2,379 Brands 450 Categories All Departments
BR1242-CH-2 NightForce 12-42x56mm Precision Benchrest Illuminated Reticle Riflescope - Reticle CH-2 is currently on sale with fast shipping. Plus your total satisfaction is guaranteed when you purchase NightForce 12-42x56mm Precision Benchrest Illuminated Reticle Riflescope - Reticle CH-2 and other Rifle Scopes by NightForce.

Read Full Description

Average Ratings
Overall rating
5.0 / 5
Easy To Set Up 4.8 / 5
Usability 5.0 / 5
Features 4.8 / 5
Value for your money 4.9 / 5
Meets expectations 5.0 / 5

NightForce 12-42x56mm Precision Benchrest Illuminated Reticle Riflescope - Reticle CH-2 Reviews - Reviews from 1 to 10 out of 11

Great Scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: chapster (verified customer) from Dallas, TX on Jun 26, 2013
Pros:  ease of use, clarity, mirage control
Cons:  cost
Would recommend:  yes

chapster wrote:

Recommend to any serious long range shooter

Was chapster's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

NightForce 12-42x56 exceeds my expectations

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: donovanjc (verified customer) , Avid target shooter, from Palmyra VA on Apr 21, 2013
Pros:  Brightness, precise focus, hollow mil-dots
Cons:  Distance focus ring at front of scope a bit awkward
Would recommend:  yes

donovanjc wrote:

I knew that NightForce has an outstanding reputation, but was concerned about spending that much money. The quality blew my mind, and I was delighted and amazed and glad I spent the money. I'm an older guy so my eyes are not as sharp as they used to be, but whether focusing on a target at 25 yards (some scopes have trouble with that), or reading the fine print of the label on an 8" target at 100 yards, it's fantastic. I wasn't aware that NightForce's mil-dot reticle actually has tiny circles instead of dots - a surprise bonus. I am now raving about how great my scope is to others. I am learning how best to reach all the way to the front of the scope to focus for distance (I figure it must make for higher quality focus vs. a side knob), but will get used to that.

Was donovanjc's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 6   not helpful: 0

Excellent scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:4 / 5

Author: Mwm308 (verified customer) from Mississippi on Jan 2, 2012
Pros:  Extremely precise adjustments and excellent clarity
Cons:  Slightly heavier than comparable optics
Would recommend:  yes

Mwm308 wrote:

So far this scope has performed flawlessly, as I expected. My 600-1000 yard f class scores have improved simply by installing this optic on my 6mm norma br.

Was Mwm308's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 10   not helpful: 0

NightForce 12 - 42 X 56 BR (CH-3 reticle)

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: remingtin7 (verified customer) , Benchrest shoote, from Waxhaw NC on Oct 23, 2011
Pros:  Built very well
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

remingtin7 wrote:

Put this new scope on a new Savage LRPV in 6BR, sighted it in and shot my first 5 shot group at 300 yds for a 1.25 inch spread. The Nightforce was set at 42 power and was crystal clear. Without a doubt, the best scope I've ever owned and that includes Leupolds, Weavers and a B&L Target scope. BTW, I placed this order over the phone and not online.

Was remingtin7's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 4   not helpful: 0

Yeah-It's Awesome

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: jefferyp00 (verified customer) from Scott Depot on May 24, 2011
Pros:  Clear, great eye relief, withstands .50 cal BMG
Cons:  NONE
Would recommend:  yes

jefferyp00 wrote:

I mounted this on an AR-50 and its flat-out awesome. Extremely clear and the illuminated reticle is paper thin. I'll be purchasing several more of these scope for other long range rifles I have. I have just about every other name band scope...the NF is hands down the best I own.

Was jefferyp00's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 8   not helpful: 0

Nightforce12-42x BR is the best

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: RMF (verified customer) , Precision shooter, from Bellevue, WA on Apr 16, 2011
Pros:  Glass and mechanical are perfect
Cons:  Its a large scope
Would recommend:  yes

RMF wrote:

The NF 12-42x BR is an excellent scope for benchrest shooters. The glass at 42x is clear and bright. Controls tracked as expected. The CH2 reticle works great at mutiple distances. The scope is pretty large and you will need high rings to clear most rifles. Overall I'm very happy with this scope.

Was RMF's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Nightforce super scope

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Gary (verified customer) from Kansas City, Mo on Feb 17, 2011
Pros:  Everything, see comments
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

Gary wrote:

Bought this for a 300 ultra mag and am not the least bit unhappy. Adjustments are flawless. Scope is a bit heavy but that is a plus for me, need all the mass I can get. Shooting today it was better than my spotting scope (weather was bad) Included caps and sun shade are a plus too. Scope is bright and crisp even at 42 power. Illuminated retical can be made very bright or left off as desired. Eye relief is good. Haven't hit my eye yet even with full power loads. If this scope won't get it for you, then maybe it's not to be had.

Was Gary's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 5   not helpful: 0

NP-2DD

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: xndirector (verified customer) from Greenville, SC on Sep 20, 2010
Pros:  never obscures target
Cons:  illumination too light at lower levels
Would recommend:  yes

xndirector wrote:

Extremely crisp optics.Mounted and shot accurately from the box with just two minor adjustments at 300 yds.NP-2DD reticle doesn't really display until around setting 4+ even in low light/fog. On the positive side the reticle is always crisp and small enough even at X42 not to ever get in the way of your target picture. Outstanding scope for genuine long range shooting whether benchrest or varmints and OpticsPlanet had it for a solid $500.00 less than anyone eles.

Was xndirector's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 13   not helpful: 0

BR1242-NP R1

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:4 / 5
Features:4 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: Magicman , Bench/varmint shooter, from Ms. on Sep 12, 2010
Pros:  Great clarity and perfect zero repeatability.
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

Magicman wrote:

Put twoo of these on a pair of 6mm br's for 600 yd and would find it hard to use any other. positive clicks, has consisently bracketed target at 600 with perfect return to zero.

Was Magicman's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 3   not helpful: 0

Very Impressive !!

Product Ratings:
Overall rating:
5 / 5
Easy To Set Up:5 / 5
Features:5 / 5
Meets expectations:5 / 5
Usability:5 / 5
Value for your money:5 / 5

Author: 240jhp (verified customer) , Casual Shooter&Collector, from Grandview,Washington on Jul 28, 2010
Pros:  Flawless
Cons:  None
Would recommend:  yes

240jhp wrote:

Really an impressive piece of hardware, looks right at home on a varmint weight rifle.

Was 240jhp's review helpful for you? Yes No
Customers that found this review helpful: 1   not helpful: 2

Reviews - NightForce 12-42x56mm Precision Benchrest Illuminated Reticle Riflescope - Reticle CH-2 - UPC: 847362000503