2,510 Brands 451 Categories All Departments
Tasco 2.5-10x42 Target / Varmint Riflescope Rifle scope
$72.79 $104.95 Save 31%
Average Customer Review (16 reviews)
Share your thought Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Great airgun scope
This is my third one of these. They make excellent hunting scopes for airg...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review Good for the money
For the price, this is a pretty decent scope. The mil-dot does appear accu...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Tasco 2.5-10x42 Target-Varmint Riflescope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on October 11, 2012
The optics are suprisingly sharp and clear for the price. The crosshair is thicker than a standard Mil-Dot and completely covers small target dots. I mounted it on a .243 and the eyepice ring losened up after shooting about two boxes. Rather than pay the shipping and $10 warranty fee on such a cheap scope, I just tightened it up and mounted on a .22 Hornet and it seems to stay tight. The paralax adjustment numbers seem to be off when I check it on range targets, but if you know that it is sort of OK for the price. I guess to sum it up, it's limitations are acceptable for the price, but realize Varmit-Target is code small rifles.
Pros: Cheap, Clear
Cons: Thick Crosshair, Limited to Small Rifles...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

tasco 2.5-10X42 mildot scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on June 21, 2012
great scope for the money. clear optics. adjustments easy to make and stay put.
Pros: liked everything. great price
Cons: none i can think of....
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NY Written on September 30, 2011
I bought this scope for my Browning SA-22. Today I took it to the range and boresighted it. I was shooting CCI 40 grain Velocitor rounds and Federal bulk pack 36 grain. The weather was sunny with an occasional passing cloud.
After boresighting, the scope was shooting dead nuts after 9 rounds. Average 3-shot groups were less than one inch at 50 yards. Both brands of ammo performed well.
The optics and magnification are excellent. Windage and elevation knobs are adjustable with gloved hands, a feature I really like. Parallax is also hand-adjustable, a sophisticated feature for a .22 rifle.
CON:
The mil dot scope was originally developed for military snipers and should provide range as well as an aimimg point. On this scope, the mil dots do not change size as the magnification changes, which greatly complicates the ranging function. However, if you're good at math and don't mind carrying a calculator in the field, or a sheet of paper with pre-calculated values, you can make it work. There is also a commercial pre-calculated table that you can buy and that will fit in a pocket.
I have been a fan of Tasco for 20 years because they deliver value for the money. This scope is no exception.
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Hard to use for ranging...
Would recommend: Yes
9 of 9 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

hunter

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, GA Written on September 23, 2011
awsome scope i have used it on 22-to my 243 and my 17 hmr with no complants at all.i plan on buying 2 more....
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Amazing scope for your money

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, TX Written on October 25, 2010
I have this scope on my mini-14 and It has been run through the ringer and beaten up. I also have this scope on my remington .270 and it withstands recoil like a champ, I have sighted it in once the entire year I have had it with over 150 rounds through it. It is an amazing scope for the value. Why spend far more money on 1 "nice" scope when you can get 7 of these for the same price and do the exact same thing. Buy it now!
Pros: Holds zero, easy adjustments, very clear
Cons: NONE...
Would recommend: Yes
8 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Excellent value for money

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on January 17, 2010
This is possibly the best scope for the money that I have used to date. I have it on my 10/22 and find the target turrets handy. The parallax adjustment is also a neat feature when shooting at varying distances throughout the day. The only thing I found to be a little difficult was having to have your head in an almost perfect position when using 10X. To be honest, the scope is not the only cause of this as I am quite tall and the 10/22 still has the original short stock, which makes it quite difficult to get comfortable behind the rifle. All in all, great scope!
Pros: Packed full of useful features for a good price
Cons: Can't find any so far...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Excellent

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MN Written on January 8, 2010
nicest scope ive ever used,mounted on rimfire,but has been put through heck,temps so cold,when warmed back up it was covered with frost,has been bumped,banged,and overall mistreated,still shoots better than me
Pros: very clear,mil dots perfect for 17mach2
Cons: hard to adjust power @ -20 degress F,imagine that...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good for the money

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CT Written on November 23, 2009
For the price, this is a pretty decent scope. The mil-dot does appear accurate at 10x. I'm using it on a Ruger 10/22; not sure that I'd bother on a higher caliber. The glass is a bit darker than I expected at 10x, but managable. Having target turrets under the turret caps is nice. My biggest issue with the scope is the eye relief. There seems to be a very small margin of play, unlike most of my other scopes (granted they all cost at least 4 times more). I have to be in a very exact position on my cheek rest to take a clear shot. If I were going to do any sort of competition with the rifle, I'd probably pick something else. For regular plinking though, it's fine.
Pros: Target turrets, mil-dot accurate at 10x, fine focus adjustment
Cons: Glass so-so at 10x, object relief narrow...
Would recommend: Yes
8 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Sgt Gunt 0311

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, FL Written on October 23, 2009
Great scope for the money, sharp and responsive. 2.5 x 10 power is a great all around power range. Minimual point of impact shift through range with 5.56 x 45. The scope covers that come with the Tasco scopes are marginal. Buy a set of Butler Creek covers that meet your needs.
Pros: Sharp, clear glass, Positive turrent adjustment
Cons: For the money, none but I replaced the scope covers...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Scope Great Price

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, VA Written on October 18, 2009
Bought this scope on a whim. Price was great for all the features offered. Sighting in was a breeze and it's dead on at 50 yd range,
My friend at the range liked it so much he bought one for his 10/22 . Same results.
Pros: Everything
Cons: Haven't found any...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Tasco 2.5-10x42 Target / Varmint Riflescope Rifle scope Product Reviews Comments