2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
0805-04-20 Meade ETX-80 AT-TC-BB Astro Telescope Autostar Backpack Edition w/ Tripod, Backpack, No Case is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Meade ETX-80 AT-TC-BB Astro Telescope Autostar Backpack Edition w/ Tripod, Backpack, No Case and other Telescopes by Meade.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.5 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.5 / 5
Usability 4.4 / 5
Features 4.5 / 5
Value for your money 4.5 / 5
Meets expectations 4.4 / 5

Meade ETX-80 AT-TC-BB Astro Telescope Autostar Backpack Edition w/ Tripod, Backpack, No Case Review - Page 2 - Reviews from 11 to 20 out of 20

Easy Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Patrick Nagel (verified customer) , Teacher of multple subjects at an alternative high school., from Ukiah, CA on Mar 26, 2010
Pros:  compact; quick set-up; auto-star
Cons:  focus takes a while
Would recommend:  yes

Patrick Nagel wrote:

I'm a novice, so I really shouldn't be rating this product, but it's easy to set-up and it's compact. I've only used it a couple of times but I like the auto-star feature because I've used other telescopes and couldn't find much of anything by myself.

Was Patrick Nagel's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 1

ETX-80AT-TC-BB

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:2 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Steve (verified customer) , Beginner, from Melbourne, Fl on Mar 2, 2009
Pros:  Super Idea & Overall Set-Up & Price
Cons:  Unreasonable expectation for neophyte set-up
Would recommend:  yes

Steve wrote:

I think it is a exceptional idea & overall product but needs improvement in implementation. The autostar alignment began way way off and no finder scope. I want to end on a positive note because I believe the drawbacks can be overcome by a good manual & not over-selling the GOTO features. Super idea & overall price.

Was Steve's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 9   not helpful: 1

ETX-80 backpack kit

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: NiteLooker (verified customer) , 68 yr old beginner, from Monett, MO on Nov 9, 2008
Pros:  portable, easy to use
Cons:  Leaves you wanting more power
Would recommend:  yes

NiteLooker wrote:

If you want to look across a valley or at the moon, this will do it. If you want a good look beyond the moon, go to a larger scope. I really like the ease of use, but wanted the ETX-75 the second night I used this.

Was NiteLooker's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 3

Solid StarterTelescope and portable

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Ken (verified customer) , Beginner, from Suisun City, Ca on Jul 26, 2008
Pros:  Easy to use, Autostar computer keep family interested.
Cons:  Eats batteries,
Would recommend:  yes

Ken wrote:

This telescope is solidly contrusted and is very portable. The instructions are very easy to understand and setting up the Autostar computer is just as easy. Once you are familar with which two stars to align with setup becomes very quick. I realy like the Guided Tours. I live in a mildly light polluted area there are not many stars to get refference as to the location of many deep sky objects but once programed finding the Butterfly Cluster, M22and many more on the Guided tour keep us out for hours. I realy like the automatic tracking because it keeps the object in view when we switch to let other family members take a look. Buy the battery adapters it eats batteries. It packs up nicely in a backpack and does not take up alot of space. This telescope opened up the skys for us and is keepping us interested. For the money this is a good one to start with.

Was Ken's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 19   not helpful: 0

ETX 80 AT TC Astro Telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: bobbyfore (verified customer) , I am a amature to astronomy , from Cadet Missouri on Jan 20, 2008
Pros:  Its easy to setup and to store
Cons:  I go through a lot of batteries
Would recommend:  yes

bobbyfore wrote:

I love this telescope everything about it is just great,the goto feature had me looking at objects fast and does a good job tracking the objects and the amount of detail is just outstanding for the size of this telecope,dont let the prise fool you.This is a awsome Telescope

Was bobbyfore's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

Another awesome Meade scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Tim L. from Longmont, CO on Nov 8, 2007
Pros:  everything, cuz it's awesome (but especially size)
Would recommend:  yes

Tim L. wrote:

This is a fantastic scope by Meade! I've had Meade scopes before and always been really happy with them. The automatic Go To locator feature is awesome. My younger cousins love to look stuff up on it when they come over. I also really like the size because i can have it set up in my living room pointed out the window all the time and it actually fits in very nicely, not too bulky or obtrusive like some telescopes i've had. It's really attractive. I am really surprised by the one reviewer because i didn't have any probelms with the objective lens, in fact everything has been very easy to use and i consistently get amazing views. So easy my dog could probably use it.

Was Tim L.'s review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 13   not helpful: 1

Decent Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: Michael from Houston, TX on Nov 6, 2007
Would recommend:  yes

Michael wrote:

Decent planetary and lunar scope that is easy to set up and use. I would recommend upgrading the eyepiece to something nicer, but the scope itself is decent.

Was Michael's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 10   not helpful: 2

portable telescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: Edgarinna from edgar, ne on Nov 6, 2007
Would recommend:  yes

Edgarinna wrote:

Most compact telescope I ever saw - great for camping

Was Edgarinna's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 7

Amazing Telescop!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Lucia , Intermediate Astronomer, from MI on Sep 21, 2007
Pros:  super bright image, even better with the barlow lens, easy to use
Would recommend:  yes

Lucia wrote:

I was very happy with this telescope. I didn't want to spend a lot of money but I wanted to be able to see planets and stars clearly. Aside from extremely fast shipping, OpticsPlanet sells at a competetive price. I was amazed at the quality of the image (especially the brightness) of this telescope. Good Job Meade!

Was Lucia's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

Disappointing

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
2 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: jmpoti (verified customer) , amateur astronomer, from Prattville, AL on Sep 21, 2007
Pros:  Portability, Easy to setup, Easy to align
Cons:  Focus mechanism, Chromatic aberration
Would recommend:  no

jmpoti wrote:

1. The Autostar is not difficult to set up or use. Just remember to calibrate the motor and train the drive. After you get it set up, it's fun to use. 2. In your alignment, don't use the included compass to find north, try to eyeball Polaris. If you live in an area where the magnetic variation is significant, you can be off 10-15 degrees. 3. If you decide to purchase it, invest in a power adapter. You can get one for about $20. They say the batteries will run for about 20 hours....yeah, right. After one night out it will become sluggish and slow. 4. The Chromatic Aberration on bright objects is horrible. 5. The focus knob/mechanism is very frustrating. The entire objective lens moves to get the target in focus. It will take 20-30 turns of the knob to get into focus. Change lenses, and another 20-30 turns will be required. Add a barlow, and another 20-30 turns will be required...you get the picture. If you get impatient and turn the focus knob too fast, you will induce backlash ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was jmpoti's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 7   not helpful: 2

Reviews - Page 2 - Meade ETX-80 AT-TC-BB Astro Telescope Autostar Backpack Edition w/ Tripod, Backpack, No Case - UPC: 709942990218