2,540 Brands 452 Categories All Departments
Wiley-X XL-1 Advanced Interchangeable Lens Sunglasses
Starts at $84.00
Purchase
Browse by Rating
(10 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Wiley-X XL-1 Advanced Sunglasses with Light Adjusting Gray Lenses
I have had these glasses only a week or so, but I can say that they are an improvement over the earlier model XL-1's. I use these primarily for motorc...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Wiley X XL1

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MD Written on August 1, 2011
Love the foam gasket for when I drive with the top off on my Jeep, even better that you can remove it when wind is not an issue.
Very comfortable, excellent fit. It would be perfect if they would offer more options in lenses.
Pros: Removable foam gasket
Cons: Lack of more lenses...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Wiley-X XL-1 Advanced Sunglasses with Light Adjusting Gray Lenses

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on August 13, 2010
I have had these glasses only a week or so, but I can say that they are an improvement over the earlier model XL-1's. I use these primarily for motorcycle riding and I like the light adjusting gray lenses. They work very well in low light or strong sunlight conditions. The previous models had light adjusting bronze lenses, and I like the grey lenses better. The gaskets on the advanced models seal around the eye better and appear to be more durable than the older models, but seem to be a little hotter as a result. The straight earpieces on the new models are easier to slide on when wearing a helmet too. The frames are tough and durable. I had two pairs of H-D sunglasses with stiff, hard plastic frames that broke when changing lenses and even just putting the things on my face. You should not have that problem with these glasses, but buy some extra lenses and gaskets because Wiley-X changes their models every few years. Wiley-X glasses are expensive, but Opticsplanet has very good prices on these products.
Pros: Lightweight, versatile, and frames are virtually indestructable
Cons: The price of Wiley-X products is a bit high, and no polarized lense is available for this model ....
Would recommend: Yes
7 of 7 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Wiley X XL-1 Prescription Sun Glasses

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, OK Written on June 22, 2010
Love the fact you can pop out the soft goggle part and use them as regular glasses. Had mine made with RX and love the view!
Pros: Look and feel great, light weight! Can be glasses or goggles
Cons: None yet...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

wiley x glasses

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on June 17, 2010
i ordered these for when i was shooting my ar-15s suppressed and there is more junk blown into your face. they do the trick except i cant get them to seal around my eyes unless i dont move any muscle in my face. if i squint, crinkle my forhead, open my mouth, or twitch my nose, they move away from my eyes and negate the seal. since having glasses with a seal was the primary reason i bought these, i was a little dissapointed. however, as sunglasses where u do not push them right up against your eyes they work well and are about the same quality as a few pairs of my oakleys but a little cheaper
Pros: cheaper than oakleys, durable
Cons: dont seal your eyes...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

replacement lens

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on February 3, 2010
awesome price...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Excellent for Airsoft

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on September 1, 2008
These glasses are absolutely fantastic for airsoft (if you're one of the brave souls who plays without a full facemask.) They're impact resistant, scratchproof, and even fogproof (effectively so.)

They only get a littly messy, and visibility is reduced, when dealing with a lot of sweat (i.e. a stagnant heat situation.) A lot of moisture gets captured within the goggle, causing the lens visibility to get a little 'streaky' or mushy. Cutting additional channels into the sealing foam padding has been suggested to remedy this.

This isn't 'fog', however, and the lenses have yet to fog up (even in the middle of a hot summer day in Florida, while running in the everglades in full tac gear.) I'm quite impressed with the performance of these glasses.

The price is a little steep considering what you're actually getting, but they're an excellent choice and investment.

Also consider the ESS Advancer V12s as an alternative. The ESS goggles are bulkier, but provide more ventilation options and are infinitely more rugged.
Pros: Well built, light, low profile, tough, impact resistant
Cons: Don't do well with lots of sweat...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 3 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Wiley X XL-1 LA (Light Adjusting) Gray Lens REVIEW

by Legacy Reviewer, Written on February 11, 2008
Great lenses, good light adjusting. Only price is too high :)
Cons: price...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Wiley-X XL-1 Sunglasss W/Light adjusting lens

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WI Written on August 8, 2007
Great glasss,Fit well under helmet. Very strong/durable. Drop them going down the highway at 65mph, Not a skratchon them.
Pros: Meet military specs. Fit under full faced motorcycle helmet!!
Cons: A Bit pricey! L/A Lens don't get dark enough!...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Wiley-X XL-1 Sunglasses with Polarized Lenses

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, VA Written on July 26, 2007
I love these glasses/goggles. This is actually my second pair. It appears that this model is superior because the foam seal is now replaceable. My only issue is when I wear the polarized lenses with my Nolan N100E and the face shield down. The combination causes a mild rainbow effect in bright sunlight that is somewhat distracting. Visual clarity is very good. Black colors appear to have a touch of green, but that is not a problem at all. Also, my new Xl-1 did not come with a small, soft carry bag. I use the bag from my old pair when I store the glasses in my Aerostich Roadcrafter suit. It protects the lenses from scratches.
Pros: Nice fit, super safe protection
Cons: Polzarized lenses cause rainbow effect with face shield...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Wiley-X XL-1 Light Adjusting Lenses

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, AE Written on July 26, 2007
Great for motorcycle riding! I bought these so I didn't have to stop and change lenses when it gets dark. The problem is that the light adjusting lenses just do not get dark enough for daylight riding. There is also a problem with pop out lenses and IEDs. The lenses can pop out during an explosion due to over pressure and gouge out eyes like a spoon! I definitely DO NOT recommend ANY pop out lens for combat operations!
Pros: fit, comfort, clarity, wind and sand protection
Cons: light adjusting lenses, overpressure protection...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 11 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 10 User Reviews of Wiley-X XL-1 Advanced Interchangeable Lens Sunglasses