifle, meaning that too much magnification can be a detriment depending upon one's intended use and shooting style. In this case, I can use the lower settings for general target shooting and then crank it up for benchrest applications, making it extremely versatile. This scope is a tremendous value for the money because it performs every bit as well, if not better, than many European models costing a lot more. The optics are crystal-clear, the windage and elevation controls are strong, reliable and robust, the scope is as tough as a Delta Force operator, is American made and comes with Leupold's iron-clad lifetime warranty. You can't go wrong with any VX 3 scope.
Pros: Extreme quality and optical clarity, tremendous value for the money, unsurpassed strength and durability, unequaled accuracy and reliability
Cons: Absolutely none...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

VX-3 4.5X14 Scope with

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on January 28, 2014
Love the Varmit Reticle. Scope was a great addition...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on October 8, 2013
There is no adjustable objective to slow you down and it has true 1/4 MOA adjustments.
Pros: No adjustabel objective
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Scope, Leupold is top notch

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MS Written on August 19, 2013
Leupold makes great products that are top notch!
Pros: CDS is easy to use, great clarity, excellent quality
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Hog and Coyote hunter

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, TX Written on July 22, 2013
Bought another one for my ar10. Simply love the scope makes everyone a long range accurate shooter.
Pros: easy set-up, great eye relief,easy to dial in the range, need a good rangefinder.
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Clearest optics I own.

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, HI Written on June 5, 2013
This is by far the clearest optics I own. The price was a little steep, but I think after using it in the field the money will be worth it. I mounted it on my Remmington 7mm mag and have only been able to shoot the gun once with the new scope on. It was extremely windy so I wasn't able to sight in the gun yet, but I'm looking forward to sighting my gun in with this new amazing scope soon.
Pros: Great Scope
Cons: A little pricey...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great scope!

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, CA Written on May 2, 2013
This is my first rifle scope purchase. 2" groupings at 100 yards with a few adjustments in my first 8 rounds.
Pros: clear, sharp view...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great scope, Good price

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on April 26, 2013
I feel like I got a lot of scope for the price!
Pros: clear glass, easy to use, good magnification range
Cons: There's really no down side to this scope...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leupold Vx3 4.5-14x40

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, VA Written on March 25, 2013
Great scope for money. Easy to focus, good eye relief
Pros: Excellent clarity
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 30 User Reviews of Leupold VX-3 4.5-14x40mm Rifle Scope