2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
8430 Monarch Dot Sight VSD Matte 1, 4, 6, 8, 10 MOA Dot 8430 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Monarch Dot Sight VSD Matte 1, 4, 6, 8, 10 MOA Dot 8430 and other Red Dot Sights by Nikon.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.4 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.9 / 5
Usability 4.3 / 5
Features 4.5 / 5
Value for your money 4.1 / 5
Meets expectations 4.2 / 5

Monarch Dot Sight VSD Matte 1, 4, 6, 8, 10 MOA Dot 8430 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 13

Nikon Monarch red dot

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: Sabinerat from Vinton, la on Jun 18, 2012
Pros:  Nice size
Cons:  Screw on covers or a pain and Nikon service is costly
Would recommend:  yes

Sabinerat wrote:

Was happy with scope till it started cutting off after every shot then you have to bump it with your hand sent back to Nikon they wanted $125 to fix funny last time I sent a camera to them it was the same cost

Was Sabinerat's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Perfect target pistol scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: blackhat (verified customer) from VA on Dec 8, 2011
Pros:  Adjustable Dot Size & Brightness; Accurate
Cons:  Not for magnum pistols / high-power rifles
Would recommend:  yes

blackhat wrote:

This is the perfect scope for my Ruger 10-22 Charger. It is one of the coolest little scopes I have ever had. The 1-MOA dot is crisp and the 10 brightness stages allow the user to adjust to changing light conditions. These scopes are NOT for tactical or applications that experience high recoil. According to Nikon this is a target / hunting optics system. However I think it is safe to say it is optimal for match pistol, plinking and varmint hunting applications where smaller caliber, lower recoil munitions are used.

Was blackhat's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 1

nikon red dot

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: tap4821 (verified customer) , law enforcement, from hiram, ga on Aug 20, 2011
Pros:  clarity, quality
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

tap4821 wrote:

excellent nikon quality, easy to mount and use. the red dot is adjustable and clear. will highly recommend

Was tap4821's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Monarch Dot Sight VSD Matte 1, 4, 6, 8, 10 MOA Dot

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Send it (verified customer) from AZ on Aug 13, 2011
Pros:  clear optics, crisp dot at all setting. great value
Cons:  A 2 mil dot setting would be nice
Would recommend:  yes

Send it wrote:

Excellent value, clear optics, nice crisp dot at all settings, fast easy target aquisition - the multiple brightness settings are good also. Doesn't get washed out in bright sunlight. So far holding setup very well on high recoil rifle. Only thing that would make it better would be a 2 mil dot size - but even with out it - it's a great sight. OpticsPlanet has fast shipping good service.

Was Send it's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Nikon Red Dot

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: xcop2x (verified customer) from Tampa, FL on Jul 25, 2011
Pros:  Constructed well; works as promised.
Cons:  Flip up lens covers would be better than slip ons.
Would recommend:  yes

xcop2x wrote:

This Nikon Monarch red dot sight costs a little more, but is well worth the money. Ideal for target shooting with the variable MOA sight reticles and brightness controls. Crisp red dot and clear vision. Constructed well as you would expect from Nikon. Easy to set up with the built in weaver mount. Should work equally well with .22 rimfire to high caliber rifle.

Was xcop2x's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Great sight

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Benjamin Kump (verified customer) from Apple Valley, CA on Apr 16, 2011
Pros:  Very crisp 1 MOA dot, reasonable price.
Cons:  Large dots never used, would make dots sizes 1 thru 5.
Would recommend:  yes

Benjamin Kump wrote:

I compared many sights,this sight had the smallest and cleanest dot. I use it for Bullseye pistol matches. Have been in the money last 4 matches.

Was Benjamin Kump's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

Great red dot sight, small and beautiful

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: Dong Hai from France on Oct 29, 2010
Would recommend:  yes

Dong Hai wrote:

Great red dot sight, small and beautiful

Was Dong Hai's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 5

Solves my problems

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Steve from Tampa Florida on Sep 17, 2010
Pros:  1MOA is rare find. Works flawlessly.
Cons:  Costs more than the cheap ones that didn't work.
Would recommend:  yes

Steve wrote:

I have problems using other sights and old eyes too. Any red-dot helps but this one is better than the others I have tried/own. Adjustment is precise and easily felt and you do it with your fingers and not tools. The 30mm optics are a pleasure to use too. No 'bleeding' of the dot into a sort of smudge, clear, clean glass, retains its zero without needing to be removed for gun-cleaning. I'm about to buy my second one. First is on my Ruger Charger .22 and the new one will replace the junk on top of my Ruger Hunter 22/45. I routinely shoot dime-sized patterns with the bipod-equipped Charger at 25 meters, nickel-size patterns with the hand-held 22/45 at 14 meters. In fact I need the 1MOA dot because 2MOA is bigger than the bullseyes I'm aiming at. And I could not find another 1MOA anywhere. Can't vouch for larger calibers but the one I already own has worked like a champ through thousands of rounds of .22 ammo. Flawlessly. Now, if you excuse me, I need to place that order for my second ...
Read full review / Product Info

Was Steve's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 11   not helpful: 0

Nikon VSD

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: JPV from Colorado on Mar 1, 2010
Pros:  Variable Dot Size
Cons:  No Green
Would recommend:  yes

JPV wrote:

Overall I like it, but I'd eliminate the 10 MOA Dot and replace it with a 2 MOA Dot .... and a choice of Red or Green dots would be nice

Was JPV's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 0

Nikon Monarch red dot VSD

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
2 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:1 / 5

Author: Harold Patterson (verified customer) , Senior Engineer..Firearms Collector, from Indiana Pa on Feb 26, 2010
Pros:  The VSD and the clarity of the optics are great.
Cons:  The mounting system on this unit is poor..it will not stand recoil
Would recommend:  no

Harold Patterson wrote:

I purchased this red dod to mount on a CX4 40 S&W Carbine. Although the Carbine is light and you get some recoil with the 40 S&W its not extreme like a 44 mag or a 300+ rifle. The scope walks backwards on the mounts after 50 rounds and no matter how tight I make the mounting screws it still does. Nikon is sending me an extra set of mounting screws to try and keep it in place. I guess I expected more from a company like Nikon. A 22 mag is about the largest caliber I would recommend using this scope on.

Was Harold Patterson's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 15   not helpful: 4

Reviews - Monarch Dot Sight VSD Matte 1, 4, 6, 8, 10 MOA Dot 8430 - UPC: 018208084302