2,536 Brands 453 Categories All Departments
Vortex Crossfire 4-12x40 Matte Riflescopes
Browse by Rating
(8 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Best "budget" scope on the market
I bought this scope for a Mossberg ATR-100 .308 bolt-action rifle. To begin...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review 1 Year Canted Reticles
I bought mine in Oct 2009. Had it professionally installed on my .308, took...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Good but not great

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NC Written on August 5, 2011
The scope is good for the money but don't have expectations of equalling a $300 Bushnell or equivilant Vortex. The adjustment clicks are audible, but mushy before and after the click. The eye relief is very touchy at high magnification and it is sometimes difficult to find the sweet spot to put your eye for best viewing. Scope is good enough for my .22LR and testing rounds at 100yds....
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Crossfire

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on June 25, 2011
Purchased this scope for a gift for my son to put on his first hunting rifle, 30-06. I have a Viper on another rifle as well as Nikon's and Redfield Revolutions. After a lengthy mounting due to eye relief issues I was even more shocked to find the stated relief from Vortex at 3" was actually only 2". This was not going to work on a 30-06, so it went on the .243, works o.k. with nice glass and small reticle, but I think the Nikon or Redfield to be better choices.
Pros: nice glass
Cons: eye relief...
Would recommend: No
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Broken on second day at the range

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on May 22, 2011
Wife bought this for me and I had never heard of Vortex but figured what the heck. Mounted on my new .308 X Bolt and on the second day at the range an inner ring fell off track in the focus adjuster. Then when trying to turn the knob the rear lens came off cant and chipped. Terrible for only having it less than three weeks.
Pros: Good clear picture
Cons: Easily broken...
Would recommend: No
2 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

1 Year Canted Reticles

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, GA Written on November 15, 2010
I bought mine in Oct 2009. Had it professionally installed on my .308, took it to the range and put about 25-30 rounds sighting it in. No problems.

2010 comes, took it to the range to make sure all is well, shot 5 rounds and reticles started canting to the left a lot.

Always took care of my rifle/scope, stored them in a case, never dropped it, I guess I got a bad one. Had to pay for shipping to send it to Vortex for repair/replacement. Deer season ruined, not happy.
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Cheap...
Would recommend: No
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Vortex Crossfire

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on September 23, 2010
I have the V-Bright 4-12 model and it is simply a fantastic set of glass for the money. It is more clear throughout the entire range of magnification than my Nikon Prostaffs and the red dot reticle is great for zeroing in on dark targets without being distracting like I've found with other "cheap" scopes. It has stood up to hundreds of rounds from a hard-kicking Magnum without a hiccup, and I'm now buying my second for a .45-70.
Pros: Clarity, durability, quality, price, reticle...
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

vortex

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on June 22, 2010
This is a very good scope for the money. I have looked at all different kinds. The red dot on mine has a small issue but I'm probaly not going to use that to much anyway. Optics Planet was very fast shipping very happy with the service. Overall a great experience.
Pros: price
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Best "budget" scope on the market

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, VA Written on April 14, 2010
I bought this scope for a Mossberg ATR-100 .308 bolt-action rifle. To begin with, .308 has plenty of recoil. On top of that, the Mossberg is ridiculously lightweight. Bottom line: there's no shortage of recoil on my setup.

I've put about 200 bullets downrange with this scope with no issues whatsoever. The optics are clearer than most scopes that cost 2x what this one costs. It took all of about 6 shots to zero this scope, and since then I've had to make no adjustments.

Vortex is also a fantastic company to deal with. I couldn't find a scope in this price point from any other company that was covered by a lifetime unlimited warranty. Vortex stands behind their products and is well known for having some of the best customer service in the industry, despite the fact that the company is relatively new.

From 4x to 12x, you'll have great clarity. Buy with confidence.
Pros: Excellent clarity/light transmission, easy to zero, solid construction, solid reticule design, exceptional warranty
Cons: --...
Would recommend: Yes
9 of 9 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great scope, great value

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on June 8, 2009
Bought this to use on a flattop AR-15. Scope works great, very clear, meets all of my expectations at a great price. Quality is awesome!
Pros: Price, good quality
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 8 User Reviews of Vortex Crossfire 4-12x40 Matte Riflescopes