2,535 Brands 453 Categories All Departments
Weaver 3-15x50 30mm Tactical Riflescopes
Starts at $709.99
Purchase
Browse by Rating
(9 reviews)
Share your Thoughts! Write a Review
Most Helpful Positive Review Great Tactical Scope
As a sniper on a SWAT team I take my optics seriously. I recently completed a new rifle build and decided on a Vortex Viper PST to top it off. After w...
Read More...
Sort by
Page
Back
Next

Good Value, Cheap illumination elements

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, CO Written on November 3, 2013
This scope is mounted on a custom machined AR-10 16" barrel we use for pig extermination & hopefully big game. It was intended to be augmented with a Phosphorus NV as funds allow. For the time being, an inexpensive ATN (knockoff) gen 3 NV is being use with efficiency out to 150 yards.

In daylight, the scope is great & I would hunt big game confidently out to 350 yards with this! I can't claim to be the best of shoots but, there are many areas I could not reach with the old 30/30, beyond 200 yards, even with a good Leopold 3-9x40.

The housing is thicker, stronger, & more well made than I expected. Full aluminum, no plastics. The Zero-stop is easy to use & assuring. The distinctive clicks through the adjustments are easy to feel, even with gloves on, as I can't hear them with ear protection.

The hollow Mil-Dot Reticle is great for quick acquisition. The parallax adjustment has more deviation that I expected & works fine in daylight but, its still not enough for my eyes to focus fully at 15x when I use an illumination above 2 power regardless of it being red or green.

However, most of the time I never need to go above 2 on the illumination power. That is where the clarity of the reticle begins to diminish & halo distortion causes shot placement to be compromised.

This is the one thing I'd have to say I was hoping would be different, the Illuminated reticle's halo.

I'm not sure what I could expect to have for $700~ given everything else seems exc...
Read More...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

High level scope for mid level price

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, VA Written on July 8, 2013
This scope compares very well with high end scopes that cost much more. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews before purchasing, and was not disapointed. If you use a mil dot reticle for ranging, the FFP is a huge benefit and is tough to find in this price range.
Only negative was availability of a sun shade, but the Weaver Super Slam fits it perfect, and Krylon flat black paint matched color nicely.
Overall: I would highly recommend this scope!
Pros: Quality
Cons: Accesories...
Would recommend: Yes
2 of 2 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Top of the line scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, KY Written on June 6, 2013
Excellent scope & as always the best price at Optics Planet
Pros: Top quality, extreme clarity & tough built.
Cons: None...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 1 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Best in class optic.

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on March 4, 2013
I initially purchased this to sit atop an 18" SPR Mod1 clone using a Shilen Ultramatch barrel snuggled in a LaRue chassis. So a pretty high-end set-up for what most people would consider only a mid-level optic. I knew beforehand how nice this scope was, so I had zero reservations about mounting it on top of such a nice rifle in lieu of the typical Leupold or Nightforce choices.
I was not disappointed at all with its performance and it has gotten a passing grade from everyone who has taken a look through it.
It turned out to be a bit more power than I would need for an 18" AR, so I eventually moved it to a Remington 700 5R in .300 Win Mag and it has accepted the challenge and excelled on top of that rifle, having enough travel with a 30 MOA mount to dial out to a mile(theoretically)with the right load. I have taken it to 1300 yards with zero problems. The Weaver has taken the beating from hundreds of 200+ grain rounds much better than my shoulder has!

I cannot say enough good things about this scope. Anyone unwilling to jump in and drink the Nightforce or Leupold Koolaid should have no fear that this scope will not stack up. It does and for a LOT less money. I am in no way saying that those guys don't make a wonderful product - I'm simply saying that there are options out there like this one that will get you a taste of the good life without having to pay a premium for it.
Pros: Built like the proverbial tank, super clear, super precise.
Cons: Pretty hefty, No sunshade...
Read More...
Would recommend: Yes
12 of 12 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great scope

by Legacy Reviewer, Verified Owner from United States, PA Written on January 15, 2013
Everything works as expected. Some caps and a shade would be nice but knew that it did not come with them. Thumbs up!...
Would recommend: Yes
0 of 0 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

EMDR is a great hit

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, WA Written on October 9, 2012
This scope sits on top of a 20" HBAR AR-15, using a Weaver 20moa base and Weaver tactical medium rings. The glass is clear at dusk, and flare when looking "near" the low sun at sunset is minimal. The illuminated EMDR at red or green setting 1 or 2 is very nicely useable against the darkening background at dusk. No chromatic aberrations when looking thru trees with the sun behind them. The one thing I dislike is the "odd" diameter of the objective bell, which makes it impossible to fit a 55mm or 58 mm UV/Haze or polarizing filter. For anyone wanting a sun-shade the one for the 50mm hunting series super slam works just fine (weaver # 849733)
Pros: Clear glass, hands free turret adjustments, illumination, EMDR reticle
Cons: weight, no sun shade with scope, objective will not accept UV/Haze filter ...
Would recommend: Yes
11 of 11 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Tactical Scope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, MA Written on June 24, 2012
As a sniper on a SWAT team I take my optics seriously. I recently completed a new rifle build and decided on a Vortex Viper PST to top it off. After waiting almost two months I came across the Weaver and became intrigued. I could not find a lot of reviews but the Vortex seemed to be a myth at this point anyway so I pulled the trigger. Optics Planet had me the scope in three days and I was impressed from the start. It is a hefty and well build scope with very high quality glass, every bit as good as my Leupold MK 4 and Trijicon accupoint. The FFP was a deciding feature and the EMDR is better then the mildot design I grew up with. The eye relief is generous and the illumination, a hit or miss prospect with most scopes, is excellent with no bleed over even at the highest illumination. I have now put over 600 rounds through the scope and it has move to my duty system replacing my MK 4, mostly because I find the EMDR more functional then the mildot. I even took the scope to a recent sniper school and it held up better great. I would not say it is the equal of a USO or S&B, but then neither is the Vortex I was waiting for, but for a $700 piece of glass it's equal would be hard to find.
Pros: Great glass, returns to zero, stout and able to take a beating, FFP and easy to set zero
Cons: zero stops would be a nice addition, but I nitpick...
Would recommend: Yes
24 of 26 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Weaver 3 - 15 x50 30mm tactical scope

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, NY Written on December 5, 2011
Great Mil-dot scope for the money. A first focal plane scope costing hundreds less. Weaver has out done themselves on this scope. Good glass, clear and bright. Locking turrets and re-zero capabilities. "Box test" shows the turret MOA to be right on. I'm very happy with this scope.
Pros: First focal plane, good glass
Cons: No lens covers...
Would recommend: Yes
8 of 8 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No

Weaver Tactical

by Legacy Reviewer, from United States, VA Written on March 23, 2010
Nice for the price.
Pros: Price...
Would recommend: Yes
3 of 83 found the following review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes / No
Page
Back
Next

Comments on 9 User Reviews of Weaver 3-15x50 30mm Tactical Riflescopes