2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
04542 Meade mySKY PLUS Personal Sky Exploration Guide 04542 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Meade mySKY PLUS Personal Sky Exploration Guide 04542 and other Telescopes by Meade.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.2 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.4 / 5
Usability 3.6 / 5
Features 4.6 / 5
Value for your money 4.1 / 5
Meets expectations 3.7 / 5

Meade mySKY PLUS Personal Sky Exploration Guide 04542 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 9 out of 9

MySky almost

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: mlwaggy (verified customer) from Buckhannon, WV on Jan 30, 2009
Pros:  Huge library of information, easy to learn
Cons:  too few locations, can't input actual GPS info
Would recommend:  yes

mlwaggy wrote:

This is a neat tool for the starting or for the old hand, it has lots of great information and is pretty easy to use with a couple of exception: First, while the unit does have GPS, it only allows you to input a location from its internal lists. In my case the nearest town on the list is more than 30 miles away, this means that when I point my MySky at an object it is generally several degrees off the target (because it believes I am actually 30 miles from my actual location). The unit still provides great information. My biggest complaint was with the software update. When the unit arrived, its software version did not allow for GPS set up. So, as per the instructions in the book I updated the MySky memory card. The upgrade brought the GPS setup option onto the screen, but locked up the functions so that no location could be entered from any source. I to download the version of autostar from meade's web site to get the proper firmware version.

Was mlwaggy's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

mySky Good Value

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Kent from SATX on Jan 26, 2009
Pros:  Simple, Quick Setup
Cons:  Accuracy
Would recommend:  yes

Kent wrote:

We received the mySky as a gift this past Christmas and have now been using it many evenings for almost 2 months (on the initial set of batteries, no less!). Build quality is satisfactory though not impeccable. The setup and alignment is very straight forward though don't make the mistake I made and set it on a METAL patio table while aligns itself. It reliably finds almost any object down to about mag 4 in our light polluted suburban skies. I've found it to be most useful for confirming what we think we've found based on what we see in books, etc. Most of our observing is through a 60mm alt/az mounted refractor and some 8x40 Nikon binoculars. It's hard to justify the cost (even at the reduced price) over a pile of good books, a lunar map and a planesphere. However, its fun for kids and easier to read in the dark. Speaking of which, if you're actually trying to look at anything in the night sky you will need to dial the brightness down to the point that it switches to just ...
Read full review / Product Info

Was Kent's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

MySky Plus

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: kiwiradical (verified customer) from Auckland on Jan 19, 2009
Pros:  Very clever technology
Cons:  Not set up for Southern hemosphere
Would recommend:  yes

kiwiradical wrote:

A nice product, with the major problem that Meade have not implemented time zones properly for New Zealand, and possibly for other Southern hemisphere countries. An unfortunate consequence of the deletion of the GPS function in the 'plus' version

Was kiwiradical's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Fantastic!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: STH (verified customer) from Cleveland on Jan 14, 2009
Pros:  Everything
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

STH wrote:

I read many reviews on the MySky and quite a few state problems with setup and that it breaks easily. My unit worked flawlessly right out of the box. Fast and easy setup. Put in the batteries, turn it on, stand it on a flat surface and within seconds it's aligned and ready to use. What could possibly be easier. As far as breakage is concerned, treat it as the delicate instrument that it is and you won't have problems.

Was STH's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

fun product

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: willspray67 from surprise, az on Dec 26, 2008
Would recommend:  yes

willspray67 wrote:

a must have for beginners

Was willspray67's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 2

Great Educational Tool

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: hmpeterson from Montana on Dec 2, 2008
Pros:  Showstopping display
Cons:  Not always accurate
Would recommend:  yes

hmpeterson wrote:

This is such a great tool. I use it all the time when camping, as it explains what's really up in the sky. Sometimes it does find the wrong object, but I would expect it to be perfect. Love the display.

Was hmpeterson's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Quality Product

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Jim Snider from Denver Colorodo on Nov 3, 2008
Pros:  Informative and Accurate information
Cons:  Batteries last less than 6 hours
Would recommend:  no

Jim Snider wrote:

This is a great product becuase it does exactly what it's supposed to do. But the cool thing is that it does it right out of the box. There's a brief setup stage which is really intuitive, and you're off! Also connects with any AutoStar telescope for additional fun. Downside? Battery life is a little overstated. 6 hours is a stretch, though not out of the realm of possibility either. Overall, if you want an accurate guide to the sky, I definitely recommend buying this one.

Was Jim Snider's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Meade MySky

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Janice from OH on Nov 3, 2008
Pros:  Lightweight, graphics, real-life gps
Cons:  Somtimes finds the wrong object
Would recommend:  no

Janice wrote:

I'm really impressed with this sky gps. Prices on this product were recently lowered which is great! My entire family played with it. It's really neat how the sky on the screen moves as you move the whole unit and it mimics the sky above you. Definetely a good learning tools especially for beginners and even those who are more advanced. I would definetely recommend. It's like an encyclopedia for the sky.

Was Janice's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

Cheap junk that breaks easily

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
2 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: Terry from Edmonton, AB on Sep 17, 2008
Pros:  Easy to use, setup
Cons:  cheap with no support from Meade
Would recommend:  no

Terry wrote:

MySky is the cheapest piece of junk I've purchased to date. It tipped over whilst going through the standard "calibration" mode at startup and broke due to its poor weight distribution. I called Meade who told me this is happening so often, they are now refusing to repair it even at the owners cost. Now I have a $435 boat anchor. I'll never buy another Meade product again.

Was Terry's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 7   not helpful: 1

Reviews - Meade mySKY PLUS Personal Sky Exploration Guide 04542 - UPC: 709942900422