Products
2,516 Brands 483 Categories All Departments
Leica Rangemaster CRF1600 Rangefinder w/ Intelligent Ballistic Program
Browse by Rating
(9 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Significantly better than the Leica CRF1200
I've had the Leica CRF 1200 for a while and I loved its compact size and li...
Read More...
Most Helpful Negative Review No instructions
The product did not come with any literature or instructions. There is no w...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Leica Rangemaster CRF 1600 w/ballistic program

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on November 25, 2011
Light, compact, cheaper compared to other makes of equal capacity and quality. Ballistic program w/comp for temp, pressure, declination seemed unnecessary, but proved VERY handy in the field. The 500 yard max & provided ballistic charts feel limiting, but cartridges vary significantly after 300 yards. The CRF 1600 is great, but you still have to do your homework. 400+ yard shots require chronographed loads and verified elevation corrections by firing on paper.
Pros: good long range, compact & light, ballistic program useful
Cons: none really...
Would recommend: Yes
8 of 11 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leica Rangemaster CRF1600

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, AZ Written on June 20, 2011
Very fast yardage readback to about 900 yds. You must hold the very steady for yardages beyond that but, if you do your part it is capable of accurate readings to its stated limit.
Pros: Fast readout, quality optics and size....
Would recommend: Yes
6 of 6 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leica 1600

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner Written on June 12, 2011
The clarity of the glass is great. The temp. on the comp. part of my 1600 is off on mine from time to time. The reticle is very bright and comes in the shape of a square. Which somtimes has its disadvantages. IE: Such as when a target is far out it's hard to make the 1600 hit 3 times on the target the individual is going for. An option for further zoom would be something to add to the next model. I would have liked the reticle to have been a little thinner. Such as a tactical mil. Reticle, which woud be alot less obtrusive. Shoots and reads ranges past the 1600 yrd range. (when it works correctly) Ive got it to hit 1746 yrds twice. Hard to hit small non reflective targets past 1000 yrds. No threaded hole at bottom so a camera tripod could be attached,but there's a tripod out there specificaly made for it. Which I think might help in some situations for making the 1600 more stable for more consistent precise readings. It's very compact. If the eye piece didnt extend out it would be the size of a pack of cigs. Case it comes with sucks unless your bird watching on sunny days. If you find some foam,1020 pelican case, some handy work with the hot glue gun. You can make yourself a durable case which keeps the 1600 from moving. Completly waterproof and almost bulletproof. All in all for the federal reserve debt notes/$money$ it far surpasses the competition and you cant beat it. It's a valuble asset the long range precision world....
Would recommend: Yes
9 of 10 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leica 1600 rangefinder

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, MO Written on March 7, 2011
Ranged a tower at night that was over 1,850 yards away. Great performance
Pros: compact, lightweight, clear optics, easy to use
Cons: none...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Leica CRF 1600 Field Review

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, TX Written on March 1, 2011
After I figured out how to set it up, it is very useful. A useful addition would be anoter "Ballistic Curve". Even Leica's flattest curve is not useful for the real fast 22s and 24s. It needs a curve that is accurate for something like a .243 67 gr match bullet (BC = .277) at 3810 fps.

I really appreciate the fast measurements and the vertical hold, which I find to be much steadier than the horizontal hold rangefinders.
Pros: Fast, Accurate, Provides Temperature/Barometric Pressure
Cons: Complicated to set up...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 5 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

RangerDog

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, WA Written on February 22, 2011
The new Leica CRF1600 is a handy compact rangefinder. the ballistic program takes some getting used to. Optics qualtity is first rate. Reports of inaccurate rangefinding seem to be corrected or bogus.
Pros: Small Size; Eronomic
Cons: Expensive...
Would recommend: Yes
1 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Significantly better than the Leica CRF1200

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on October 22, 2010
I've had the Leica CRF 1200 for a while and I loved its compact size and light weight and the optics are excellent. However I found it didn't quite have enough range for me.


Up to 600m the CRF 1200 could range pretty much anything in any circumstance - well except in thick fog!

Between 600m and 800m it could struggle with say a black object on a very bright sunny day. Repeat readings often needed before getting a successful one.

Beyond 800m it struggled and in the wrong conditions required more patience to get a reading than I personally possess! Usually I'd give up! Worked much better in low light - ranging up to 1100m with some problems but manageable.


With the new Leica CRF 1600 I can easily range up to 800m first time without problems in most circumstances. Bright sunshine? No problem!

800m - 1200m the CRF 1600 can range pretty well even in bright sunshine - which always seemed to cause problems for the CRF 1200. May take a couple of attempts depending on the object and something more challenging things may not range - for example a small sparsely leafed tree in direct sun.

Beyond 1200m depends on the conditions and the object. I can obtain a reading - after a few attempts - in direct bright sun but very hit and miss depending on the object - more misses than hits.

In low light - dawn or dusk or a very overcast dull day - the CRF 1600 can range amazing distances. I managed ranging a house at 1878m without too many attempts. The best I ever manage...
Read More...
Would recommend: Yes
38 of 41 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

No instructions

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on September 14, 2010
The product did not come with any literature or instructions. There is no way for a novice like me to learn how to use all the features when I don't know what all the features are.
Pros: only two buttons
Cons: No instructions ...
Would recommend: Yes
7 of 29 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

The best range finder for the money!

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, AZ Written on September 7, 2010
I love my Leica Rangefinders. They are petty clear and very accurate. They will range consistently even when the sun is bright. They are very small and light, perfect for hunting. I slip them in my pocket until I am ready to use them.
Pros: Light weight, good optics, accurate, consistant.
Cons: nothing...
Would recommend: Yes
13 of 20 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 9 User Reviews of Leica Rangemaster CRF1600 Rangefinder w/ Intelligent Ballistic Program