2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
08018 Meade Student / Hobbyist 51-piece Microscope Kit - 08018 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Meade Student / Hobbyist 51-piece Microscope Kit - 08018 and other Microscopes by Meade.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.1 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.2 / 5
Usability 4.0 / 5
Features 4.4 / 5
Value for your money 4.0 / 5
Meets expectations 4.1 / 5

Meade Student / Hobbyist 51-piece Microscope Kit - 08018 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 8 out of 8

Great first Microscope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Reyc from bishop, ca on Jan 20, 2012
Pros:  Lots of tools and bits to make your own slides
Cons:  bit of trouble with the light source, not super durable
Would recommend:  yes

Reyc wrote:

This is a great starter microscope. The zoom power is weak enough to still recognize your object, and strong enough to get in there and see cool stuff, like blood cells flowing. The brief case is great to keep all the parts together, a bit hard to remove the tools, but that's better than having them fall out. The source light is easy to accidentally leave on. I had trouble getting the mirror to supply enough light to really see what was going on, (I'm sure that has more to do with operator error than functionality of the scope). Using a small LED light source above the object was helpful in viewing thick objects like the torn edge of paper. The slides that come with the kit were great to see, but not starting with a tangible object and cutting it down ourselves, left us not wowed simply by not knowing what we were viewing. Starting with a large object and cutting it down with the tools provided was far more interesting and fun. Have not used all the tools yet, but look forward to ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was Reyc's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Great

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: tomimiki from Basking Ridge NJ on Feb 11, 2011
Would recommend:  yes

tomimiki wrote:

I bought it for my 3rd grader. It really gives very nice insight in micro world. I wanted to give it as a small boost for science interest he already has and it worked really well... Tried to purchase some Toys'r'us microscopes before, but returned them both. Good microscope for beginners.

Was tomimiki's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

CHAR5560

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: char5560 from pasadena, md on Jan 13, 2011
Would recommend:  yes

char5560 wrote:

What a wonderful Christmas gift, it came in a study case and a huge box. I was so surprised and proud to give this to my nephew. He was asking for one for the last two Christmas's and his face lit up when he opened it. Reminds me of one I had when I was a kid. Definitely worth every penny.

Was char5560's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Great set for a beginner

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Alvin from New London, NH on Dec 16, 2009
Would recommend:  yes

Alvin wrote:

This is a great beginner set for anyone interested in microscopy. I got this set for my grandson and it has everything you need to get started.

Was Alvin's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

You get what you pay for. Fun for Kids.

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: jackson , Homeschool teacher, from Durham, SC on Oct 7, 2009
Pros:  Lots of stuff for a cheap price
Cons:  You get what you pay for. Its a toy.
Would recommend:  yes

jackson wrote:

the product is pretty inexpensive and you get a lot of cool stuff to play with but its really only good for a beginner child to foster some interest in science. If the really do show an interest they will quickly out grow this product. It might be worth spending a little more for a better microscope and buy all the accessories separately. this product is really a toy and can be loads of fun but you really dont learn how to use a real microscope until you get a better quality one. As the product description says its for the hobbyist

Was jackson 's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

meade 51 pc microscope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: cantermen (verified customer) , aviation flight engineer, from NEW EGYPT,new jersey on Feb 29, 2008
Pros:  kit contains many accessories
Cons:  plastic instruments for disection
Would recommend:  yes

cantermen wrote:

purchased for child , kit as such is manufactured for young children just starting out in sceince field.

Was cantermen's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Meade Student / Hobbyist 51-piece Microscope Kit - 08018

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: DanielL from Chicago, IL on Jul 26, 2007
Would recommend:  yes

DanielL wrote:

I decided in college to bocome more knowledge with the excitment of science and I thought, "what better way to start my studies into science with a science kit?". I received this kit on top and undamaged. The instructions were clear and I understood how to use everything in the kit. I would recomemnd this product to anyone who wishes to study more about science.

Was DanielL's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

Terrible Quality Control

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
2 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: SLM from Los Angles, CA on Jul 26, 2007
Pros:  Comes with a lot of cool stuff
Cons:  A lot of it was defective
Would recommend:  no

SLM wrote:

On the first one I was sent, the eyepiece fell apart, and the containers of different liquids it came with for various experiments were all dried out. I was sent a replacement. Same problem. I was sent a second replacement. Again, same problem. I finally gave up.

Was SLM's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 3

Reviews - Meade Student / Hobbyist 51-piece Microscope Kit - 08018 - UPC: 709942802511