2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
849728 Weaver Gunsmithing Torque Wrench 849728 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Weaver Gunsmithing Torque Wrench 849728 and other Gunsmithing and Reloading Equipment by Weaver.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.1 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.6 / 5
Usability 4.2 / 5
Features 4.4 / 5
Value for your money 4.1 / 5
Meets expectations 4.2 / 5

Weaver Gunsmithing Torque Wrench 849728 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 15

TERRY LASETER

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
1 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:1 / 5
Usability:1 / 5
Value for your money:1 / 5

Author: TERRY LASSETER (verified customer) , 64 YEARS OLD MANAGER OF A HIGH QUALITY HIGH VOLUME AUTO COLLISION REPAIR CENTER WITH 15 YEARS OF WORKING ON THE LINE. I KNOW GOOD TOLLS. , from ENTERPRISE,ALABAMA on Jan 25, 2014
Pros:  LOOKS LIKE A GOOD TOOL BACKED BY A NAME BRAND OF WEAVER ,GOOD PRICE ,THOUGHT I COULD'T GO WRONG.NOT..
Cons:  THE FIRST TIME I USED IT ON MY SCOPE I SET IT AT 11LBS IT BENT THE END OF THE FLATHEAD .THIRD TIME I USED IT, IT LOCKED UP & WOULD NOT ADJUST .GREAT, I ORDERED IT FOR A PROJECT I AM IN THE MIDDLE OF.MY SON CALLED THE VENDOR I BOUGHT IT FROM & HE SAID TO SEND IT BACK & HE WOULD SEND ME ANOTHER. YOU ALL KNOW HOW BIG A HASSLE THAT IS , FORGET IT WHY WOULD I WANT ANOTHER KNOWING HOW CHEAPLY MADE IT IS. MUST HAVE COME FROM CHINA.SORRY ITS GOING IN THE TRASH & I'LL BUY ANOTHER BRAND HOPEFULLY MADE IN THE USA.
Would recommend:  no

TERRY LASSETER wrote:

I DID LOOK FURTHER IN THE INSIDE OF THE KIT. I WAS RIGHT MADE IN TAIWAN.I HAVE A LOT OF TOOLS, AS I MANAGE A HIGH QUALITY,HIGH VOLUME AUTO COLLISION REPAIR CENTER. I HAVE BEEN IN THE REPAIR INDUSTRY SINCE 1973 ,WORKED ON VEHICLES FOR ABOUT 15 YEARS. I KNOW GOOD TOOLS. ANY TOOL MADE IN TAIWAN IS TRASH,IN MY OPINION. SHAME ON WEAVER YOU ARE BETTER THAN THAT . SHAME ON ME FOR NOT LOOKING WHO MADE IT CLOSER.WASTE YOUR MONEY AS I DID,BUT I SUGGEST RESEARCHING THE MANUFACTURER INSTEAD OF THE SELLER.

Was TERRY LASSETER's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 0

Good Tool But Magnet Fell Out

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: BayArea from SF Bay Area, CA on Feb 20, 2013
Pros:  Easy to use, worked well to mount a scope base and rings.
Cons:  Magnet fell out the first time a bit was removed.
Would recommend:  yes

BayArea wrote:

The magnet inside the tool came loose and fell out attached to the bit the first time the torque wrench was used (at 10 and 15 inch/pounds). It looks like the magnet is mounted in a brass sleeve and is either a press fit into a recess in the bottom of the tool shaft or may be glued. Either way, the magnet came out after the first use.

Was BayArea's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Good Product

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Losthwy (verified customer) from Green Mtn, Colorado on Feb 15, 2013
Would recommend:  yes

Losthwy wrote:

Works as advertized good value. Would Recommend

Was Losthwy's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Follow-up on engineering

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: sagela from Kirkland, WA on Aug 2, 2012
Pros:  Affordable, good selection of bits
Cons:  Some stock screws need longer shanked bits.
Would recommend:  yes

sagela wrote:

Stock and scope mounting screws are engineered to work at specific torque settings. Invest in the tool to apply the torque.

Was sagela's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Great Tool When You Need It

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: patchface455 (verified customer) , I'm a long time gun collector that's just begun to shoot regularly, so I'm still pretty much a novice. I only shoot rimfire and I'm having a blast trying to shrink my groupings to sub 1/2 MOA at 50yds., from White Plains, NY on Apr 19, 2012
Pros:  Very easy to adjust torque settings, seem consistent
Cons:  Limited selection of bits, bits are fragile
Would recommend:  yes

patchface455 wrote:

I bought this primarily for scope mounting, along with a set of Weaver scope levels. It's the sort of tool that's good to have because there's always someone who needs one, but one that you yourself probably won't be using so often once you're done with it. Does the job just fine; my only complaint is that some of the thinner flathead bits are rather fragile; I broke the corners of one when tightening a screw. They are standard 1/4" hex bits, and more complete sets for gunsmith applications are easy to find.

Was patchface455's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

Does what is necessary

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: SteveG (verified customer) , Long time shooter, from New London, NH on Mar 15, 2012
Pros:  Easy to use, comes with most accessories needed
Cons:  Cap on handle fell off after the driver fell of a table. It was easy to put back on.
Would recommend:  yes

SteveG wrote:

This product performs as specified and takes the guesswork out of putting on those parts where proper torque values are necessary.

Was SteveG's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 1

Great Tool

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: jpilkinton (verified customer) from Houston, TX on Mar 2, 2012
Pros:  Proper tightening when gunsmithing
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

jpilkinton wrote:

Great tool for the money, ensures proper tightening on very expensive optics and firearms. For the money its very hard to beat, plus with its case you can store it with you other firearm equipment and it stays organized and easy to find.

Was jpilkinton's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Works

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Sylvia from Avonmore, PA on Jan 4, 2012
Would recommend:  yes

Sylvia wrote:

Torque wrench makes putting the scope on much easier.

Was Sylvia's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

Best Money Can Buy

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: koolmike79 (verified customer) from Las Vegas NV on Dec 2, 2011
Pros:  Everything
Cons:  Case is small
Would recommend:  yes

koolmike79 wrote:

I am not affilliated with weaver at all but all weaver products I bought are affordable and are in very good quality compare to other products that cost 2 to 3x more. This tool is very easy to use. The bits that. came with the tool are of good quality and workmanship. It is precise and very easy to switch bits. I have a socket wrench set that is a hexagon to 1/4" adaptor that I use to fit a socket for tightening bolt type scope rings. Other than the case is too small to fit other tools in it everything else is awesome! This is a tool a firearms enthusiast must have!

Was koolmike79's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Torque Wrench

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Kapow from Wrightwood, California on Jul 21, 2011
Pros:  Easy to use/accurate/nice case/worth far more than the price
Cons:  Everyone wants to borrow it
Would recommend:  yes

Kapow wrote:

This wrench is easy to use and easy to adjust. It is accurate and consistent. If you don't believe consistant and known pressure on screws is important you are really missing something. You can also experiment with different poundages and consistently check performance. You simply can not do that without knowing torque pressures. One of my rifles went from a .40 inch group to a .23 group with Black Hills match ammo after experimenting with slightly different pressures. Was able to prove to a friend how much he is overtightening his scope mounts and rings. He was breaking them off, claiming they were "cheap". Really critical for actions in non bedded wooden and even synthetic stocks to avoid crushing damage and get the best accuracy.

Was Kapow's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

Reviews - Weaver Gunsmithing Torque Wrench 849728 - UPC: 76683897282