2,509 Brands 452 Categories All Departments
NC Star 3-9x42mm Rubber Armored Mark III Tactical Rifle Scope
$139.99
Purchase
Average Customer Review (18 reviews)
Share your thought Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Better than what you'd think for the price
So, I just received the scope, mounted it and went shooting and have to say...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review Neat toy.
When I first opened the box from opticsplanet, I was pleasantly surprised. ...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Better than what you'd think for the price

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, OH Written on December 12, 2012
So, I just received the scope, mounted it and went shooting and have to say, I am pleased with the quality. It's not an ACOG, but I didn't expect it to be for the price. I'm pretty hard on my scopes, and after having spent the $1K and sending the ACOG to its grave, I decided to stick with the more affordable scopes and not cry when/if they break. Overall I scored it 4 out of 5 - because it's not ACOG.

A few things... it's HEAVY - over a pound. So, if you're trying to keep your rig really light, you may want to consider the unrubberized version. The optics are surprisingly clear at this price-point, so I'm extremely pleased. I appreciate that it has an all-black sight in the event the battery dies, it's still useable. However, some might find the blue lighting a bit much, especially at night - it reflects inside the tube, which can prove distracting. The laser is BRIGHT! About 25 to 30 yds in full sun and well over 100 yds in the dark. As others have already pointed out, Loctite is a MUST! 300 rounds later and it is still tight as a drum and dead on.

Overall, I'd highly recommend it - especially for the price. You're not going to find a better scope under $200 with these features and optic clarity.
Pros: Features as advertised
Cons: A bit heavy...
Would recommend: Yes
33 of 33 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Not for millitary

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on June 8, 2012
If your a civilain this might be good for you, but for millitary, espically infantry, not at all. as a infantryman we do alot of hard, ruff work but not really putting that much stress on our equipment at the same time. But within the first week using this scope things started to fall apart on it. First the battery cap started to become loose then fell off competely. My zero on my scope would be off because of all the bumping and moving around, it needs some sort of windage locking mechanism then a few months down the road the windage fell off competely with one hard bump. the only sight cover still on is the front one. This is not made for ruff/combat environments it will fall apart on you. IT COULD BE A REALLY NICE SCOPE TOO. Alot of cool features.
Pros: nice laser on the side easy way to mark targets or close quaters.
Cons: everything falls of. not for combat use at all....
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 10 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

awsome for the money

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, TN Written on March 7, 2012
love it on my ar15. cant beat it for the money!
Pros: works
Cons: flip up covers junk...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

NC Star 3-9x42 Rubber Armored Mark III Tactical Riflescope - Green Lens, MilDot Reticle SRTM3942G

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, VA Written on January 5, 2012
The scope looks and functions well. Focusing at the highest magnification is a task but to be expected. The scope is well build regarding materials and workmanship. For the price it is offered you get your moneys worth. The laser works well when the amibient light is fading, the mounting position of the laser on the left turret makes the dot appear either to the left or to the right of the reticle unless you are exactly 100 yards away from the target, then the coincide as the scope is sighted for 100 yards. I would have prefered that the laser dot is always lined up sideways and the difference in distance would change the relative position of the dot in the vertical but you cant just have everything for that kind of money.
Veru good scope, very good price, I like I am pleased with it.
Hint: Make sure that you adjust the quick mount tension or the scope seems in-accurate (happened to me) but after the adjustment it was rock solid.
Pros: Quick Mount for picatinny rail
Cons: none for me...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 7 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Piece of JUNK

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on November 30, 2011
This scope is trash, don,t waste your time or money!! Lens caps lasted 10 minutes,rubber caps fell off on first attempt to sight, COULD NOT ZERO 18" high 6" right. Now for Optics Planets review; customer service says nothing they can do, SORRY send it back to manufacturer. Not my idea of good customer service, all I wanted to do was swap it out for a major upgrade. They have lost me as a customer, BUYERS BEWARE you are on your own the second you take your purchase out of the box!!!!
Pros: NONE
Cons: Everything...
Would recommend: No
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

This scope is good!

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on September 29, 2011
I'm a first time buyer of NcStar scopes. The Mk III Tactical Riflescope is pretty good for how much I'm paying for it. But you have to be careful with its scope base. It has some play when mounted. I wish the mounts were beter.
Pros: The optics is exceptional good for how much its worth.
Cons: Scope base is looks flimsy...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Disappointed

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, OH Written on March 7, 2011
Note I did not buy this scope through Optics Planet but thought I would share my experiences. When I first got this scope I mounted it on an AR15 and it performed well for several months. I then remounted it on another .223 rifle and could not get it to hold zero at all. I remounted it on a SIG 522 (22 LR), made sure everything was tight, and it still won't hold zero any more, even during a single afternoon of shooting. Moreover, the magnification adjustment ring has become very stiff and difficult to turn. From the other reviews, these NcStar scopes appear to be a crapshoot. You might get a good one or you might not. I wouldn't buy another. Invest you money in a Nikon or other quality scope so you aren't disappointed down the road.
Pros: Nice features (rubber armor, size, laser)
Cons: Won't hold zero even on a 22LR; magnification ring has become very stiff over time...
Would recommend: No
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

NC Star 3-9 x 42 mil Dot Mark III Rubber Armored Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on December 8, 2010
I first bought a Barska Scope and it was not of the Quality I expected, I returned the Scope and Got my Money refunded. I asked for advice from Gary in Sale & Support and he gave me the best advice I could have gotten at the time, as much for Quality and Affordability of the Scope that I was looking for.

The Scope has a far more Powerful Laser and Can be seen up to 500 Yards Clearly, the Optics are Quite Impressive, Clear view of the Objective, nice color of Blue, for a
Mil Dot Reticle, Specially if you are color Blind in Green or Red, weight is not excessive and the construction of this Scope is sturdy, Perfect fit for a Smith& Wesson MP AR-15 .22 Cal.

Excellent Choice for a Lady's Rifle.

Pros: All good
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
10 of 10 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

nc star3-9x42mm

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, TX Written on July 25, 2010
I have two of these scopes and have had no problems with either one. One scope is the Mil dot and one is the sniper reticle. I like the sniper sight picture and feel it is easier for exacting target acquisition; just a personal choice. Loctite insures mounting screws stay where they are supposed to. I have purchased several products from Optics Planet and instead of listing all them I just wanted to say I have been pleased with all my purchases. I did my own investigation for products and checked around for best price. All things considered almost all my purchases have been from Optics Planet; GREAT JOB FOR THE STAFF AND COMPANY!!!
Pros: for the money it is the best I have found
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
9 of 9 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

nc star3-9x42mm

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, TX Written on July 14, 2010
I have two scopes; one mounted on a flat top AR-15 the other on a carry handle AR. Set the laser zero at fifty but during daylight tac shooting it is really only good for about 25yrd which is plenty; dusk or evening laser is good for over 50yrds. One scope is mil dot and one is sniper; like the sniper a tad bit more due to sharper edges of reticule sight cross hairs. Once mounted it holds target zero with the only problem being mount screw will vibrate loose on the quick disconnect. Loctite fixes everything. For the money and its' functions I do not believe this scope can be beat.
Pros: great tac lazer up to 25yrds and scope is as advertised
Cons: when mounting use some loc tight...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

NC Star 3-9x42mm Rubber Armored Mark III Tactical Rifle Scope Product Reviews Comments