2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
04066-1 Meade 114EQ-ASTR F/8.8 4.5in 114mm Equatorial Reflector Telescope w/ Autostar Suite Software, Red Dot Finderscope, two Eyepieces, Tripod - 04066 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Meade 114EQ-ASTR F/8.8 4.5in 114mm Equatorial Reflector Telescope w/ Autostar Suite Software, Red Dot Finderscope, two Eyepieces, Tripod - 04066 and other Telescopes by Meade.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.6 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.8 / 5
Usability 4.3 / 5
Features 4.3 / 5
Value for your money 4.6 / 5
Meets expectations 4.5 / 5

Meade 114EQ-ASTR F/8.8 4.5in 114mm Equatorial Reflector Telescope w/ Autostar Suite Software, Red Dot Finderscope, two Eyepieces, Tripod - 04066 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 13

Great Beginer scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Rick Ponce (verified customer) , Novice star gazer, from CA on Sep 16, 2010
Pros:  Easy to get aquainted with
Cons:  stability could be firmer,
Would recommend:  yes

Rick Ponce wrote:

I wish I had gotten a couple accesseries like the 90' lens and the 2x multiplier

Was Rick Ponce's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 2

I Have One

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: Raymond from Canyon Lake on Sep 13, 2010
Pros:  Not Many
Cons:  Unstable, Poor lens quality.
Would recommend:  no

Raymond wrote:

First thing you'll have to do if you keep it is buy a 2x Barlow lens if not just buy a good set of binoculars you'll see much more,The scope is very unstable but if you have allot of patience you can work with it, I have a 60mm refracting scope that I gave 79.99 for that's much better and not as shaky, The Barlow will make allot of difference but you can do nothing about the shaking that I know of although I'm keeping mine and working on building a new set of legs or stands it still will not be worth the money I paid for it.Unless you are will to buy the Barlow and do a little work on the legs you need to look for a better telescope I would not recommend It to anyone.

Was Raymond's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 1

Meade 114 EQ ASTR Kit

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Ranger John from Weches, TX on Sep 4, 2010
Pros:  A lot of bang for the buck.
Cons:  Will need a "handy" adult to set it up.
Would recommend:  yes

Ranger John wrote:

Excellent first scope. Best eyepiece I've seen in a beginner scope. Works best with the lower power eyepiece.

Was Ranger John's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Great one for beginners

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: barrrj from oklahoma city on Jan 7, 2010
Would recommend:  yes

barrrj wrote:

Bought this for my daugher for a gift and so far has worked out great. She is eight and is having no problems learning how to use it. Have not looked at alot of things so far due to the cold weather, but the moon sure look beautiful.

Was barrrj's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 3

Good for the money

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: tasberry (verified customer) from Rolla Mo. on Dec 16, 2009
Pros:  easy set up and good and clear views
Would recommend:  yes

tasberry wrote:

is more than expected for a resonably priced begginer telescope

Was tasberry's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

great gift

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: staybizzy (verified customer) , star gazer, from russell springs ky. on Dec 7, 2009
Would recommend:  yes

staybizzy wrote:

can't wait to upgrade to something bigger this is a cool way to view the stars. thanks.

Was staybizzy's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 1

Telescope for Beginners

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: dandy1234 (verified customer) from Bryan, Texas on Sep 2, 2009
Pros:  Easy assembly, says what it does
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

dandy1234 wrote:

This telescope was easy to assemble and pleased my son tremendously for his birthday. He is ready to purchase a couple more lenses, but is overall satisfied with the unit. Excellent product at a value price!

Was dandy1234's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 2

Beginner Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: LP from Boca Raton Florida on Jan 4, 2009
Pros:  Easy to assemble
Cons:  Not sure how to use it, the instructions are vague.
Would recommend:  yes

LP wrote:

The instruction booklet is a little vague. We were able to align the red dot finder and view the moon. We have not been able to view stars. They just look like bright lights and we have not been able to bring them into focus. We definitely need some more help, but the website is not any better than the booklet.

Was LP's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 8

Excellent value

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Sue from Tewksbury, MA on Dec 29, 2008
Pros:  Good product, shipping very fast
Would recommend:  yes

Sue wrote:

My 10 year old son asked for a telescope for Christmas; after reading many reviews I decided on this model and was thrilled at the price I found on this site. He also asked for a microscope so having that product included free was even greater. Both he and my husband are very happy and are also looking forward to the free subscription to the magazine.

Was Sue's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 1

meade eq-astr 114mm reflector

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Jerry , retiree, from Rehoboth Mass. on Aug 26, 2008
Pros:  very well made sturdy tripod eq mount very easy to use
Cons:  red dot scope difficult to dial in
Would recommend:  yes

Jerry wrote:

although I'm just learning the best choice I made was the meade 114 eq .It has all the features I need. It. may be just a basic telescope but after seriosly checking all of them out. A beginner could bot find a better scope for the money.The information that optics planet provided left no doubt in my mind that the selection I made with the resources I have, gave me the best choice, without breaking the bank. Thank you very much.

Was Jerry's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 15   not helpful: 2

Reviews - Meade 114EQ-ASTR F/8.8 4.5in 114mm Equatorial Reflector Telescope w/ Autostar Suite Software, Red Dot Finderscope, two Eyepieces, Tripod - 04066 - UPC: 709942216783