2,462 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
21090 Celestron Omni XLT 120 mm Refractor Telescope - 21090 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase Celestron Omni XLT 120 mm Refractor Telescope - 21090 and other Telescopes by Celestron.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
4.5 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.4 / 5
Usability 4.5 / 5
Features 4.5 / 5
Value for your money 4.8 / 5
Meets expectations 4.7 / 5

Celestron Omni XLT 120 mm Refractor Telescope - 21090 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 10

OK but needs factory assembly improvements

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
3 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:3 / 5
Usability:3 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Sparkey from Thorp, WA on Jul 26, 2013
Pros:  Price
Cons:  Poor quality mount
Would recommend:  yes

Sparkey wrote:

The scope is decent, some purple fringing but the image is sharp (moon viewing) Focus rack could use improvement, start with a better lube from the factory. The rack has a sticky lube that doesn't do much good. The CG-4 mount would be OK if it came lubed and adjusted properly. There is significant play in the RA adjuster, and feels dry when moving it.

Was Sparkey's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 2

Celestron Omni XLT 120

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Phaedrus (verified customer) , Just a reformed old hippy geek, who loves Jesus, works at being well informed as opposed to being simply opinionated and builds things like reasoned arguments., from Evansville on Nov 5, 2012
Pros:  Excellent Opticw
Cons:  Needs heavire mount
Would recommend:  yes

Phaedrus wrote:

Views of the moon and planets are excellent with this 120mm / 4.7-inch achromatic telescope and I can use 300x on a night when the seeing is good and steady. The XLT120 is capable of good deep sky work, especially double stars. The fit and finish are first-rate; when considering the price the build quality of this scope is excellent. The views are sharp and very contrasty, however a light yellow filter will help a lot on any false color. Jupiter has a slight halo around it with out a filter but that does not in any way detract from the viewing experience one iota. This scope works quite well for solar viewing in fact the addition of a solar filter will increase the utility of the XLT120 immensely. The rack and pinion focuser is adequate, however it will be my first upgrade. I would like to see Celestron support this scope with a bit heaver mount, but this mount and scope are well worth the price. I would recommend it to a friend.

Was Phaedrus's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 0

Celestron Omni XLT 120 mm Refractor

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: TJS from Terre Haute, IN on Dec 31, 2011
Pros:  Very little ca, easy assembly and setup, nice size to handle, performance for the money
Cons:  RA setting circle rather cheap
Would recommend:  yes

TJS wrote:

I waited to post this review until I had used the scope a few times. My primary use of this scope is for planetary and solar observation. I have to give the instrument high marks for its design and performance. The optics are very good for this size objective. I was very worried about chromatic aberration. The only false color visible to me is a slight blue tinge on the limb of Jupiter and the moon. The detail on Jupiter surpassed my expectations even though the seeing was only fair. I also have to mention that Optics Planet did a good job of responding to my order very quickly. Thanks to them I got to enjoy my new scope on Christmas.

Was TJS's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

Celestron Omni XLT 120 Review

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: gustchenchi (verified customer) , Engineer, amateur astronomer., from Aguadilla, PR on Apr 29, 2010
Pros:  Very large telescope for the price, good construction quality.
Cons:  Only one eyepiece is included, equatorial mount takes a little bit to get used to.
Would recommend:  yes

gustchenchi wrote:

I have used the telescope a few times already, and I feel good with my purchase. With the included eyepiece I have been to watch some nice stars in the Orion Constellation and the moon, but you will soon notice that you will need better eyepieces and filters to maximize the potential of this telescope.

Was gustchenchi's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 1

great upgrade

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: mastercylinder (verified customer) from lambertville,mi. on Jun 13, 2009
Pros:  quality/price
Cons:  not a skinny lightweight
Would recommend:  yes

mastercylinder wrote:

i feel for the money this was a great upgrade from my previous and smaller scope.i really like the tri pod and mount.

Was mastercylinder's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 4

I'm quite pleased

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:3 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: steveicarus (verified customer) , Advanced beginner at astronomy., from Oakland, CA on Apr 12, 2009
Pros:  Fine telescope, good price, nice features, expandable
Cons:  Not for the uninitiated
Would recommend:  yes

steveicarus wrote:

If you are after a point-and-view experience and know nothing about how telescopes work, this telescope is not for you. The EQ mount alone can be disorienting, and don't expect hand-holding from the documentation. But if you have a basic understanding of telescopes and why they are the way they are, then this is the kit that you want. I'm quite pleased with the optics. With the bundled eyepiece I got a nice, sharp (albeit small) view of Saturn. With a 6mm eyepiece I can see some of its moons. And this from my (sturdy) deck overlooking downtown Oakland CA. The focuser is a little stiff, but handles 2" eyepieces. The package includes an adapter for 1.25" eyepieces (and camera T-rings) including the bundled star diagonal and 25mm eyepiece. In spite of its stiffness, the focuser does work. Depending on your climate, you may want to replace the grease. The EQ mount is solid, and works. If balance is off, it can be a bit wobbly, but it's easy enough to balance; and you will need to rebalance ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was steveicarus's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 34   not helpful: 0

Celestron Omni XLT 102 mm

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: pgoyer from Rogue River OR on Feb 5, 2008
Pros:  Affordable aperture
Cons:  packaging
Would recommend:  yes

pgoyer wrote:

Some of the parts had vibrated loose during shipping, but none were lost, phew. Great service, fast shipping, arrived on time. Easy to set up, big telescope, beautiful clear sharp views, but grease in focuser like glue, I will clean and replace it with a better, Teflon based thin product, tri-flow, etc,, lithium may be not the best choice. My first views were of the only clear patch of sky and even with the amount of moisture in the air, I was impressed. A touch of violet was visible at the most extreme magnifications. I should have purchased it sooner to view the fall skies. I researched more scopes and mounts, but could not find a larger one at this price. I plan on purchasing the drive motors and other accessories at a later date.

Was pgoyer's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 10   not helpful: 1

big refractor

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
4 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:4 / 5
Usability:4 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Edgarinna from edgar, ne on Nov 7, 2007
Would recommend:  yes

Edgarinna wrote:

This is a really big scope, so don't plan to carry it far. Loved Saturn - my first look

Was Edgarinna's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 2   not helpful: 10

Impressive

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Chuck from Denver, CO on Nov 6, 2007
Would recommend:  yes

Chuck wrote:

For a refractor of this size, it is very low cost. I have to admit that I was not expecting images to be anywhere near this sharp. Setup was easy, but with my shaky hands, balancing was a minor issue. Easily resolved by calling the grandson over. I plan on wasting many hours of the night with this new toy.

Was Chuck's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 3

My Best Scope Yet

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Scanner Eric from Chicago Il. on Jul 21, 2007
Would recommend:  yes

Scanner Eric wrote:

I received my new Omni XLT 120 refractor about 3:00 pm Friday, July 20th. I set it up to get familiar with this scopes features. Everything in the two packages arrived intact. First was the size, wow this is a large scope. The tripod and the mount especially the mount are quite heavy. This makes for a really stable platform. Considering the weight once fully assembled, slewing the scope was effortless. Just balance the scope as described in the manual. Note to Celestron: The box with the tripod and the box with the OTA both had manuals and software. The only problem I have to report is that I had to take apart the 1.25" star diagonal as the mirror was not positioned correctly. Two minutes to fix, no big. That night (last night) I took the new Omni out to the dark site to meet several astronomy club members and go for a test viewing. Another WOW! Everybody was impressed by the handling and optics. I have never seen the quarter moon so sharp and clear. Craters inside craters. The ...
Read full review / Buy this product

Was Scanner Eric's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 51   not helpful: 4

Reviews - Celestron Omni XLT 120 mm Refractor Telescope - 21090 - UPC: 050234210904