2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
8446 Nikon Monarch African 1-4x20mm Riflescope, Matte Black, German #4 Reticle 8446-EE is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Nikon Monarch African 1-4x20mm Riflescope, Matte Black, German #4 Reticle 8446-EE and other Rifle Scopes by Nikon.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.8 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.9 / 5
Usability 4.7 / 5
Features 4.5 / 5
Value for your money 4.6 / 5
Meets expectations 4.7 / 5

Nikon Monarch African 1-4x20mm Riflescope, Matte Black, German #4 Reticle 8446-EE Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 25

Nikon At It's Best

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Mike (verified customer) , Shooting since I was 8 years old. , from San Diego CA on Apr 15, 2013
Pros:  Just looks right
Cons:  Noen so far
Would recommend:  yes

Mike wrote:

Nikon quality, one will not be dissapointed. Mounted the scope and out to the range for sighting in. On the paper at 25 yds without a bore scope. At 100 yds I had a 1.25" group from a Ruger 10/22. Amazing because I'm not that good.

Was Mike's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Good Scope, Good Price

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Bob B. (verified customer) , police officer, from Columbus, GA on Jan 28, 2013
Pros:  reticle visible in low light
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

Bob B. wrote:

Mounted this scope on a .450 Bushmaster for bear hunting. Scope is very rugged, easy to sight in and very fast to place on target. Crosshairs show up very good in low light. Perfect scope for large game hunting in short & medium range.

Was Bob B.'s review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

4.5 overall

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: brush country from Cabot VT on Oct 29, 2012
Pros:  good optics
Cons:  A bit bulky
Would recommend:  yes

brush country wrote:

Well worth the price. If you're hunting in cover and at ranges less than 200 meters this is a much better choice than the more traditional 3-9 or 2-7 scope. I mounted it on a lever action rifle for east coast deer hunting. It's quite a bit heavier, longer and bulkier than say Leupold's FX3 2.5 Ultra light. Shorter turrets would go a long way to streamlining the profile. "Incredibly" flat image is an overstatement between 1-1.5 power. It is however "reasonably" flat. Picking up moving targets with both eyes open 15+ meters is fantastic. 1/2 MOA adjustments takes a little getting used to but it's a nice feature for the practical ranges the scope would be used. German #4 reticle makes picking up target easy. Fine crosshair and 4X is great for zeroing and longer ranges. Optics on par with if not slightly better than say Leupold FX3 and VX2 series. Wait for an OP sale the manf suggested price is $279

Was brush country's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Great Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Dogman260 (verified customer) , Active outdoors person, Bird-hunter, deer-hunter and fisherman , from Dundee, NY on Feb 1, 2012
Pros:  Wide field of view, excellent reticle, sharp/bright image
Cons:  plastic adjustment caps, cheap lens covers, 1/2 minute reticle adjustment
Would recommend:  yes

Dogman260 wrote:

I wanted a low power, wide field of view scope with a German #4 reticle that would mount low (tight to the rifle receiver) allowing for very fast sight acquisition for close in hunting and out to a hundred yards. I have 3 other Nikon scopes and am extremely pleased with the sharpness and brightness of the target in all three. I think Nikon has the some of the highest quality glass for the money. The scope was mounted on a Remington 750 Woodsmaster in 308. WOW! What a package! Mission accomplished. I am extremely pleased with the scope and looking forward to the next deer season. Some minor peeves are 1) 1/2 minute reticle adjustment; 2) the plastic turret adjustment covers and 3) the cheap lens covers which I must admit are functional but don't really compliment the otherwise high quality product.

Was Dogman260's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

No problems, even at 1x

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: WinoBiker (verified customer) from PA on Jan 18, 2012
Pros:  Clear, and durable (so far)
Would recommend:  yes

WinoBiker wrote:

I put this scope on an AR-15 using a PEPR QD mount. I was reluctant to get this scope due to reviews that talked about problems at 1x. When I finally got to the range, I had no issues at all in using the scope at 1x at 50 yards (and less). In fact, there have been no problems at all at any magnification or distance (the range goes up to 100 yards). My only issue is the weight of the combination of the mount and the scope. It goes without saying that the more you put on an AR the heavier they get - and the ounces add up quickly. A few ounces less between the mount and the scope would have been nice, but if that remains my only complaint, I have to give the scope a 5.

Was WinoBiker's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Great Performance AT the Price!!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Nick Matich (verified customer) from Union KY on Jan 12, 2012
Pros:  Clear, Durable, Good Looking
Would recommend:  yes

Nick Matich wrote:

Purchased this scope for my Marlin 1895SBL in 45-70. Needed a durable scope to handle the recoil and this one seems to fit the bill perfectly!! Very clear and German # 4 reticle is perfect out to 200 yards. Installed the scope, zeroing was easy, and I have about 100+ rounds through the rifle. The scope holds zero and the eye relief is perfect. A great scope for a great rifle..... and Planet Optics are first class to buy from!!

Was Nick Matich's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Excellent value DGR scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Kris (verified customer) , A die-hard Gun Nut for 45 years., from So. California on Sep 29, 2011
Pros:  True 1X, Vgood glass, Vgood reticle.
Cons:  Useless big turrets
Would recommend:  yes

Kris wrote:

This Nikon scope is a gem. For the price, and for use on a DGR, there is nothing on the market that comes close to it and it is a superb value. I mounted it on a .458 Win., replacing a Leupold, and now have almost 70 rounds through it, so far so good. Do not under-value the capability of true 1X on a DGR scope, moving and sighting and taking quick shots with both eyes open, this is what you need,... you will wonder how you ever got along without it. Wide field of view, bright clear glass, lots of eye relief and a good quick german reticle that gets you on target fast. An earlier reviewer complained of distortion at low X, he must have had a defective unit. Mine is clear and flat and crisp all the way to the edge of field at 1X, actually quite amazing at this price level, my Leupold VX-3 has more distortion. Any cons?, just a few: 1.) Big tall elev/wind turrets, what for? to be tacti-cool? Even the guys who will mount this on their AR are not going to be grabbing and spinning the ...
Read full review / Product Info

Was Kris's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 7   not helpful: 0

heavy duty scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: jwvica01 (verified customer) from Louisville, KY on Aug 19, 2011
Pros:  good zero hold on heavy recoil
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

jwvica01 wrote:

would rather have plain caps than big gold cape buffalo but no big deal. this scope helps me hold 1 moa consistently with my marlin 45-70

Was jwvica01's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 1

customer

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: robert posner from yuma az on Jul 29, 2011
Pros:  great scope
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

robert posner wrote:

useing it on a 416 rigby. In east africa. that says it all!

Was robert posner's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 4

eyes wide open

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: chet (verified customer) from st. petersburg, fl on Jul 14, 2011
Pros:  wanted scope I could shoot with both eyes open, this works
Cons:  Could Nikon shave off 3 ounces??
Would recommend:  yes

chet wrote:

Great scope for walking/fast action...

Was chet's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Reviews - Nikon Monarch African 1-4x20mm Riflescope, Matte Black, German #4 Reticle 8446-EE - UPC: 018208084463