2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
VMX3-SM-01 Vortex Optics VMX3 Magnifier w/ Swing Mount VMX3-SM-01 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Vortex Optics VMX3 Magnifier w/ Swing Mount VMX3-SM-01 and other Red Dot Sight Accessories by Vortex.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.2 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.8 / 5
Usability 4.2 / 5
Features 4.3 / 5
Value for your money 4.4 / 5
Meets expectations 4.1 / 5

Vortex Optics VMX3 Magnifier w/ Swing Mount VMX3-SM-01 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 14

Best Budget Magnifier Out There

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: BSB98031 , Ar enthusiast, weekend warrior, survivalist in training, from Kent, WA on Jul 31, 2012
Pros:  value, quality, rugged
Cons:  none yet
Would recommend:  yes

BSB98031 wrote:

I have been running this vortex behined my Eotech XPS2-0 for a month now, the magnifier is clear, the mout is made by American Defense and is on par with Larue quality, and for the price I have yet to find a major fault. Some others complain it touches the MBUS rear sight, it clears the Troy and KAC Micro 600m no problem, for those that have a MBUS you can shave off a little of the rubber on the rubber protector with an exacto knife ans solve the contact problem, or just buy a smaller sight. The eye relief is about 3" maybe a little less, not a problem for the way I run my rifle. All things considered this is the best sight combo out there for the money.

Was BSB98031's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

VMX3 review

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Alphafoxtrot25 from SW Florida on Jun 29, 2012
Pros:  Affordable, quality unit, quality mount, lines up with CompM4
Cons:  Bearly fits over rear BUIS, rubber rubs on BUIS when folding and I run out of adj to center dot.
Would recommend:  yes

Alphafoxtrot25 wrote:

Magnifier and mount are top line products in an affordable price. I have mine on an AR with a CompM4 w/riser. Unit lines up perfect however I can not center dot in magnifier, I run out of adj. Go figure. But the dot is almost there. This may bother some of you. It's close enough for me. Swing mount is very nice, adjustable, locks on rail and swings magnifier with a flip of the finger. However it rubs on my BUIS (ARMS 40L) which is a very low pro sight. I also had to move my RDS forward on the rail to fit the mag and BUIS. Other than this the magnifier and mount are well worth what you pay. I'd also say the quality is sub par to an Aimpoint/EOtech but only slightly and I do mean slightly. I would never pay the $599 for a SLIGHTLY better unit, when this one works just fine.

Was Alphafoxtrot25's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Works as expected

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: TorgIsHere (verified customer) , Later, from California on May 21, 2012
Pros:  Rubberized exterior, recessed elevation windage knobs, swing to side mount.
Cons:  eye relief
Would recommend:  yes

TorgIsHere wrote:

50mm eye relief, swing to side mount doesnt lock as securely as I would have hoped. The swing to side is great and feels much more secure than the FTS mounts I've seen. It takes a little getting used to though. I have Gen2 MBUS sights on my rifle and it BARELY clears the rear sight. The rear sight actuall prevents the magnifier from flipping to the side unintentionally. That should give you an idea how securely the mount holds the optics in the ion/off position. If i pulled the irons off I could probably bump the mount and push it to the side. Every so often I have to pull the optic back into place for use. There is no way to adjust the mount. I might modify the mout by shaving the corners down a little to make for a sharper ridge to clear. The corners of the swivel/swing socket are chamfered so that if you dont fully engage the spring you can swing the optic over. This makes for a situation where you might accidentally swing the optic out of place. It's not that big of a deal when you ...
Read full review / Product Info

Was TorgIsHere's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

Vortex VMX3

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: egriffin77 (verified customer) from phoenix AZ on May 21, 2012
Pros:  good glass, easy to mount and adjust
Cons:  the swing to the side is not the best functionality but it work
Would recommend:  yes

egriffin77 wrote:

Great magnifier for the price, I have two of them. They are easy to adjust, mount etc. The swing to the side can be somewhat cumbersome but it works.

Was egriffin77's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Vortex VMX3 Magnifier and swing mount

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Skyward bound (verified customer) , I like guns and like to shoot , from Lufkin, tx on Apr 28, 2012
Pros:  Adjustments on centering the red dot, Easy to use, good quality,
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

Skyward bound wrote:

I got a Vortex Magnifier with the swing mount for my AR15. Its coupled with an Eotech 512 and it's awesome. It's very clear and crisp. The adjustment on the magnifier is what sold me. If it isnt lined up just perfect with your red dot, no problem, just adjuste the screws and you actually can center the dot inside the magnifier. The mount swings out of the way very fast and easy but is very solid and doesn't move or wiggle. I highly recommend this product

Was Skyward bound's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

VMX3 Magnifier w/swingmount

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:2 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: canfood (verified customer) from portland OR on Mar 1, 2012
Pros:  made in U.S.A. and well constructed
Cons:  "swing" mount has nothing locking it in place, cam only
Would recommend:  yes

canfood wrote:

The swing mount has nothing to hold in either position, just the spring pressure on a cam. It "swings" with the recoil from a 308, other than that it's alright.

Was canfood's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

mag swing mount

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: jo1957 (verified customer) from coal mountain on Feb 13, 2012
Pros:  easy to mount
Cons:  haven't found any yet
Would recommend:  yes

jo1957 wrote:

great addition to my AR

Was jo1957's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Great alternative to others

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: mawalker2 (verified customer) , Love the outdoors and trying out new products on various weapon platforms., from Huntington Beach, Ca on Jan 8, 2012
Pros:  Best bang for the buck
Cons:  haven't found one yet
Would recommend:  yes

mawalker2 wrote:

The optics are very clear and the mount is sturdy and top quality in my opinion. Great magnifier for half of what others charge in the market.............

Was mawalker2's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Vortex VMX3 with Swing Mount

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: JonM (verified customer) , Firearms collector, Business Owner, former military police, from Burlington Wisconsin on Dec 24, 2011
Pros:  low price point lots of extras
Cons:  very short eye relief, rubber armoured
Would recommend:  yes

JonM wrote:

As a firearms collector and enthusiast I wanted a a magnifier for my vortex strike fire. The Vortex VMX3 fit well for range and plinking purposes but i wouldnt recomend it for serious self protection usage. It has two main issues that keep it from being a very good alternative to pricier magnifiers. The main issue is the very very short eye relief. The sond issue builds off tthe eye relief. Due to its short nature the magnifier has to be right over your rear buis the rubber covering hits my magpul rear sight when folded down. While I checked recommend on this it is with a caveat that I recommend it only for plinking or range target shooting.

Was JonM's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 2

Vortex vmx3 with swing mount

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: John del Rosario (verified customer) from San Diego California on Dec 15, 2011
Pros:  Very good quality optics
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

John del Rosario wrote:

It looks very nice on my ar15. And it has a solid feel

Was John del Rosario's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 4

Reviews - Vortex Optics VMX3 Magnifier w/ Swing Mount VMX3-SM-01 - UPC: 875874003606