2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
S836 Vortex Solo 36mm Monocular is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Vortex Solo 36mm Monocular and other Monoculars by Vortex.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
5.0 / 5
Easy To Set Up 5.0 / 5
Usability 4.8 / 5
Features 4.9 / 5
Value for your money 5.0 / 5
Meets expectations 5.0 / 5

Vortex Solo 36mm Monocular Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 9 out of 9

Vortex Solo 8x36 Monocular

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: MeanG19 (verified customer) , Prior military, current LEO and avid 3 gun/IDPA shooter., from Iowa on Apr 13, 2014
Pros:  Compact and built like a tank.
Cons:  Focus ring takes some getting used to.
Would recommend:  yes

MeanG19 wrote:

I bought this monocular to carry in my tactical man purse because binoculars take up too much room. The Solo is relatively compact, seems like it's built like a tank and the glass is great. The focus ring is a little stiff but I don't think many monoculars made are going to focus as smoothly as binos. I'm also glad I got the 8x36 instead of the 10x36. Any more magnification with a monocular would be hard to keep steady. Bottom line, if you don't have room for binos and you want a tough monocular with great glass, get the Solo.

Was MeanG19's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Good balance between portability and functionality

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Hiker in Washington from Seattle, WA on May 6, 2013
Pros:  Crisp bright images, comfortable to hold, good eye relief
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

Hiker in Washington wrote:

I use this monocular mainly for looking at objects over 100 yards away. It's a good balance between portability and functionality. With this, I don't miss having the benefits of full size binoculars. It is just small enough to carry in a jacket pocket. Overall, good quality. Somebody, somewhere, designed this monocular with care and lessons learned. I even like the case: it's just enough to protect the lenses while in transport without adding unnecessary weight or bulk...and being open sided, it won't trap moisture.

Was Hiker in Washington's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Vortex Solo 36mm Monoculars

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Andy978 (verified customer) from Acton, MA on Apr 28, 2013
Pros:  Lightweight, easy to carry/use, better for viewing than binoculars
Would recommend:  yes

Andy978 wrote:

They are good for viewing things that are not too far off. For viewing objects beyond 100 yards or so a stronger model is advised.

Was Andy978's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Awesome optic!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Emilon (verified customer) from Norwalk, Ca on Mar 29, 2012
Pros:  Excellent value
Cons:  It would be perfect if it had a lens cap
Would recommend:  yes

Emilon wrote:

Images are crisp and clear. It feels really sturdy in my hand. Really pleased with this purchase!

Was Emilon's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

built like a tank

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Discoveror (verified customer) , software engineer, from Westerly, RI on Jan 18, 2012
Pros:  bright, clear optics
Cons:  would love to have lens caps
Would recommend:  yes

Discoveror wrote:

This is no cheap little toy. I was a bit taken back by just how well this was built. I hadn't really expected that. For instance, you should see the bolts used just to fasten the belt clip. The focusing ring has a strong, smooth movement, aided by little extensions to assist the grip. Amazing even in low-light ... those fully multi-coated lenses really work. A REALLY beautiful piece ... well worth having/using when full binoculars would be out of place, too heavy or in the way.

Was Discoveror's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

Brightness and clarity exceeded my expectations!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Mike Stewart (verified customer) , Wildlife photographer and birder, from Peekskill, NY on Jan 13, 2012
Pros:  Brightness, Clarity, Ruggedness, Ease of Focus, Three ways to carry: belt looped case, belt clip on device, and neck strap
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

Mike Stewart wrote:

I was really taken by the light-gathering brightness and clarity of this monocular - it definitely exceeded my expectations for the price. I also like its comparative heftiness because I have larger hands and it helps me to hold the monocular quite steadily. The wide belt clip attached to the monocular makes a nice thumb rest, adding to the stability when holding it to the eye. This is going to Costa Rica with me, and I think I will be really pleased.

Was Mike Stewart's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

Vortex 8X36 monocular

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Dale Zutavern , nature photographer & bird watcher, from Canton Ohio on Dec 22, 2011
Pros:  light weight, good optics
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

Dale Zutavern wrote:

The Vortex 8X36 monocular is everything I hoped it would be. This is larger than some other brands but I feel the increased size makes this monocular easier to hold. The adjustment ring is a little stiff but I don't find that a problem either. On rainy days the monocular easily slips inside a rain jacket to keep the lens free of water spots while not in use and is equally easy to pull out when needed. The one thing I did not like was the belt clip but that was easy to remove. If you are looking for a light weight alternative to binoculars you can't go wrong with the Vortex 8X36 monocular.

Was Dale Zutavern's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

vortex solo 8x36 monocular S836

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Bill Zeller (verified customer) , 69 year old retired home builder who hunts and fishes, from Wickenburg AZ on Nov 28, 2011
Pros:  well made easy to use sharp,bright images even in low light
Cons:  can not hold and fogus with one hand
Would recommend:  yes

Bill Zeller wrote:

I have one "lazy eye", binoculars do not work well for me. the Votex Solo 8x36 Monocular S836 is light and easy to carry and use.I have been hunting for over 50 years and see no need for binoculars again.

Was Bill Zeller's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

Vortex Solo 8x36 Monocular

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Carl Deom (verified customer) from Athens, Georgia on Oct 28, 2011
Pros:  Great clarity, great light gathering, price, and warranty.
Cons:  An after thought for a case.
Would recommend:  yes

Carl Deom wrote:

I couldn't be happier. Great for hunting and the occasional football game. Great clarity, large field of view, great light gathering ability under low light conditions. The monocular is large enough to fit comfortably in my hand and has a solid, well made feel. My only complaint is that the case is marginal, otherwise this is a wonderful product.

Was Carl Deom's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

Reviews - Vortex Solo 36mm Monocular - UPC: 875874002340