2,400 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
8420 Monarch 3-12x42SF Riflescope Matte BDC 8420 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Monarch 3-12x42SF Riflescope Matte BDC 8420 and other Rifle Scopes by Nikon.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
5.0 / 5
Easy To Set Up 5.0 / 5
Usability 4.8 / 5
Features 4.9 / 5
Value for your money 5.0 / 5
Meets expectations 5.0 / 5

Monarch 3-12x42SF Riflescope Matte BDC 8420 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 12

Monarch 3-12X42 BDC

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Scotty from San Diego Ca. on Apr 20, 2013
Pros:  The scope is clear. The bdc is not cluttered and seems easy to use
Would recommend:  yes

Scotty wrote:

I have the scope mounted and bore sighted. I have not had a chance to zero the rifle or practice with the scope. I have friends that recommended the Monarch BDC system.

Was Scotty's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 3

Great scope at a great price

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: ESB (verified customer) , Hunter Shooter , from Pasadena MD on Nov 17, 2012
Pros:  Price point and holding zero
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

ESB wrote:

Great scope at this price point, cant go wrong. I am using it on a 300WSM and have had no problems with this scope tracking or holding zero.

Was ESB's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Monarch 3-12x42SF riflescope Matte Nikoplex 8419

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: The Doctor (verified customer) , I enjoy hunting and fishing., from Upperglade, WV 26266 on May 4, 2012
Pros:  Extreme Clarity, Ease of Use, Exceptional Value
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

The Doctor wrote:

I purchased this scope based on two factors: ratings and Value. This scope is on my Rem.700 BDL .308 rifle and it fits extremely well. Great balance and user friendly with adjustments. Also, I shopped around with several sellers, and OpticsPlanet offered the best price.

Was The Doctor's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Nil on Monarch

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Txhoghunter (verified customer) , Male, from Bryan Txx on Apr 27, 2012
Pros:  Very clear, even in low light conditions
Would recommend:  yes

Txhoghunter wrote:

I mounted this on a Browning BAR .270. Dollar for dollar, it compares with scopes costing twice as much!

Was Txhoghunter's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Rifle scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: mike from Beloit WI on Apr 13, 2012
Pros:  great value super optics
Would recommend:  yes

mike wrote:

Love the scope best value of anything I have found on the market

Was mike's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Monarch 3-12x42 Riflescope Matte BDC 8420

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: ewu81 (verified customer) , New deer hunter a rifle owner, from Humble, TX on Apr 5, 2012
Pros:  Excellent clarity; solid adjustment knobs
Would recommend:  yes

ewu81 wrote:

Had scope mounted on a Marlin XS7 7mm-08. Sighted in the scope at 100yds. Clarity of scope at 12X was excellent and better than the spotting scopes at the range. Adjustment knobs for elevation and side to side are very solid. Audible click and feel when adjusting. Eye relief was constant and easy to get used to. Tooks five shots to have scope sighted in after it was bore sigthed. It would have taken 1 or 2 less shots due to errors in adjustments on my part. In comparison to a Nikon Prostaff 3-9x50 BDC the monarch is clearer. In comparison to a Leupold 3-9X50 and Leupold 4-12x50 the clarity is very similar. The Leupolds may be a little less cloudy it appears on maximum power. All scopes mentioned I have access to in order for side by side comparisons. Overall it appears to be an excellent scope that will meet my needs for deer hunting a shooting at the range.

Was ewu81's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

Nikon Monarch 3-12x42SF BDC - great value

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: cavcdr (verified customer) , Experienced firearm user. Veteran of USMC and OHARNG. NRA Certified Insructor., from Columbus, IN on Jul 31, 2011
Pros:  clarity, brightness, eye relief, side focus, hand turn adjustments
Cons:  none yet
Would recommend:  yes

cavcdr wrote:

I have put this scope on an extra-heavy barrel flattop upper for long range shooting. GREAT brightness and clarity. I compared it side by side with a Leupold 3-9x50 and the Nikon with 42mm objective is still brighter. The side focus adjustments for range are very handy. The eye relief is very forgiving. I like Leupold but, in my view, the Nikon glass is at least as clear and much brighter. A great value!

Was cavcdr's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 10   not helpful: 0

Monarch 3x12x42

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Hawk from Fla on Jan 24, 2011
Pros:  Scope provides a clear field of view and is very simple to operate.
Cons:  Have not found any cons at this juncture
Would recommend:  yes

Hawk wrote:

The scope is tremendously easy to use and provides great clarity. I took and 8pt buck at 240 yards on my first outing with this scope. The BDC worked well although you need a little practice to get comfortable with it.

Was Hawk's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Great scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: fastbs (verified customer) , just trying to make it to the light, from Cookeville TN on Nov 8, 2010
Pros:  clarity, eye relief
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

fastbs wrote:

3rd monarch in my collection. These scopes are great in low light conditions and eye relief seems good even on max magnification.

Was fastbs's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

Nikon Monarch 3-12x42SF Riflescope Matte BDC 8420

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Spivey (verified customer) , Avid Fisherman and Frequently Hunt Large Game and Varmints., from Mandan ND on Oct 29, 2010
Pros:  Clear, easy to use, priced right, really like the BDC option
Cons:  Takes a little to get used to
Would recommend:  yes

Spivey wrote:

Optics Planet did a wonderful job of shipping the scope right away. I will be a repeat customer.

Was Spivey's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 2

Reviews - Monarch 3-12x42SF Riflescope Matte BDC 8420 - UPC: 018208084203