2,509 Brands 451 Categories All Departments
BSA Optics Contender Series Rifle Scopes 4-16 X40 mm
Starts at $112.99
Purchase
Average Customer Review (15 reviews)
Share your thought Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Amazing Scope!!!
I finally got this scope mounted and zeroed at 100 yds on my Remington 700 ...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review Not sure yet, verdict pending see notes.
I have a DPMS .308 and used it with this scope on a 100 yard range. Either ...
Read More...
Sort by
Show
Page
Back
Next

Very good scope for the price!

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, CO Written on December 19, 2013
This scope is a very good buy for the money.. The optics are clear, even at high magnifications, eye relief is decent, and holds zero very well. I bought this scope as my first scope into long range shooting, and I'm still using it. It has a slight parallax error that I cant get rid of, but still allows me to shoot .5 MOA with a $300 Savage Axis .308. My wife and I ring gongs shot after shot up to 560 yards with this scope.. So far has held zero through 200+ rounds of .308! Besides the small parallax error, the only other complain is the lockable turrets tend to stick when trying to unlock them, but I'm just being nit-picky about that.. :-)
Pros: Inexpensive, Clear even at high magnification
Cons: parallax error...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, MN Written on November 20, 2013
I bought a BSA Catseye 8 years ago and it is still going strong. When I bought a gun I decided to get another BSA scope and I am happy to say the quality has of the scope has not gone down in the last 8 years. Might not be as clear or crisp as a Swarovski but you are paying 10 times less. It does the job and does it well. I hunt in Northern Minnesota and the temps can range from -5 to 50 in November. I needed a durable scope and this has proved it is up to the task.
Pros: You get more for less...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Excellent value!

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NY Written on September 5, 2013
This is an excellent value. I was surprised at the optical quality - the image is very bright and crisp and the ocular focus is a breeze to use. I have one mounted on a .22 K Hornet and one mounted on a .25-'06 and have had no problems whatsoever with holding zero.

The zoom functions smoothly as do the windage, elevation and parallax adjustments.

There are many much more expensive scopes on the market that don't deliver the performance of this Contender. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Clarity of optics, smooth operation, ease of focus
Cons: No material crticisms...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Outstanding Value

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, NY Written on August 9, 2013
I have two of these. I ordered the second to mount on my Pro Hunter .22 K Hornet after using one on my .25-'06 for a period of time. I was very impressed with the clarity of the optics; certainly better than expected for a scope in this price range. The clarity is consistent throughout the magnification range and if there's a shift in zero across the range, you have to be a much better shot than I to tell. I especially like the ocular focus ring - it's a breeze to focus this scope properly - and the parallax adjustment, windage and elevation controls are positive and accurate. This scope is a terrific value and I can recommend it without reservation.
Pros: Value, clarity of optics, ease of focus, very good controls
Cons: None that I can think of...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Nice scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, FL Written on July 7, 2013
This scope is fine. Full of features, nice matching sunshade. It doesn't seem to be bright enough. It does focus well.
Pros: Cost, Turrets, Reticle, sunshade, Side focus
Cons: Bulky and a little dark...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

BSA Optics Contender Series 4-16 Waterproof Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, VA Written on June 7, 2013
It appears to be what I need for the rifle upon which I have mounted it. As I have not had a chance to site it in I can not speak to its performance.
Pros: Goode Value for the price.
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Contender Series 4-16X40

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, WI Written on January 29, 2013
Put this scope on a Ruger 10/22, was very easy to sight in with no problems. It has nice clear optics, really like the triangle reticle. Great scope for the money.
Pros: Nice scope for the money, very clear
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great for Magnum Air Rifles like Remington NPSS !

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, SD Written on October 10, 2012
This scope was a breath of fresh air. As a former competitive shooter, it was hurting my pride not to keep tight groups with my high powered .22 air rifle. Finally, I decided to upgrade to this scope with the illuminated reticle (aka IR). Within minutes I was replugging holes with consecutive rounds and my pride (as well as my smile) was restored. I shoot air rifles with my children more than I shoot my regular guns and this has now maxed out the fun meter. Unlike one of the previous posters, I used a mid-level mount and had no mounting problems or interference, but I double checked my clearances before ordering my scope rings just to make sure. The Remington NPSS air rifle has a standard dovetail and the Leapers quick attach dragon style(6 screw)mounts worked great! I should mention that I use both an auxillary scope stop and the standard pin detent to make sure my scope stays true on the double recoil of the higher power air rifle. I also added buffer tape between the scope barrel and the mounts to prevent moving and absorb shock.

The cross-hair reticle comes in 2 flavors, Std. Contender Reticle or Contender Mil-Dot(which is what I have). Both are excellent, but after 10 yrs in the Marines, I'll probably never have anything other than a Mil-dot. The scope comes with a screw in metal sun shade which works well, thankfully it is not one of those cheap plastic slip-ons.

Pros:
Clear, concise ETCHED retical that is excellent in daylight.
Tri-color illumination with 3 bri...
Read More...
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Propknut review

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, FL Written on May 30, 2011
Currenty on a Savage Mark II 22lr. This is the fourth scope on the rifle and is proving to be my favorite. The optical calrity is excellent at 10 to 12x, this is where I do most of my shooting. At 16x the clarity is still great, just not as good at the lower power settings, also the eye relief is very critical at 16x. The resetable lockable turrets are a great idea, but the glow in the dark markings were not thought out very well. Only the markings in the window get charged so that when you rotate the turret all else is black. My scope weighed in at 23oz, not the 17oz that are advertised. The extra weight is not really an issue for me. I prefer FFP scopes but the price is the killer on those so I just deal with the SFP.
Pros: Price, clarity, features, locking turrets, warranty
Cons: advertised weight, glow in the dark turret markings, clicks a little mushy, second focal plane mil dot...
Would recommend: Yes
8 of 9 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Not sure yet, verdict pending see notes.

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on May 23, 2011
I have a DPMS .308 and used it with this scope on a 100 yard range. Either the scope or my rounds are creeping 6" at 100 yards. I am going to change scopes to check it out but I have a feeling the inner parts are shifting. I had three shooters use it for this test and all had same problem.
I will keep you posted.
Pros: Lot of features for the money
Cons: See comments...
Would recommend: Yes
5 of 12 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

BSA Optics Contender Series Rifle Scopes 4-16 X40 mm Product Reviews Comments