Products
2,495 Brands 483 Categories All Departments
Meade NG70-SM Altazimuth Refractor A-Series Beginner Telescope, 20218
Browse by Rating
(17 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Great for a start
I got this for myself (33) and my kids (3&4) to get them interested in scie...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review Meade NG70-SM telescope plastic gear
Telescope was a Christmas gift to 6 yr old grandson. Small verticle adjustm...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Horrible manual

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on August 3, 2012
More power to you if you can put this together following the directions. Customer support acknowledges there are errors but treats you like their target market. A child.

Hey, maybe it is one of those products only a child can put together
Pros: Attractive packaging
Cons: Instruction manual...
Would recommend: No
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Engineer

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on March 26, 2012
Good for beginners...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

BEST TELESCOPE FOR THE MONEY

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on January 9, 2012
Great starter telescope. Everything needed and quick to put together and set up right out of the box. Excellent value for the money and a very respected name brand. Too bad it took two weeks to be delivered.
Pros: Excellent viewing land objects as well as planets and some stars.
Cons: Took two weeks to be delivered....
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good value for money scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on September 4, 2011
I brought this telescope a month ago its a good quality telescope for its price.The telscope give clear and crisp images of the planets and moon but one problem i ve with this telescope i recently found was when i use the ep directly without th diagonal it doesnt focus the image.does any ve the problem
Pros: good objective,clear and crisp images
Cons: cheap eyepieces and tripod...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great for a start

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, NJ Written on July 7, 2011
I got this for myself (33) and my kids (3&4) to get them interested in science/ astronomy. Setup was really easy and quick; it's barely a setup process at all.
Then I threw it outside, pointed at the city during the day to see some buildings to get accustomed to the eyepieces and knobs and all, then the next clear night, pointed at the moon.
The red dot viewfinder is pretty pointless. It may be because it's not snug enough to the tube (it's already attached out the box). But still for this power of telescope, I was fine with just pointing the scope at the general direction, and fiddling with the controls till I saw my target.
In Winter/ Spring/ Summer from New Jersey, I've seen the moon, Saturn and it's rings (wow people) and Arcterus of the Bootes constellation, all using "The Planets" iphone app.

Great starter scope. I'm actually coming back here to buy another scope, this time with more power so I can really see Saturn up close. With this scope, you just see a tiny ball with a line going through it. Still amazing.
Pros: Easy setup, stable, affordable
Cons: red dot finder not helpful...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Best $80 scope on the market!

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, TN Written on June 22, 2011
Amazing optics for so little money. Has a few cons, but overall an incredible first telescope for an adult or child. Better eyepieces will improve performance but they can cost more than the scope!
Pros: Excellent optics, no "false color", incredible bargain
Cons: red dot finder too bright and hard to align...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great telescope!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NY Written on May 30, 2011
I would recommend this to any beginner....
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Outstanding product and service.

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on January 10, 2011
Excellent product for the money. Very easy to use and set up. Excellent service from this company.
Pros: easy to use and easy to setup
Cons: nothing wrong with this product....
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Best (Big) Bang for the Buck!

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on January 8, 2011
This in an excellent "entry-level" telescope, especially for kids 6-16. It allows great viewing at minimal cost; it's a great learning tool, and inexpensive enough that if the user isn't 100% sold on star-gazing you're not out a lot of cash.
Pros: Easy to set up, easy to use. Great instruction sheet....
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Equipo Facil de usar

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on November 7, 2010
El equipo por el precio es aceptable, pero bibra mucho al hacer los enfoques, lo que da mucha inestabilidad y el ajuste de altura se muve con el peso del tubo optico
Pros: tiene buena optica
Cons: Es muy inestable y bibra mucho al enfocar...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 11 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 17 User Reviews of Meade NG70-SM Altazimuth Refractor A-Series Beginner Telescope, 20218