2,462 Brands 451 Categories All Departments
CO416X40SP BSA Optics Contender Series 4-16 X40 Waterproof Riflescope, Black, Contender Reticle w/Triangle is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase BSA Optics Contender Series 4-16 X40 Waterproof Riflescope, Black, Contender Reticle w/Triangle and other Rifle Scopes by BSA Optics.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.5 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.6 / 5
Usability 4.6 / 5
Features 4.7 / 5
Value for your money 4.7 / 5
Meets expectations 4.5 / 5

BSA Optics Contender Series 4-16 X40 Waterproof Riflescope, Black, Contender Reticle w/Triangle Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 18

Not As Expected

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: This Guy from Visalia, CA on Feb 25, 2014
Pros:  Price
Cons:  Horrible Turrets, heavier than advertised
Would recommend:  no

This Guy wrote:

I bought this scope due to the price and because it got a lot of good reviews here. The turrets are a major down side to this scope. The click adjustments are sloppy. Locking down the adjustments are a pain as the turrets fight to find a position to settle in. Pull out the turret to adjust POA and you better be careful because they'll pull all the way out into the position you'd use to put them back to zero. Over 12X the glass gets very dark, fuzzy and the eye relief shrinks considerably. The scope weighs 8oz more than the advertised weight. The rubber bungee scope cap thingy the scope comes with is a piece of garbage and broke on the first trip to the range. The sun shade does what it is supposed to do but adds even more weight and in my opinion is to bulky. Not sure why they didn't just make it a simple cylinder instead of the crazy geometric concoction they came up with. I didn't expect a whole lot going into this purchase but one thing is for certain, there are much better scopes in ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was This Guy's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 1

Very good scope for the price!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: punkwood2k (verified customer) from Denver, CO on Dec 19, 2013
Pros:  Inexpensive, Clear even at high magnification
Cons:  parallax error
Would recommend:  yes

punkwood2k wrote:

This scope is a very good buy for the money.. The optics are clear, even at high magnifications, eye relief is decent, and holds zero very well. I bought this scope as my first scope into long range shooting, and I'm still using it. It has a slight parallax error that I cant get rid of, but still allows me to shoot .5 MOA with a $300 Savage Axis .308. My wife and I ring gongs shot after shot up to 560 yards with this scope.. So far has held zero through 200+ rounds of .308! Besides the small parallax error, the only other complain is the lockable turrets tend to stick when trying to unlock them, but I'm just being nit-picky about that.. :-)

Was punkwood2k's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 0

Great Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Aaron (verified customer) , Military, from Duluth, MN on Nov 20, 2013
Pros:  You get more for less
Would recommend:  yes

Aaron wrote:

I bought a BSA Catseye 8 years ago and it is still going strong. When I bought a gun I decided to get another BSA scope and I am happy to say the quality has of the scope has not gone down in the last 8 years. Might not be as clear or crisp as a Swarovski but you are paying 10 times less. It does the job and does it well. I hunt in Northern Minnesota and the temps can range from -5 to 50 in November. I needed a durable scope and this has proved it is up to the task.

Was Aaron's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Very Good Value for Money

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: George from Fiji on Nov 5, 2013
Pros:  Nice Clear lens, Free Sunshade, Free Ring Mounts, All Metal Construction
Cons:  gets a bit dark at 16 Zoom, Turrets bit finicky to use
Would recommend:  yes

George wrote:

Bought mine based based on the reviews of others on this website. I'm glad I made this choice - Scope met my expectations and some

Was George's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Excellent value!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: JLT (verified customer) , Big and small game hunter, casual target shooter and paper puncher, from Remsen, NY on Sep 5, 2013
Pros:  Clarity of optics, smooth operation, ease of focus
Cons:  No material crticisms
Would recommend:  yes

JLT wrote:

This is an excellent value. I was surprised at the optical quality - the image is very bright and crisp and the ocular focus is a breeze to use. I have one mounted on a .22 K Hornet and one mounted on a .25-'06 and have had no problems whatsoever with holding zero. The zoom functions smoothly as do the windage, elevation and parallax adjustments. There are many much more expensive scopes on the market that don't deliver the performance of this Contender. I highly recommend this product.

Was JLT's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Outstanding Value

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: JLT (verified customer) , Big and small game hunter, casual target shooter and paper puncher, from Remsen, NY on Aug 9, 2013
Pros:  Value, clarity of optics, ease of focus, very good controls
Cons:  None that I can think of
Would recommend:  yes

JLT wrote:

I have two of these. I ordered the second to mount on my Pro Hunter .22 K Hornet after using one on my .25-'06 for a period of time. I was very impressed with the clarity of the optics; certainly better than expected for a scope in this price range. The clarity is consistent throughout the magnification range and if there's a shift in zero across the range, you have to be a much better shot than I to tell. I especially like the ocular focus ring - it's a breeze to focus this scope properly - and the parallax adjustment, windage and elevation controls are positive and accurate. This scope is a terrific value and I can recommend it without reservation.

Was JLT's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Nice scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: InVision (verified customer) , Air Gunner, from Shalimar FL on Jul 7, 2013
Pros:  Cost, Turrets, Reticle, sunshade, Side focus
Cons:  Bulky and a little dark
Would recommend:  yes

InVision wrote:

This scope is fine. Full of features, nice matching sunshade. It doesn't seem to be bright enough. It does focus well.

Was InVision's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

BSA Optics Contender Series 4-16 Waterproof Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Jim (verified customer) , Hunter & target shooter, from Luray, VA on Jun 7, 2013
Pros:  Goode Value for the price.
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

Jim wrote:

It appears to be what I need for the rifle upon which I have mounted it. As I have not had a chance to site it in I can not speak to its performance.

Was Jim's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 0

Contender Series 4-16X40

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Big shot 223 (verified customer) from Reedsburg, WI on Jan 29, 2013
Pros:  Nice scope for the money, very clear
Cons:  none
Would recommend:  yes

Big shot 223 wrote:

Put this scope on a Ruger 10/22, was very easy to sight in with no problems. It has nice clear optics, really like the triangle reticle. Great scope for the money.

Was Big shot 223's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 0   not helpful: 1

Great for Magnum Air Rifles like Remington NPSS !

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Holdahl (verified customer) , Former competitive shooter, X-Marine, Father of 10, from Watertown SD on Oct 10, 2012
Pros:  Beautiful reticle, clear as a bel, smoothzoom &rock-solid
Cons:  No majors, just minor mentions in my comments.
Would recommend:  yes

Holdahl wrote:

This scope was a breath of fresh air. As a former competitive shooter, it was hurting my pride not to keep tight groups with my high powered .22 air rifle. Finally, I decided to upgrade to this scope with the illuminated reticle (aka IR). Within minutes I was replugging holes with consecutive rounds and my pride (as well as my smile) was restored. I shoot air rifles with my children more than I shoot my regular guns and this has now maxed out the fun meter. Unlike one of the previous posters, I used a mid-level mount and had no mounting problems or interference, but I double checked my clearances before ordering my scope rings just to make sure. The Remington NPSS air rifle has a standard dovetail and the Leapers quick attach dragon style(6 screw)mounts worked great! I should mention that I use both an auxillary scope stop and the standard pin detent to make sure my scope stays true on the double recoil of the higher power air rifle. I also added buffer tape between the scope barrel and ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was Holdahl's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

Reviews - BSA Optics Contender Series 4-16 X40 Waterproof Riflescope, Black, Contender Reticle w/Triangle - UPC: 631618112443