2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
8446 Nikon Monarch African 1-4x20mm Riflescope, Matte Black, German #4 Reticle 8446-EE is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Nikon Monarch African 1-4x20mm Riflescope, Matte Black, German #4 Reticle 8446-EE and other Rifle Scopes by Nikon.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.8 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.9 / 5
Usability 4.7 / 5
Features 4.5 / 5
Value for your money 4.6 / 5
Meets expectations 4.7 / 5

Nikon Monarch African 1-4x20mm Riflescope, Matte Black, German #4 Reticle 8446-EE Review - Page 2 - Reviews from 11 to 20 out of 25

great scope but not a red dot

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: texasplinker (verified customer) , enjoy shooting and just being outdoors in general, from fort worth, tx on Jun 18, 2011
Pros:  great eye relief, clear glass and easy to see reticle
Cons:  some distortion from about 10-15 feet and in, not a red dot
Would recommend:  yes

texasplinker wrote:

I currently have this on a bushmaster 7.62x39 AR. The sight picture is true 1x from about 10-15 feet and out. Its not as fast as a red dot and I would not use it in place of one but for a scope, target acquisition is very fast. I think for the price you would be hard pressed to find a scope with nicer glass and better light transmission. I also don't think you will miss the fact that this scope is not illuminated because the reticle is easy to see even in low light. Great for hog hunting or deer hunting. The eye relief is excellent and is easy to use with both eyes open

Was texasplinker's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

Monarch African 1 x 4

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: timmclaughlin (verified customer) from ABQ, NM on May 17, 2011
Pros:  clear, bright, light, and good looking
Would recommend:  yes

timmclaughlin wrote:

I have only taken it to the range once, but I really like it. It's light and allows for quick shots.

Was timmclaughlin's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

heavy distortion at 1x

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
2 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: andrew (verified customer) , UK shooter, from Lincolnshire on Mar 3, 2011
Pros:  lightweight, low mounting, good low light performance
Cons:  terrible edge distortion at 1x magnification
Would recommend:  no

andrew wrote:

I bought this scope because I was delighted with my monarch 4-16x42. The 4-16x42 SF is absolutely rock solid with stunning optics. The 1-4x20 is really surprisingly bad in comparison. At 1x setting, the effect is very much like looking through the bottom of a beer glass - heavy edge distortion and swimming edges as you moe your head out of the sweet spot. I haven't noticed this effect on other low magnification scopes that I've used. The distortion disappears at magnifications above about 2x - so its still usable at higher mags, but I find it very disorientating at lower mags. Looks well built, but I will probably end up spending a lot more money and replacing it with swaro or s+b, and sticking the nikon on an air rifle rather than my .458. I can't really recommend it for a DG rifle.

Was andrew's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 8

Nikon african riflescope 1-4 x

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Steve from portage,WI on Jan 30, 2011
Pros:  small good glass
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

Steve wrote:

i bought this to replace a Leupold VXI 1-4 on my marlin 45/70. The Leupold was adequate but this scope is far better, but of course it costs more. I have vortex, bushnell, super sniper scopes and the glass on this is better than bushnell, slightly better than the vortex and as well if a hair better than the super sniper. Very clear ver good scope, had it out at the range at 5 degrees not issues at all. works well on the marlin 45/70

Was Steve's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 1

quality no frills scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: ahiowa (verified customer) , recreational shooter, from grand blanc michigan on Jan 24, 2011
Pros:  great field of view, german #4 reticle
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

ahiowa wrote:

great low power scope, mounted on cz 9.3 x 62 rifle, performs great

Was ahiowa's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Nikon Monarch 1-4x

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: yama (verified customer) from Castine, Maine on Nov 30, 2010
Pros:  Nice scope
Cons:  A bit expensive for a low power scope
Would recommend:  yes

yama wrote:

Easy adjustment, bright and clear in low light conditions. I have it on a brush gun and haven't missed a shot yet.

Was yama's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

great scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: cbrooks (verified customer) from bayside tx on Aug 5, 2010
Pros:  perfect for shotguns, easy to mount, reliable, isnt affected by 12 gauge slug recoil
Cons:  none noted
Would recommend:  yes

cbrooks wrote:

mounted on a side rail mount on a customized saiga 12 shotgun. i use this shotgun at work as a police officer and wanted a good short range, low power scope to put on it. the gun isnt a "tapco special" and i never cheap out on anything on my guns, especially not the scope. tried a few other shotgun scopes, but the nikon african with the german reticle is by far the best for accuracy and quick target acquistion. if you need a good brushgun or patrol shotgun scope, get a nikon and spend the extra buck, you will save yourself the hassle.

Was cbrooks's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 1

Nikon Monarch African rifle scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Ed Now , Retired game warden and African hunter., from Lakeview. Oregon on Jul 12, 2010
Pros:  Positive adjustment and solid zero
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

Ed Now wrote:

A mounted my Nikon Monarch African 1-4x scope on my CZ 458 and sighted it in with factory 510 gr. ammo. Its clarity, ease of adjustment, and solid zero have made it the best scope I can think of for a big caliber stopping rifle.

Was Ed Now's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

Impressive optics

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Alan Tytrer from Yinnar on Jul 9, 2010
Pros:  Crystal clear and wide field of view
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

Alan Tytrer wrote:

Fantastic glass. I can not yet vouch for the robustness or longevidity of this product as this is a new purchase but I have no reason to expect anything but satisfactory performance from anything NIKON.

Was Alan Tytrer's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Nikon Monarc African RIflescope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Bob48420 (verified customer) , Retired, from Traverse City, MI on Apr 16, 2010
Pros:  Excellent field of view. Excellent Reticle pattern
Cons:  limited magnification for long shots but I don't need it..
Would recommend:  yes

Bob48420 wrote:

Super for Michigan where we seldom take shots in excess of 100 yards. Most of my hunting is in woods and the Reticle pattern of this scope makes it quick to pick up the aim point in thick brush backgrounds. The wide field of view helps locate the target. I can hardly wait till November... = : - )

Was Bob48420's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

Reviews - Page 2 - Nikon Monarch African 1-4x20mm Riflescope, Matte Black, German #4 Reticle 8446-EE - UPC: 018208084463