2,544 Brands 453 Categories All Departments
Vortex Solo 8x36 Monocular S836
$99.00 $139.00 Save 29%
Browse by Rating
(10 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review vortex solo 8x36 monocular S836
I have one "lazy eye", binoculars do not work well for me. the Votex Solo 8x36 Monocular S836 is light and easy to carry and use.I have been hunting f...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Test please delete this review

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, IL Written on May 29, 2014
test one two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve.
Pros: Test
Cons: test...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Vortex Solo 8x36 Monocular

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on April 13, 2014
I bought this monocular to carry in my tactical man purse because binoculars take up too much room. The Solo is relatively compact, seems like it's built like a tank and the glass is great. The focus ring is a little stiff but I don't think many monoculars made are going to focus as smoothly as binos. I'm also glad I got the 8x36 instead of the 10x36. Any more magnification with a monocular would be hard to keep steady. Bottom line, if you don't have room for binos and you want a tough monocular with great glass, get the Solo.
Pros: Compact and built like a tank.
Cons: Focus ring takes some getting used to....
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Good balance between portability and functionality

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on May 6, 2013
I use this monocular mainly for looking at objects over 100 yards away. It's a good balance between portability and functionality. With this, I don't miss having the benefits of full size binoculars. It is just small enough to carry in a jacket pocket. Overall, good quality. Somebody, somewhere, designed this monocular with care and lessons learned.
I even like the case: it's just enough to protect the lenses while in transport without adding unnecessary weight or bulk...and being open sided, it won't trap moisture.
Pros: Crisp bright images, comfortable to hold, good eye relief
Cons: none ...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Vortex Solo 36mm Monoculars

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MA Written on April 28, 2013
They are good for viewing things that are not too far off. For viewing objects beyond 100 yards or so a stronger model is advised.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to carry/use, better for viewing than binoculars...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Awesome optic!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CA Written on March 29, 2012
Images are crisp and clear. It feels really sturdy in my hand. Really pleased with this purchase!
Pros: Excellent value
Cons: It would be perfect if it had a lens cap...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

built like a tank

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, RI Written on January 18, 2012
This is no cheap little toy. I was a bit taken back by just how well this was built. I hadn't really expected that. For instance, you should see the bolts used just to fasten the belt clip. The focusing ring has a strong, smooth movement, aided by little extensions to assist the grip.

Amazing even in low-light ... those fully multi-coated lenses really work.

A REALLY beautiful piece ... well worth having/using when full binoculars would be out of place, too heavy or in the way.
Pros: bright, clear optics
Cons: would love to have lens caps...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Brightness and clarity exceeded my expectations!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NY Written on January 13, 2012
I was really taken by the light-gathering brightness and clarity of this monocular - it definitely exceeded my expectations for the price. I also like its comparative heftiness because I have larger hands and it helps me to hold the monocular quite steadily. The wide belt clip attached to the monocular makes a nice thumb rest, adding to the stability when holding it to the eye. This is going to Costa Rica with me, and I think I will be really pleased.
Pros: Brightness, Clarity, Ruggedness, Ease of Focus, Three ways to carry: belt looped case, belt clip on device, and neck strap
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Vortex 8X36 monocular

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on December 22, 2011
The Vortex 8X36 monocular is everything I hoped it would be. This is larger than some other brands but I feel the increased size makes this monocular easier to hold. The adjustment ring is a little stiff but I don't find that a problem either. On rainy days the monocular easily slips inside a rain jacket to keep the lens free of water spots while not in use and is equally easy to pull out when needed. The one thing I did not like was the belt clip but that was easy to remove. If you are looking for a light weight alternative to binoculars you can't go wrong with the Vortex 8X36 monocular.
Pros: light weight, good optics
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
4 of 4 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

vortex solo 8x36 monocular S836

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, AZ Written on November 28, 2011
I have one "lazy eye", binoculars do not work well for me. the Votex Solo 8x36 Monocular S836 is light and easy to carry and use.I have been hunting for over 50 years and see no need for binoculars again.
Pros: well made easy to use sharp,bright images even in low light
Cons: can not hold and fogus with one hand...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Vortex Solo 8x36 Monocular

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on October 28, 2011
I couldn't be happier. Great for hunting and the occasional football game. Great clarity, large field of view, great light gathering ability under low light conditions. The monocular is large enough to fit comfortably in my hand and has a solid, well made feel. My only complaint is that the case is marginal, otherwise this is a wonderful product.
Pros: Great clarity, great light gathering, price, and warranty.
Cons: An after thought for a case....
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 10 User Reviews of Vortex Solo 8x36 Monocular S836