Products
2,495 Brands 483 Categories All Departments
Pelican 1770 Long Watertight Case
Starts at $409.49
Purchase
Browse by Rating
(12 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review 1000 Yard Benchrest Shooter
My Benchrest guns are 53" long and it is difficult to find a carry case that provides adequate protection and meets the legal requirements of gun tran...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Size of a small coffin

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, VA Written on April 14, 2013
I use this case to store my custom long range rifle. It is a bolt action with a 30" barrel. This case is everything you would expect from a Pelican, but with the huge price tag! Still after spending thousands on a rifle are you going to risk damage due to not getting the best case? I won't.
Pros: Huge
Cons: Huge price tag...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Pelican 1770 Long Watertight Case

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on February 14, 2013
This is where you put the "Gimp" remember Pulp Fiction. its also where you can put the Remington Verza Max, x2 AR rifles, x5 handguns. plus it has the travel wheels on one end that allows for pulling thru the airport. the handles on both ends allows for two guys to load it on a vehicle. x6 locking hasps with x2 reinforced hasp to secure the lid with your own locks. and like i said its Gigantic.
Pros: Gigantic
Cons: Gigantic price...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Perfect except for one tiny complaint

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on April 13, 2012
I purchased this to fit my new 338 Lapua. It is massive! It looks like a coffin. I've seen some complaints that it doesn't have a side handle. There's no way one person could carry it, so it's no big deal. I do like having handles on both ends for team lifts. The wheels are super heavy duty too.

Obviously it has the quality everyone is accustomed to in Pelican Cases. They are second to none when it comes to protecting equipment.

I was a little stung by the price because my buddy got the next size down for 40% less. Then I saw how giant this thing is. I can now get my rifle, spotting scope, and ammo in one case.

My only negative on this case is it comes with the perforated foam blocks that tear apart. I would have preferred the solid foam you trim with a carving knife. It yields a tighter fit.
Pros: Size, quality, durability
Cons: Heavy...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Pelican 1770 Long Watertight Case w/Foam and Lid - Black

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on April 13, 2012
Good solid case that offers excellent protection from impact and moisture. It is a long heavy case and difficult to get in and out of vehicles without side handles. The rollers and latches are very durable and should last a long time. Would have rated it all 5's with side handles and lower price.
Pros: Very solid case that offers excellent protection from impact and water
Cons: No handles on sides and high price...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

massive

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on February 12, 2012
This thing is a beast. While it is a fine pelican product, there is no carry handle, just end handles to use with the wheels.
Pros: its a pelican!
Cons: not easy to transport...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Rugged Case

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MI Written on December 9, 2011
I also have target guns at 53" length and needed the size of the 1770. The case is rugged and well built, but I definitely wish it would have come with another outside handle and 3+1",rather than the almost 4" foam layer thickness for flexibility.
Pros: Size and Durability
Cons: Handle and Flexibility...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good case - could use side handle like 1720

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on October 30, 2011
Good case overall, great quality, definitely heavy duty. Would have liked to have a handle on the long side like the 1720 does. Also, the plastic ID holder is pretty flimsy and I'd be nervous to put it through checked baggage on an airline.
Pros: durability, quality
Cons: no handle on long side...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Pelican Case

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on February 28, 2011
The case is all that I expected. Rugged, heavy duty and perfect for the applicaiton.
Pros: Heavy Duty, sturdy
Cons: Quite Heavy...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Survey Tripod Case

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, VA Written on February 12, 2011
Finally a case long, strong & deep enough to carry two standard surveyors tripodsplus prism rods. I can now retire my adapted hard shell golf club and modified rifle cases. I'd give it all 5 rating if it had a side handle. I would still recommend it.
Pros: Size and durability
Cons: Really could use a side handle!!...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

there is no other

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on August 9, 2010
the best 4 the monet. my shotguns are safe
Pros: just right
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 12 User Reviews of Pelican 1770 Long Watertight Case