2,509 Brands 451 Categories All Departments
NcSTAR 15-40x50 Spotting Scope Green Lens With Tripod NG154050G
$24.99 $49.99 Save 50%
Average Customer Review (10 reviews)
Share your thought Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Great Spotting Scope for the Money
This is a great spotting scope for the money. Optics are clear. There are...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review Laster 15 minutes
It lasted 15 minutes before the plastic tab that holds the eyepiece in plac...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Poor Choice

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on October 5, 2012
I purchased this scope to leave in a blind and I wouldn't be out a lot of money if someone happened to drop by my blind when I was not there and steal the scope. I really did NOT want a high-end optic.

As I was taking it out of the case, the eyepiece pulled out breaking the tab that allows the scope to focus. The scope was a tight fit in the case and the eyepice pulled out and the rest of the scope stayed in the case.

This is the same problem that tmdanko describes in his review.

I won't try to return or exchange as it is not worth the cost of mailing. I will tinker with it and see if I can rig some kind of fix.
Pros: None...
Would recommend: No
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

NCStar spotting scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, IN Written on January 24, 2012
nice little tripod incuded. easy setup.
Pros: easy focus
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Total Garbage

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on December 15, 2010
Worst excuse for a spotting scope I have ever seen. It is completely useless at any magnification. It refuses to focus and is made of the lowest grade materials know to man. If I had seen it in person I would have never purchased this sorry excuse for a product. Avoid at all costs.
Pros: None
Cons: Everything...
Would recommend: No
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Laster 15 minutes

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, SC Written on May 23, 2010
It lasted 15 minutes before the plastic tab that holds the eyepiece in place broke off. I am an adult that treats his stuff with great care. Unfortunately that wasn't enough to compensate for the cheap plastic that they use in this thing. When it did work the image was lousy, but that's to be expected for $25. Now that the little tab is missing, it won't focus and the eyepiece won't stay in. stay far away from this one. Optics planet should be embarrased to sell this hunk of junk.
Pros: cheap
Cons: lousy construction...
Would recommend: Yes
7 of 9 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Value Spotting Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, NC Written on March 15, 2009
You always get what you pay for. This spotting scope is value priced. The tripod sucks and there is no mildot. It will pick up trace however. Worth the money for a value package.
Pros: Clear and compact
Cons: No Mil Dot, cheap tripod...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

NcSTAR 15-40x50 spotting scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, PA Written on March 25, 2008
I Bought this hoping to use this at the range to look at my shots at 100 yards.
It is a good effort on NcStar's part trying to put out a cheap product for people who can't afford over $100 spotting scopes. but it is very hard to see anything beyond the standard 15x zoom. once you zoom it to 20x 40x the image quality drop dramatically. and you won't be able to see your shots at 100 yard. so good effort but you get what you pay for.
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Can't see anything clearly beyond standard 15x ...
Would recommend: No
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Spotting Scope for the Money

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on February 19, 2008
This is a great spotting scope for the money. Optics are clear. There are covers for the front and rear. The focus adjustment has some slop built in but you can eventually focus the scope quite well. I use this on a target range with a max distance of 100 yards. The stand is cheaply done. I made the mistake of dropping the scope once and the plastic pin which keeps the stand's legs in place broke off making the stand useless. I replaced the pin with a brass bolt and nut and it is better than new. The provided case is adequate but could have been just a little bit bigger for ease of use.
Pros: Works as advertised
Cons: Stand could be of higher quality...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Hard to do better for the price

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MA Written on February 15, 2008
For the money I'm not unhappy. Care free scope that takes packing abuse.
Pros: affordable
Cons: poor optics require steady tripod...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Ridiculous power for the money.

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MA Written on February 11, 2008
I look at the moon as well as birds!...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Can't expect a great scope, but once collimated, it performed excellent.

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on February 4, 2008
It's an all plastic housing, with a rubber finish. Even the eyepiece housing is plastic, like the Tupperware plastic, but black in color. All the optics in it appear to be of glass. Once you collimate the objective, back out the screw mount so it's not binding at the end of it's screw fittings, and turn the eyepiece around after cutting off a inside tab, it's excellent at medium powers. don't drop this scope, the prisms inside will likely break off the mounts.
Pros: Price, weight, size, power, optics, color rendition, really like the coating.
Cons: Assembly was cheaply done....
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

NcSTAR 15-40x50 Spotting Scope Green Lens With Tripod NG154050G Product Reviews Comments