2,462 Brands 451 Categories All Departments
CRF-04P Vortex Crossfire 4-12x40 V-Plex Reticle Riflescope, Matte Black - CRF-04P is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Vortex Crossfire 4-12x40 V-Plex Reticle Riflescope, Matte Black - CRF-04P and other Rifle Scopes by Vortex.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
3.8 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.2 / 5
Usability 3.8 / 5
Features 4.1 / 5
Value for your money 3.8 / 5
Meets expectations 3.8 / 5

Vortex Crossfire 4-12x40 V-Plex Reticle Riflescope, Matte Black - CRF-04P Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 8 out of 8

Good but not great

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Chris Schulz (verified customer) from Goldsboro, NC on Aug 5, 2011
Would recommend:  yes

Chris Schulz wrote:

The scope is good for the money but don't have expectations of equalling a $300 Bushnell or equivilant Vortex. The adjustment clicks are audible, but mushy before and after the click. The eye relief is very touchy at high magnification and it is sometimes difficult to find the sweet spot to put your eye for best viewing. Scope is good enough for my .22LR and testing rounds at 100yds.

Was Chris Schulz's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 1

Crossfire

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:3 / 5
Meets expectations:2 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:3 / 5

Author: accuratebrass from kennewick, wa on Jun 25, 2011
Pros:  nice glass
Cons:  eye relief
Would recommend:  no

accuratebrass wrote:

Purchased this scope for a gift for my son to put on his first hunting rifle, 30-06. I have a Viper on another rifle as well as Nikon's and Redfield Revolutions. After a lengthy mounting due to eye relief issues I was even more shocked to find the stated relief from Vortex at 3" was actually only 2". This was not going to work on a 30-06, so it went on the .243, works o.k. with nice glass and small reticle, but I think the Nikon or Redfield to be better choices.

Was accuratebrass's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Broken on second day at the range

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
1 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:1 / 5

Author: Disappointed from Pacific wa on May 22, 2011
Pros:  Good clear picture
Cons:  Easily broken
Would recommend:  no

Disappointed wrote:

Wife bought this for me and I had never heard of Vortex but figured what the heck. Mounted on my new .308 X Bolt and on the second day at the range an inner ring fell off track in the focus adjuster. Then when trying to turn the knob the rear lens came off cant and chipped. Terrible for only having it less than three weeks.

Was Disappointed 's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 1

1 Year Canted Reticles

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
2 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:2 / 5
Value for your money:2 / 5

Author: Oz ATL (verified customer) from Lawrenceville, ga on Nov 15, 2010
Pros:  Cheap
Cons:  Cheap
Would recommend:  no

Oz ATL wrote:

I bought mine in Oct 2009. Had it professionally installed on my .308, took it to the range and put about 25-30 rounds sighting it in. No problems. 2010 comes, took it to the range to make sure all is well, shot 5 rounds and reticles started canting to the left a lot. Always took care of my rifle/scope, stored them in a case, never dropped it, I guess I got a bad one. Had to pay for shipping to send it to Vortex for repair/replacement. Deer season ruined, not happy.

Was Oz ATL's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Vortex Crossfire

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: TheCarGuy (verified customer) , I'm a car guy and a gun guy., from Phoenix, Arizona on Sep 23, 2010
Pros:  Clarity, durability, quality, price, reticle...
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

TheCarGuy wrote:

I have the V-Bright 4-12 model and it is simply a fantastic set of glass for the money. It is more clear throughout the entire range of magnification than my Nikon Prostaffs and the red dot reticle is great for zeroing in on dark targets without being distracting like I've found with other "cheap" scopes. It has stood up to hundreds of rounds from a hard-kicking Magnum without a hiccup, and I'm now buying my second for a .45-70.

Was TheCarGuy's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

vortex

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: eric (verified customer) from texas on Jun 22, 2010
Pros:  price
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

eric wrote:

This is a very good scope for the money. I have looked at all different kinds. The red dot on mine has a small issue but I'm probaly not going to use that to much anyway. Optics Planet was very fast shipping very happy with the service. Overall a great experience.

Was eric's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Best "budget" scope on the market

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Snarky15 (verified customer) , I'm huge into optics. I'm huge into guns. I'm huge into the outdoors, life, and God., from Lynchburg, Va on Apr 14, 2010
Pros:  Excellent clarity/light transmission, easy to zero, solid construction, solid reticule design, exceptional warranty
Cons:  --
Would recommend:  yes

Snarky15 wrote:

I bought this scope for a Mossberg ATR-100 .308 bolt-action rifle. To begin with, .308 has plenty of recoil. On top of that, the Mossberg is ridiculously lightweight. Bottom line: there's no shortage of recoil on my setup. I've put about 200 bullets downrange with this scope with no issues whatsoever. The optics are clearer than most scopes that cost 2x what this one costs. It took all of about 6 shots to zero this scope, and since then I've had to make no adjustments. Vortex is also a fantastic company to deal with. I couldn't find a scope in this price point from any other company that was covered by a lifetime unlimited warranty. Vortex stands behind their products and is well known for having some of the best customer service in the industry, despite the fact that the company is relatively new. From 4x to 12x, you'll have great clarity. Buy with confidence.

Was Snarky15's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 9   not helpful: 0

Great scope, great value

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Jeff91082 from RI on Jun 8, 2009
Pros:  Price, good quality
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

Jeff91082 wrote:

Bought this to use on a flattop AR-15. Scope works great, very clear, meets all of my expectations at a great price. Quality is awesome!

Was Jeff91082's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

Reviews - Vortex Crossfire 4-12x40 V-Plex Reticle Riflescope, Matte Black - CRF-04P - UPC: 875874001435