Products
2,516 Brands 483 Categories All Departments
Steiner 8x30 Predator Pro Compact Binoculars
Browse by Rating
(14 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Handy and Tough
I tried this one because I could no longer tolerate 2.5 lb binos. These were a pleasant surprise, especially for the money. The optics are excellent, ...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Exactly what I needed

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on June 24, 2014
I had never tried the instant focus style binos. I am used to having to spin the focus knob to zero in on game. These truly are set and forget. When looking for game, you don't know what range it is going to pop out at. These allow you to quickly cover large areas without having to constantly refocus.

They are limited in how close you can focus, but for safari or hunting, that is not an issue. The speed and ability to quickly bring them to the eye and scan without adjustment far outweighs the lack of close focus and any slight compromise in clarity compared to a set you have to refocus on every object.

Wild animals often got away before I could get my old binos focused. Now I bring the glasses to my eye and I can count horns or tell if a shadow is a tree or an animal before it slips away.

There are probably better set ups for birdwatching or astronomy, but for spotting and scouting these are top notch. Light, clear, and incredibly fast.
Pros: instant focus at practical ranges
Cons: absolute clarity is compromised for speed...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Awesome!

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on January 20, 2014
These binoculars are amazing! They're optics are super clear and bright. It's small and lightweight and easy to carry. They're so good I could see Jupiter and the moons around it! They are amazing!
Pros: Sports Focus, Lightwieght, clear Optics,
Cons: Nothing...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Such Clarity and ease of use

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on January 11, 2014
Best binoculars I Have ever owned! Clarity is outstanding and the automatic focus feature is great and allows one had use for hunting with a rifle in your arms. Very light weight too. Great buy!
Pros: clarity and function...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

as good as it says

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on July 26, 2013
These do not work at close range. The idea that they are constant focus only works when the object is at least 1000 meters/yards or more, and the farther, the better. In other words, half a mile away. There are often birds that are closer, so I use these when I see an unusual boat in the channel a mile away rather than a bird 300 meters away.
Pros: mid size binoculars with good lenses
Cons: not negligible weight...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 11 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Binoculars

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on July 22, 2013
This is a great pair of binoculars for the price. Plus, they are German made so you know they are of good quality and workmanship. Very rugged,compact,light weight and reliable as far as functionality. I use them to hunt as well as other outdoor activities.
Pros: Insta-focus, rugged, compact
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Steiner optics like I have not seen before!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on March 23, 2013
I am an avid bow hunter( especially for moose and deer), enjoy the great outdoors, and the game of golf. I purchased this item in February 2013, and proceeded to take them to the Bear trap at the Honda tournament in Palm Beach this year. I could easily indentify players two to two hundred and fifty yards away as well as follow their hit balls right to the green infront of our seats. I have purchased an optical device that is compact, comfortably lightweight, and easily adjusted to view the surroundings. I wear glasses and the eyecaps easily accomodate your lenses. I would consider future Steiner items as well as this Optics Planet website. I did read various reviews about the Steiner binoculars prior to purchase, and priced them at various stores. I couldn't find a better price than Optics Planet....
Pros: incredible 3D views of objects within 200 yards, easy to use, great optics, reasonable price
Cons: very happy so far, therefore i can't think of any...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

288 steiner 8x30 predator pro prism compact binoculars

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MI Written on February 27, 2013
hunting in ceder swamp in upper MI. did a great job for a good price.
Pros: good glass&good price
Cons: strap...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Lightweight binos at great pricepoint!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on February 26, 2013
great setup for those with prescription eyewear. plenty of eye relief. amazing clarity at range from ~20 yds to infinity. contrast coating is a great bonus for glassing in woodsy areas
Pros: lightweight, plenty of eye relief, magnification power, auto adjustability
Cons: possibly discontinued from manufacturer...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Color varibles are extremley crisp, it very much enhances the brown and red as though it advertises.

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on December 10, 2010
Best binoculars for the the money,
Pros: Easy to set up for your eyes... Just set it and forget it .
Cons: None found at this time....
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Okiehunter

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, OK Written on December 9, 2010
Have used a pair of Steiner 10x50 marines for over 20 yrs. These are not the bino's they are but much, much, better for walking and packing in and a whole lot cheaper.
Pros: Light weight, both eyepieces adjust for each eye.
Cons: FOV not great but acceptable. Eye piece covers not the best design....
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 14 User Reviews of Steiner 8x30 Predator Pro Compact Binoculars