2,462 Brands 451 Categories All Departments
288 Steiner 8x30 Predator Pro Compact Porro Prism Matte Black Binoculars 288 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Steiner 8x30 Predator Pro Compact Porro Prism Matte Black Binoculars 288 and other Binoculars by Steiner.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.9 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.7 / 5
Usability 4.9 / 5
Features 4.6 / 5
Value for your money 4.6 / 5
Meets expectations 4.8 / 5

Steiner 8x30 Predator Pro Compact Porro Prism Matte Black Binoculars 288 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 11

as good as it says

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: trobert from Anacortes, WA on Jul 26, 2013
Pros:  mid size binoculars with good lenses
Cons:  not negligible weight
Would recommend:  yes

trobert wrote:

These do not work at close range. The idea that they are constant focus only works when the object is at least 1000 meters/yards or more, and the farther, the better. In other words, half a mile away. There are often birds that are closer, so I use these when I see an unusual boat in the channel a mile away rather than a bird 300 meters away.

Was trobert's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 6

Great Binoculars

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Eugene Dellemonache from Leechburg, PA. on Jul 22, 2013
Pros:  Insta-focus, rugged, compact
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

Eugene Dellemonache wrote:

This is a great pair of binoculars for the price. Plus, they are German made so you know they are of good quality and workmanship. Very rugged,compact,light weight and reliable as far as functionality. I use them to hunt as well as other outdoor activities.

Was Eugene Dellemonache's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Steiner optics like I have not seen before!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Lake Superior John (verified customer) , Avid outdoors sportsman, from Ontario on Mar 23, 2013
Pros:  incredible 3D views of objects within 200 yards, easy to use, great optics, reasonable price
Cons:  very happy so far, therefore i can't think of any
Would recommend:  yes

Lake Superior John wrote:

I am an avid bow hunter( especially for moose and deer), enjoy the great outdoors, and the game of golf. I purchased this item in February 2013, and proceeded to take them to the Bear trap at the Honda tournament in Palm Beach this year. I could easily indentify players two to two hundred and fifty yards away as well as follow their hit balls right to the green infront of our seats. I have purchased an optical device that is compact, comfortably lightweight, and easily adjusted to view the surroundings. I wear glasses and the eyecaps easily accomodate your lenses. I would consider future Steiner items as well as this Optics Planet website. I did read various reviews about the Steiner binoculars prior to purchase, and priced them at various stores. I couldn't find a better price than Optics Planet....

Was Lake Superior John's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

288 steiner 8x30 predator pro prism compact binoculars

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: James I (verified customer) , Sportsmen, from SCS MI. on Feb 27, 2013
Pros:  good glass&good price
Cons:  strap
Would recommend:  yes

James I wrote:

hunting in ceder swamp in upper MI. did a great job for a good price.

Was James I's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 1

Lightweight binos at great pricepoint!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: xtimestablex (verified customer) , precision, endurance, & adventure sports enthusiast... just another gearhead on the constant quest for increasing my abilities through higher technologies at a great price-point. , from oakland on Feb 26, 2013
Pros:  lightweight, plenty of eye relief, magnification power, auto adjustability
Cons:  possibly discontinued from manufacturer
Would recommend:  yes

xtimestablex wrote:

great setup for those with prescription eyewear. plenty of eye relief. amazing clarity at range from ~20 yds to infinity. contrast coating is a great bonus for glassing in woodsy areas

Was xtimestablex's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Color varibles are extremley crisp, it very much enhances the brown and red as though it advertises.

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Todd Maddox (verified customer) from Bethlehem G.A. on Dec 10, 2010
Pros:  Easy to set up for your eyes... Just set it and forget it .
Cons:  None found at this time.
Would recommend:  yes

Todd Maddox wrote:

Best binoculars for the the money,

Was Todd Maddox's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

Okiehunter

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Okiehunter (verified customer) , 50+ yrs. old, hunted and fished since childhood. Also, love longrange shooting. , from Wewoka, OK on Dec 9, 2010
Pros:  Light weight, both eyepieces adjust for each eye.
Cons:  FOV not great but acceptable. Eye piece covers not the best design.
Would recommend:  yes

Okiehunter wrote:

Have used a pair of Steiner 10x50 marines for over 20 yrs. These are not the bino's they are but much, much, better for walking and packing in and a whole lot cheaper.

Was Okiehunter's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

GREAT BINOCULARS!!!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: cross (verified customer) , bought a pair of these binoculars from this site, from Baton Rouge, Louisiana on Feb 3, 2009
Would recommend:  yes

cross wrote:

GREAT BINOCULARS, GREAT SELLER, COULDN'T ASK FOR MORE FOR YOUR MONEY, GREAT CLARITY!

Was cross's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 5

east texas woods

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: spottlightt (verified customer) , real time executive with an outdoorsman heart, from lufkin, tx on Jan 23, 2009
Would recommend:  yes

spottlightt wrote:

I hunt the heavily wooded and brushy lands of east texas. The contrast on the predator pros and the compact size really are perfect for this application. They made it much easier to pick out game in the dense underbrush than my previous binoculars

Was spottlightt's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 0

Handy and Tough

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Jonathan from Los Angeles, CA on Nov 5, 2008
Pros:  Lightweight, Solid Handling, Excellent Optics
Cons:  needs resetting for best sharpness
Would recommend:  yes

Jonathan wrote:

I tried this one because I could no longer tolerate 2.5 lb binos. These were a pleasant surprise, especially for the money. The optics are excellent, comfortable to view for long periods and quite sharp. There's no focusing knob in the center, instead you reset your eyepieces individually. Steiner says you only need to set this once, however, I found I need to change it for long distance vs. medium distance for best sharpness. It does have very good depth of field, so this zone focusing works reasonably well without too much fuss. The plus side is, the simpler construction keeps the weight down and the strength up. It has a very nice rubberized housing, and quality front lens caps you can't lose. A pleasant surprise for hunters, the image is brighter than your naked eye. I could see details in shadow right up till dark. A 3 lb $1000 bino might beat it optically, but this is the ideal combination of light weight, handiness, and optics in my opinion.

Was Jonathan's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 26   not helpful: 0

Reviews - Steiner 8x30 Predator Pro Compact Porro Prism Matte Black Binoculars 288 - UPC: 077068002888