Products
2,495 Brands 483 Categories All Departments
Nikon Series Monarch African Riflescope 1-4x20 w/ German #4 Reticle 8446
Browse by Rating
(26 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Bodiebill
Nikon 1-4x scope appears to be firest class product. My intention is to use...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review heavy distortion at 1x
I bought this scope because I was delighted with my monarch 4-16x42. The 4...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Nikon At It's Best

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on April 15, 2013
Nikon quality, one will not be dissapointed. Mounted the scope and out to the range for sighting in. On the paper at 25 yds without a bore scope. At 100 yds I had a 1.25" group from a Ruger 10/22. Amazing because I'm not that good.
Pros: Just looks right
Cons: Noen so far...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good Scope, Good Price

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, GA Written on January 28, 2013
Mounted this scope on a .450 Bushmaster for bear hunting. Scope is very rugged, easy to sight in and very fast to place on target. Crosshairs show up very good in low light. Perfect scope for large game hunting in short & medium range.
Pros: reticle visible in low light
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

4.5 overall

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on October 29, 2012
Well worth the price.

If you're hunting in cover and at ranges less than 200 meters this is a much better choice than the more traditional 3-9 or 2-7 scope.

I mounted it on a lever action rifle for east coast deer hunting. It's quite a bit heavier, longer and bulkier than say Leupold's FX3 2.5 Ultra light. Shorter turrets would go a long way to streamlining the profile.

"Incredibly" flat image is an overstatement between 1-1.5 power. It is however "reasonably" flat. Picking up moving targets with both eyes open 15+ meters is fantastic.

1/2 MOA adjustments takes a little getting used to but it's a nice feature for the practical ranges the scope would be used.

German #4 reticle makes picking up target easy. Fine crosshair and 4X is great for zeroing and longer ranges. Optics on par with if not slightly better than say Leupold FX3 and VX2 series.

Wait for an OP sale the manf suggested price is $279
Pros: good optics
Cons: A bit bulky...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NY Written on February 1, 2012
I wanted a low power, wide field of view scope with a German #4 reticle that would mount low (tight to the rifle receiver) allowing for very fast sight acquisition for close in hunting and out to a hundred yards. I have 3 other Nikon scopes and am extremely pleased with the sharpness and brightness of the target in all three. I think Nikon has the some of the highest quality glass for the money. The scope was mounted on a Remington 750 Woodsmaster in 308. WOW! What a package! Mission accomplished. I am extremely pleased with the scope and looking forward to the next deer season.

Some minor peeves are 1) 1/2 minute reticle adjustment; 2) the plastic turret adjustment covers and 3) the cheap lens covers which I must admit are functional but don't really compliment the otherwise high quality product.
Pros: Wide field of view, excellent reticle, sharp/bright image
Cons: plastic adjustment caps, cheap lens covers, 1/2 minute reticle adjustment...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

No problems, even at 1x

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, PA Written on January 18, 2012
I put this scope on an AR-15 using a PEPR QD mount. I was reluctant to get this scope due to reviews that talked about problems at 1x. When I finally got to the range, I had no issues at all in using the scope at 1x at 50 yards (and less). In fact, there have been no problems at all at any magnification or distance (the range goes up to 100 yards). My only issue is the weight of the combination of the mount and the scope. It goes without saying that the more you put on an AR the heavier they get - and the ounces add up quickly. A few ounces less between the mount and the scope would have been nice, but if that remains my only complaint, I have to give the scope a 5.
Pros: Clear, and durable (so far)...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Performance AT the Price!!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, KY Written on January 12, 2012
Purchased this scope for my Marlin 1895SBL in 45-70. Needed a durable scope to handle the recoil and this one seems to fit the bill perfectly!! Very clear and German # 4 reticle is perfect out to 200 yards. Installed the scope, zeroing was easy, and I have about 100+ rounds through the rifle. The scope holds zero and the eye relief is perfect. A great scope for a great rifle..... and Planet Optics are first class to buy from!!
Pros: Clear, Durable, Good Looking...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Excellent value DGR scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on September 29, 2011
This Nikon scope is a gem. For the price, and for use on a DGR, there is nothing on the market that comes close to it and it is a superb value. I mounted it on a .458 Win., replacing a Leupold, and now have almost 70 rounds through it, so far so good. Do not under-value the capability of true 1X on a DGR scope, moving and sighting and taking quick shots with both eyes open, this is what you need,... you will wonder how you ever got along without it. Wide field of view, bright clear glass, lots of eye relief and a good quick german reticle that gets you on target fast. An earlier reviewer complained of distortion at low X, he must have had a defective unit. Mine is clear and flat and crisp all the way to the edge of field at 1X, actually quite amazing at this price level, my Leupold VX-3 has more distortion. Any cons?, just a few: 1.) Big tall elev/wind turrets, what for? to be tacti-cool? Even the guys who will mount this on their AR are not going to be grabbing and spinning the turrets on a 1-4x scope. These just block external view and snag on things. 2.) Personally I would like to have a slightly thicker center crosshair in the reticle, for low light, shady forest, etc. Not real thick like a heavy duplex, just maybe half again thicker than it currently is. 3.) Eye relief and position become quite a bit more unforgiving as you approach 4X, but I think this is nit-picking at this price level. Overall I give the Nikon African 8446 5-Stars, mostly for value.
Pros:...
Read More...
Would recommend: Yes
7 of 7 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

heavy duty scope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, KY Written on August 19, 2011
would rather have plain caps than big gold cape buffalo but no big deal.
this scope helps me hold 1 moa consistently with my marlin 45-70
Pros: good zero hold on heavy recoil
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

customer

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on July 29, 2011
useing it on a 416 rigby. In east africa.

that says it all!
Pros: great scope
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

eyes wide open

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, FL Written on July 14, 2011
Great scope for walking/fast action...
Pros: wanted scope I could shoot with both eyes open, this works
Cons: Could Nikon shave off 3 ounces??...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 26 User Reviews of Nikon Series Monarch African Riflescope 1-4x20 w/ German #4 Reticle 8446