Products
2,496 Brands 483 Categories All Departments
Meade mySKY PLUS Personal Sky Exploration Guide 04542
Browse by Rating
(9 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Quality Product
This is a great product becuase it does exactly what it's supposed to do. ...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review Cheap junk that breaks easily
MySky is the cheapest piece of junk I've purchased to date. It tipped over...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

MySky almost

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, WV Written on January 30, 2009
This is a neat tool for the starting or for the old hand, it has lots of great information and is pretty easy to use with a couple of exception:

First, while the unit does have GPS, it only allows you to input a location from its internal lists. In my case the nearest town on the list is more than 30 miles away, this means that when I point my MySky at an object it is generally several degrees off the target (because it believes I am actually 30 miles from my actual location). The unit still provides great information.

My biggest complaint was with the software update. When the unit arrived, its software version did not allow for GPS set up. So, as per the instructions in the book I updated the MySky memory card. The upgrade brought the GPS setup option onto the screen, but locked up the functions so that no location could be entered from any source. I to download the version of autostar from meade's web site to get the proper firmware version.


Pros: Huge library of information, easy to learn
Cons: too few locations, can't input actual GPS info...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

mySky Good Value

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on January 26, 2009
We received the mySky as a gift this past Christmas and have now been using it many evenings for almost 2 months (on the initial set of batteries, no less!). Build quality is satisfactory though not impeccable. The setup and alignment is very straight forward though don't make the mistake I made and set it on a METAL patio table while aligns itself.

It reliably finds almost any object down to about mag 4 in our light polluted suburban skies. I've found it to be most useful for confirming what we think we've found based on what we see in books, etc. Most of our observing is through a 60mm alt/az mounted refractor and some 8x40 Nikon binoculars.

It's hard to justify the cost (even at the reduced price) over a pile of good books, a lunar map and a planesphere. However, its fun for kids and easier to read in the dark.

Speaking of which, if you're actually trying to look at anything in the night sky you will need to dial the brightness down to the point that it switches to just shades of red or your night vision will be ruined.
Pros: Simple, Quick Setup
Cons: Accuracy...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

MySky Plus

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on January 19, 2009
A nice product, with the major problem that Meade have not implemented time zones properly for New Zealand, and possibly for other Southern hemisphere countries. An unfortunate consequence of the deletion of the GPS function in the 'plus' version
Pros: Very clever technology
Cons: Not set up for Southern hemosphere...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Fantastic!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on January 14, 2009
I read many reviews on the MySky and quite a few state problems with setup and that it breaks easily. My unit worked flawlessly right out of the box. Fast and easy setup. Put in the batteries, turn it on, stand it on a flat surface and within seconds it's aligned and ready to use. What could possibly be easier. As far as breakage is concerned, treat it as the delicate instrument that it is and you won't have problems.
Pros: Everything
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

fun product

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, AZ Written on December 26, 2008
a must have for beginners...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Educational Tool

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on December 2, 2008
This is such a great tool. I use it all the time when camping, as it explains what's really up in the sky. Sometimes it does find the wrong object, but I would expect it to be perfect. Love the display.
Pros: Showstopping display
Cons: Not always accurate...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Quality Product

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on November 3, 2008
This is a great product becuase it does exactly what it's supposed to do. But the cool thing is that it does it right out of the box. There's a brief setup stage which is really intuitive, and you're off! Also connects with any AutoStar telescope for additional fun. Downside? Battery life is a little overstated. 6 hours is a stretch, though not out of the realm of possibility either. Overall, if you want an accurate guide to the sky, I definitely recommend buying this one.
Pros: Informative and Accurate information
Cons: Batteries last less than 6 hours...
Would recommend: No
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Meade MySky

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on November 3, 2008
I'm really impressed with this sky gps. Prices on this product were recently lowered which is great! My entire family played with it. It's really neat how the sky on the screen moves as you move the whole unit and it mimics the sky above you.
Definetely a good learning tools especially for beginners and even those who are more advanced. I would definetely recommend. It's like an encyclopedia for the sky.
Pros: Lightweight, graphics, real-life gps
Cons: Somtimes finds the wrong object...
Would recommend: No
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Cheap junk that breaks easily

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on September 17, 2008
MySky is the cheapest piece of junk I've purchased to date. It tipped over whilst going through the standard "calibration" mode at startup and broke due to its poor weight distribution. I called Meade who told me this is happening so often, they are now refusing to repair it even at the owners cost. Now I have a $435 boat anchor. I'll never buy another Meade product again.
Pros: Easy to use, setup
Cons: cheap with no support from Meade...
Would recommend: No
7 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 9 User Reviews of Meade mySKY PLUS Personal Sky Exploration Guide 04542