2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
SF-50BS LOMO SF-50 Stereo Microscope, Binocular 2.4X - 47.2X w/ Reflected Light Stand is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase LOMO SF-50 Stereo Microscope, Binocular 2.4X - 47.2X w/ Reflected Light Stand and other Microscopes by LOMO.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.5 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.7 / 5
Usability 4.8 / 5
Features 4.4 / 5
Value for your money 4.9 / 5
Meets expectations 4.8 / 5

LOMO SF-50 Stereo Microscope, Binocular 2.4X - 47.2X w/ Reflected Light Stand Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 12

No more arm?

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Steven McClain (verified customer) , Electrical Engineer., from Vancouver, BC on Apr 11, 2012
Pros:  Inexpensive, Good quality, excellent value
Cons:  No more arm mount. (ever?)
Would recommend:  no

Steven McClain wrote:

I have three of these and have in the past had no hesitation recommending this fine instrument. As they will no longer offer the arm option, I will not be able to recommend this anymore.

Was Steven McClain's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

LOMO SF-50 Stereo Microscope, Trinocular

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Lithobius (verified customer) from Decatur, GA on Feb 1, 2012
Pros:  Great optics and accessories for the price
Cons:  Old Russian stock - you take a chance that it's all in working order
Would recommend:  yes

Lithobius wrote:

hard not to recommend given the price. But it is old Russian stock. First one I received had a lens alignment issue at the highest magnification. OP are sending another (haven't received it yet. The optics however are great, and it's hard to beat for value with all the extras (graticules and triocular module).

Was Lithobius's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

New Old Stock?

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: ki5ka from Pipa, NM on Aug 12, 2011
Pros:  Great optics for the money
Cons:  Appears to be very old with corrosion and mold on lenses
Would recommend:  yes

ki5ka wrote:

You certainly can't get more for you money, but this scope is obviously very old with corrosion inside, oxidized rubber parts and mold on the lenses. After a rebuild, works well, but is not in "new" condition.

Was ki5ka's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

the lomo stereo-scope for technical work.

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Phips (verified customer) from Montreal, Quebec on Jun 29, 2011
Pros:  great 36x at 170mm distance, sf arm is very stable
Cons:  lamp of an other era
Would recommend:  yes

Phips wrote:

This is a great stereo-microscope. The Optics is first class. The 170mm standoff distance is a must for electronic rework with a soldering iron. The standard illumination system is from another era but once replaced by a powerfull LED source, this Russian creation really shines.

Was Phips's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Just wonderful!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: eposticus (verified customer) , Entomology graduate student and teacher of biology in Chicago, from Chicago IL on Jun 22, 2011
Pros:  Clear images, user friendly and thoughtful design
Cons:  Lamp gets hot but it does work
Would recommend:  yes

eposticus wrote:

I have been looking into this microscopoe for years. I finally was able to view one and immediately bought it for myself. As an entomologist it is important to see very small structures on my specimens so that I can make accurate observations and identifications of the insects I am studying. The working distance is perfect, the images are clear and crisp, and the heft, construction, and durability of this scope is evident. I highly recommend it to anyone, even if they can afford a more expensive brand.

Was eposticus's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

good product

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: dmi (verified customer) from columbus oh on Mar 14, 2011
Would recommend:  yes

dmi wrote:

good product

Was dmi's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 2

LOMO SF-50 Stereo Microscopes,

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: kirodessy (verified customer) from New York on Mar 3, 2011
Would recommend:  yes

kirodessy wrote:

Very happy with the purchase

Was kirodessy's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

SF-50BA

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Steve Cote (verified customer) , Knife maker, engraver, from Arco, Idaho on Dec 13, 2010
Pros:  Great Price for the quality and performance
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

Steve Cote wrote:

I am a knife maker and engraver doing very detailed engravings. I purchased this Lomo scope versus Chinese brands for 2 reasons: when researching scopes I discovered many warnings from other engravers regarding variable Chinese scope quality. Lomo is considered by some engravers as a step up but still very affordable. Secondly, trying to get tech. info over the phone from distributors of Chinese scopes was impossible as they spoke unintelligible english. Optics planet inquiries yielded clear advice and was just what I needed. The 14X eyepieces appeared defective as they wouldn't produce a clear binocular image, however customer service was on par with the claims.

Was Steve Cote's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

SF-50BS

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Philip S. Crosby (verified customer) , Electronics Engineer, from Portland, OR on May 7, 2010
Pros:  Great Value
Cons:  Eyecups fall off easily
Would recommend:  yes

Philip S. Crosby wrote:

I am an electronics engineer who often does his own prototyping. The SF-50 gives me good working distance for both assembly and inspection. Exceeds my expectations. Particularly appreciated the extra illuminator bulbs (although LEDs would be nicer). There is some field curvature at the edges, but I'm very pleased with it.

Was Philip S. Crosby's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

LOMO swing arm scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Allen (verified customer) , electrical engineer, from Brooklyn Park on May 3, 2010
Pros:  large working area, mountable many table tops
Cons:  prefer LED light, took a minute to figure out eye width adjustment
Would recommend:  yes

Allen wrote:

Sturdy Russian construction, no continuous zoom rather fixed steps, but does great job inspecting printed circuit boards. Haven't tried out different optics yet. Seems to be slightly better deal than Amscope.

Was Allen's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Reviews - LOMO SF-50 Stereo Microscope, Binocular 2.4X - 47.2X w/ Reflected Light Stand - UPC: SF50-SF-50BS